We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False advertisement” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Drifters Reef Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Drifters Reef Hotel to your Saves list
Drifters Reef Hotel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   701 N Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC 28428   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Randleman,North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“False advertisement”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Was told a rate of $59 per night, 3 months in advance of arrivial. When we checked in the rate changed to $98 per night. Was told there was nothing they could do, we were promised one rate but had to pay the new rate or go elsewhere. Very rude people in office, nasty rooms. The resturant great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    13
    9
    35
See reviews for
36
30
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Reasonable room, reasonable rates. Bed was comfy, mattress firm, no smoke smell in room...no bugs. Folks were nice, pool was clean, room, toilet, bathroom clean.... Air worked FANTASTIC. No noisy neighbors.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

There are to many pickly people in this world. We did not have any problems with anything. We stayed in the middle of July 2012 and our room was clean and service from staff was great they were very helpful. We also had our minpin with us and she was greeted very nicley. The Drifters Reef is also in the middle of upgrading. Don't be so cruel they are getting there!
Come on People if you want the Hyatt then spend the money for it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Fowlers from Hillsborough NC

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

If you want piece and quiet this may not be place but u r also at beach so people like to party. You can walk to beach but probably a mile a way. Good place though where you can walk to restaurants, surf shops and other fun shopping, especially discount surf clothing. Generally comfortable room and beds. Could hear people above walking around and next door is a sports bar that may have some music outside Our room was right across so we heard it a little. For lunch the standard under 10 dollar lunch that is really great is at the Surf House. Their sandwiches and fish tacos are wonderful. Always eat there. Do not eat at sports bar next door.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had such an awful experience here, the Room stated no smoking- as soon as I walked in could smell it. I checked for bedbug and did not see any but the floor behind the bed was covered with dead bugs and pet hair. I did not sleep the entire night because I was sneezing and coughing all night - what a waste of $135-never stay here you have been warned!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for Memorial Day weekend. It was a 2 night minimum, which was a load of crap. The room was LITERALLY a tiny bed, dresser, old TV, and bathroom. NO bedside tables, NO alarm clock, NO phone. ONLY one small wall lamp worked so it was dark. Had a window unit AC (which was MOLDED, and made a terrible noise) and a plug in space heater.
The shower barely worked. I had to lay in the tub to even wash my hair! It was like taking a shower in a distant sprinkler. Screw this place. Only good thing was the fact is was clean and a place to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We went to Carolina Beach on the recommendation of a friend, did not make reservations as we wanted to check all the Hotels out prior to staying. We stopped at this Hotel the front desk let us look at the room first, did not even ask him to see it first. We checked out 2 rooms and chose the one where we could park in handicap right outside our door. The room was clean, refrigerator and microwave in the room, no alarm clock but we weren't on a time schedule and had our cell phones, no coffee maker, we went across the street to the gas station, next time we will take one with us. Nice pillows, we asked for more as we my friend needs to be propped up at night to sleep, the front desk clerk gave us more. I would recommend telling people where the ice machine is as I had to bother the front desk again by calling and asking where it was located.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carolina Beach
1.3 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#1 of 17 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.3 mi away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#11 of 17 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
1.3 mi away
SeaWitch Motel
SeaWitch Motel
#8 of 17 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifters Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters Reef Hotel

Address: 701 N Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC 28428
Location: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Drifters Reef Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drifter's Reef Hotel is located in the heart of Carolina Beach, North Carolina and offers you great accommodations at a reasonable price. We offer microwaves, mini frigs, air conditioning, cable, free Wi-Fi, large outdoor pool, charcoal grills, volleyball courts, laundry facilities, onsite restaurant and bar. The Lazy Pirate is our famous award winning restaurant boasting legendary wings and crab shack! All quests will receive a 10% discount on food purchases! Carolina Beach's charter fishing fleet, top of the line cruise boats, excellent shopping at the Carolina Beach Boardwalk, fine restaurants and our beautiful beaches are all within a few short blocks and easy walking distance. Drifter's Reef Hotel has 57 rooms consisting of King rooms, Double rooms, Double Deluxe, Double Suites and a 2 Bedroom Full Apartment. We hope you will choose Drifter's Reef Hotel for your next vacation!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Drifters Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifters Reef Hotel Carolina Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drifters Reef Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.