We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Drifters Reef Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Drifters Reef Motel to your Saves list
Drifters Reef Motel
701 N Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC 28428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Carolina Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Matress stained and old,tables were not cleaned off and shower head had so much mold growing on it, did get a good nights sleep and pool was nicebut would not stay there again because for the money we spent $158/ night i expect a clean room and newer mattresses.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    11
    8
    32
See reviews for
29
27
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Randleman,North Carolina, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Was told a rate of $59 per night, 3 months in advance of arrivial. When we checked in the rate changed to $98 per night. Was told there was nothing they could do, we were promised one rate but had to pay the new rate or go elsewhere. Very rude people in office, nasty rooms. The resturant great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Reasonable room, reasonable rates. Bed was comfy, mattress firm, no smoke smell in room...no bugs. Folks were nice, pool was clean, room, toilet, bathroom clean.... Air worked FANTASTIC. No noisy neighbors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

There are to many pickly people in this world. We did not have any problems with anything. We stayed in the middle of July 2012 and our room was clean and service from staff was great they were very helpful. We also had our minpin with us and she was greeted very nicley. The Drifters Reef is also in the middle of upgrading. Don't be so cruel they are getting there!
Come on People if you want the Hyatt then spend the money for it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Fowlers from Hillsborough NC

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

If you want piece and quiet this may not be place but u r also at beach so people like to party. You can walk to beach but probably a mile a way. Good place though where you can walk to restaurants, surf shops and other fun shopping, especially discount surf clothing. Generally comfortable room and beds. Could hear people above walking around and next door is a sports bar that may have some music outside Our room was right across so we heard it a little. For lunch the standard under 10 dollar lunch that is really great is at the Surf House. Their sandwiches and fish tacos are wonderful. Always eat there. Do not eat at sports bar next door.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We had such an awful experience here, the Room stated no smoking- as soon as I walked in could smell it. I checked for bedbug and did not see any but the floor behind the bed was covered with dead bugs and pet hair. I did not sleep the entire night because I was sneezing and coughing all night - what a waste of $135-never stay here you have been warned!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for Memorial Day weekend. It was a 2 night minimum, which was a load of crap. The room was LITERALLY a tiny bed, dresser, old TV, and bathroom. NO bedside tables, NO alarm clock, NO phone. ONLY one small wall lamp worked so it was dark. Had a window unit AC (which was MOLDED, and made a terrible noise) and a plug in space heater.
The shower barely worked. I had to lay in the tub to even wash my hair! It was like taking a shower in a distant sprinkler. Screw this place. Only good thing was the fact is was clean and a place to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Drifters Reef Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters Reef Motel

Address: 701 N Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC 28428
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Drifters Reef Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifters Reef Hotel Carolina Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drifters Reef Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.