We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly and Touristy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drifters Reef Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Drifters Reef Motel to your Saves list
Drifters Reef Motel
701 N Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC 28428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Morrisville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly and Touristy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My fiance, now husband, and I stayed at the Drifters Reef Motel in April when we were in town for our engagement pictures. We brought our puppy with us so a place that will accept pets was important. We checked in early without any problems (I had requested early check-in and they were really nice about it). Our room smelled like bleach, but that was fine with us because it meant it was clean. It is a small, non chain property so it doesn't have all of the big bells and whistles, but the staff was really nice and it was clean. I would totally stay here again. Loved the brilliant colors of the motel too. It was like sleeping in a rainbow. The bar/restaurant was a tad loud, but so what; you're at the beach :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room without carpet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    11
    8
    32
See reviews for
29
27
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monroe NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We had never stayed here before, so we weren't sure of what to expect (just like staying anywhere new for the first time) but I was pleasantly suprised. We came last minute, and they had one room available, due to someone else checking out early. They gave us a discount because she said it would take a little time to clean the room. In fact, it took very little time, we had dinner next door and a few drinks while we waited. The clerk was very sweet. The room was very clean and neat, with a nice tv and a decently comfortable mattress. The only thing I would change are the pillows, they're a little too soft. :) overall, for the price, location and cleanliness... I would definitely stay here again anytime! Can't beat it!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We have stayed at the Drifter's Reef a few times now and have had a great experience every time- it is definitely the best place to stay on the beach! It is the perfect location, very close to restaurants and only a few blocks away from the beach and boardwalk area. Many of these reviews seem overly critical... our room has always been extremely clean and the staff is very friendly! (And these are both very important to us.) It is not a brand new or chain hotel- it is a family owned beach hotel which adds to the charm of staying at Carolina Beach. Every time we go we can tell that they are constantly making improvements and updates. Also it is very affordable, especially compared to other hotels in the area. We also love having the Lazy Pirate next door. It's so fun to go over there and listen to the live music and then be able to walk across the parking lot back to our room. They also have volleyball and corn-hole. While we have not brought our dog with us, I have asked about doing so and was told they have designated pet rooms. As far as I know they are the only place on Carolina Beach that has pet friendly rooms.

Overall this is a great hotel. We don't even consider staying anywhere else when we head to the beach! We love their great location, clean rooms, and affordable prices, and the kids love the pool! I definitely recommend this hotel to others traveling to Carolina Beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Don't expect somewhere to park. They let the bar park in the lot instead of the hotel guest. Hello use your heads. You park the bar in the over fill lots not your guest that is paying you money. They only gave us two towels and when I asked they told me to tell the maid when she came thru. I'm at the beach I'm not sitting around for your maI'd to tell her how to do her job. Horrible experience will never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The front desk clerk - Amy, was fantastic. The room was dated, but very clean.
The mattress was horrible. Weekends, the restaurant next door, LOUD band on the weekends.
Sent 2 emails to the motel addressing the mattress, but they are not answering my complaint.

Room Tip: Until they replace the mattresses, I don't recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Here we are, back again. No place feels like home like Drifter's Reef. We are so happy to come back to our VIP room, we call it. Everything is clean and comfortable and I enjoy the strong shower and hair dryer. I love to lay back and enjoy the cable TV or the free internet. When we're in the mood for the beach we can either walk down or drive. It's usually not hard to find a parking place. Maybe you would like the nice, clean, big pool too. When we're in the mood for eating out all we have to do is go to the Lazy Pirate next door. They have such great seafood, I love the scallops and you get a lot of food. We enjoy listening to the live music. We've even been known to dance, too. You won't find a better deal anywhere and you get a discount if you stay at the Drifter's Inn. LeeAnn is the manager at Drifter's Reef and she is the nicest person you will ever meet. She and her staff make sure you have everything you want and if you have any concerns or questions all you have to do is ask. We are treated like family and are called by our first name. Why not come out and have some fun and it not cost you a fortune either? Drifters Reef is our Place in the Sun.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I’m giving them 5 starts not based on the quality of the motel but of our overall experience.

We’ve stayed there three times now and each time we’ve had a positive experience. The price is excellent, considering the location! You can walk to the beach and to all the bars and restaurants in the area. Now, while the rooms are not top of the line they are clean. Considering they are a dog friendly motel (which is hard to come by) and considering how many pets pass though those rooms, you can’t really have extremely expensive bedding and furniture in there as not everyone’s pets are well trained. So the bedding is simple and so is the décor, the floors are tile and that makes them easy to clean. You could definitely smell the Lysol in the room when you first enter but that only tells me that it was cleaned really well. You have to remember it’s important to eliminate the smells of the last pets in the room so the new ones don’t try and mark over them.

We actually picked this place because of the bar next door. Yes, the music can be a little loud but they only have it late on Saturday nights and it’s nice because you can enjoy the live entertainment and bar and walk over to your room and crash. I can understand if you are a light sleeper the noise may bother you. If you are used to fancy hotels then this might not be the place for you, it's low key and laid back and as a young couple with no kids( except our german shep) this was the perfect place to stay.

Most importantly and the main reason we go back there is the staff. Everyone we encountered loves animals and they’re extremely accommodating and friendly to pets. It is this welcoming attitude that keeps us returning. I hate going to places that seem annoyed with your pets. Every staff person we encountered was friendly and polite and that is hard to find.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drifters Reef Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters Reef Motel

Address: 701 N Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC 28428
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Drifters Reef Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifters Reef Hotel Carolina Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drifters Reef Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.