We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, fresh oysters.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shuckin Shack

Shuckin Shack
6 North Lake Park, Carolina Beach, NC
910 458 7380
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow, fresh oysters.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This place is a must visit. A little small and seating may be a challenge but it is worth it. Oysters are fairly priced and amazing. Very fresh and go down easy. The steamed shrimp were huge and out of this world good. Service was very attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    63
    14
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This is my go to bar when I want a fantastic deal on seafood, wings and beer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

The food is great, I sit at the bar so the service is great. The prices are fantastic, especially during happy hour. I go here alone sometimes just to get my clam and beer fix. It seems like kind of a dive but that is only by appearance, the staff is very friendly and the place is clean just looks a little beat up. Great great great location for a little bit of a river walk and smack dab in the center of the historical district.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolinaBeach ,NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Seafood and Cold Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is a great spot to check out if you are on the island. It is a smaller place, so big parties are difficult to accommodate. Great weekly specials and nice big TVs to watch games.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very Popular Local Hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Great spot to eat seafood. Nothing fancy but really good food. Local hangout with the locals. Very small place so would recommend going early if your going to eat. Just a few tables and a bar seating area. Got the steampot bucket with oysters, shrimp, clams and crab claws along with corn and coleslaw. We got the oysters steamed which were dry would probably suggest getting them raw. Otherwise very good.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Small, dark and noisy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is not a place you want to visit with kids. It is small, noisy and dark. The servers are also rude. We did not stay long.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shuckin Shack also viewed

 

Been to Shuckin Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shuckin Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.