We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of SeaWitch Motel

SeaWitch Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carolina Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
SeaWitch Motel
Save
You added SeaWitch Motel to your Saves list
224 Carolina Avenue North, Carolina Beach, NC 28428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Carolina Beach
NC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2006

I have stayed all over the world and this is the only place that considers toilet paper optional. When we returned to the room on the first day, no maid service had been provided. We were told that this had to be requested. We were NOT told this upon check-in, apparently we were just supposed to "know."

When the toilet paper ran out late in the evening there was NO spare roll and nobody in the office. When we checked out in the morning the manager was very rude and acted like it was our fault. The so-called owner is absentee and customer service is non-existent.

Only recommended to those accustomed to rudeness and primitive conditions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    5
    7
    10
See reviews for
9
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2006

My Husband and I got married on the beach in front of the Sea Witch Motel and held our reception at the cafe. We also held our rehersal dinner there as well. I found the staff at both the hotel and cafe were wonderful. We were so pleased that we came back a year later on our anniversary and celebrated with 12 of our closest friends. If it weren't for the helpful staff at The Sea Witch, our wedding would have been a disaster. I am planning our 3 yr. anniversary and we will return.

  • Stayed August 2003
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2006

When I first started to go there the food was really good but over the last year it has gone way down hill. The food isn't just bad its horrible, they should embarrassed. I kept giving it chance after chance because i was a big fan but I haven't gone there in a couple months and I don't think I will ever go back. As the food has gotten worse the prices have gone higher. If you are looking for a meal on Carolina beach try The Blackhorn, Deckhouse or The Hula Grill...actually you would even do better at McDonald's!!!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2005

Planned to stay 4 nights...only stayed 1. Dirty floor, dead bugs, coffepot but no cups. Good drinks at Tiki Bar across the street, but cafe was not reccomended (spelled right?) due to some problems. Beach hard to walk on and Boardwalk area depressed and depressing. Went to nicest restaurant "Hula Grille" for dinner, food was so/so.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2005

I spent 3 years living in Carolina Beach and The Sea Witch was my favorite place to hang. I now live in AZ and am SO homesick! The rooms are clean-immaculate in fact, the staff is wonderful and the beach front is in a perfect location. However, what I know the best is the cafe' across the street. Newly enlarged and decorated, the Sea Witch cafe is an awesome place to go to kick back, meet the locals and hear some great beach music. This is truly the classic beach bar where palm trees sway in the beach breeze and you feel like you are in the Bahamas. If you can, check out The Breeze Band online and arrange your dates of stay around when they will be playing. I guarantee you will have the time of your life! If you happen to remember, find Bev in the bar (she is usually circulating and will most likely find you first) and tell her that Suzanne and Mike miss her terribly!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2005

We had a great time. We had excellent room service. The staff was very polite and was more than willing to accomadate us any way they could. We have stayed here for about five years and love it. We like to bring our granddaughter because of the family atmosphere. This year we also brought our niece. The girls loved it and had a great time in the pool.
Thanks to the Owner and Staff for making our Vacation a special one.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2005

We had originally booked the Beachside Inn and could not stay there because it was horrible!!! We rode around and found the Seawitch. This place is very small. The staff is very courteous and the rooms very clean. You have the POOL and the OCEAN at your doorsteps. THe kids loved it. The restaurant and bar owned by the motel were great. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SeaWitch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaWitch Motel

Address: 224 Carolina Avenue North, Carolina Beach, NC 28428
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint 16 room oceanfront hotel with swimming pool. Located across the street from the SeaWitch Cafe & Tiki Bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seawitch Hotel Carolina Beach
Seawitch Hotel And Cafe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SeaWitch Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.