We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful authentic Thai restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ida Thai Cuisine

Ida Thai Cuisine
304 N Lake Park Blvd., Carolina Beach, NC 28428
910-458-8136
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful authentic Thai restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Shares lunch with a friend that has visited Thailand and agrees that the entree selections are very tasty and authentic
We will certainly visit again soon as their take out is great too

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    35
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, SC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food! Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Went based on other reviews - glad we did. Nice people working, owner very helpful and food great!! Will go back when we come back to the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great alternative to seafood!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for an alternative to seafood after 3 days of seafood. What an awesome place. I would highly recommend the dumplings as an appetizer. We both had pad Thai. This was the best Thai food we have ever had anywhere.

The wait staff was attentive and friendly. Ida even stopped by our table to deliver our food and make sure we were happy!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Gap
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Looking for something other than seafood, my husband pulled into the parking lot. We both love Thai food. The building may not be anything to brag about, but it was clean, and the hostess/waitress was a Thai gem. My husband enjoys the Thai beer Singha and says anyone who likes beer should taste it. The soup was tasty and the crab Rangoon was delicious and hot. I always get the same thing at all Thai restaurants, Panaang Curry either chicken or beef. This was the best I have had. We told the waitress we like it spicy and she asked how many stars. she suggested two stars and it did have some heat, but not too much. The portions were a bit smaller than we are used to, so no leftovers. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for something different.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited Ida Thai cuisine on a weekend trip to the beach, selecting it because of it's proximity to the courtyard hotel.

When you walk in the door, the initial impression isn't brilliant, as it is little more than a takeaway front area with a few tables in the room off to the left of the front area.

The menu is standard Thai fare, if a little limited in scope when compared to the ones in Raleigh. Their kids menu offering is limited to one item, chicken nuggets, though they were able to provide a lunch portion of pad Thai as an alternative kids meal.

The pad Thai was reasonably tasty, and our daughter made a fairly decent dent in it before declaring herself full.

I ordered a tom kha soup (coconut milk based) as an appetizer, which was a bit over sweet and lacking spice for my tastes. The broth was almost plain white, lacking the red surface colouration more typical of this dish.

For my main course, I chose the spicy Basil noodles, often known as drunken noodles, or pad kee mao in Thai. This is a great yardstick for me, as a good version is an explosion of spicy and sweet flavours, combining the colours and textures of tomatoes, peppers, chicken, egg and noodles with purple stemmed Thai Basil, chillis, sugar and other ingredients to produce the culinary equivalent of a 500 page novel. Ideally, the dish should be prepared with fresh, wide rice noodles, as the texture is far superior to the dried equivalent.

Sadly, the version of this Thai classic served to me was more of a bifold leaflet, with minimal Basil, packet noodles, an excess of chilli spice, and very little sweetness to balance it out. It falls well short of the versions I've tried in Raleigh restaurants such as Yum Yum Thai.

I did read one negative review complaining about the amount of meat provided, but we had no problems on that score. The chicken was good quality white meat, and reasonably well balanced with the other ingredients (i.e. enough, but not so much that it overpowered the other contents of the dish).

In summary, it's an okay restaurant, but if you're expecting big city quality Thai food, you may be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ida Thai Cuisine also viewed

 
Carolina Beach, NC
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to Ida Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ida Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.