We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so food, but it's the only Mexican place on the Island!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Zarape

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Zarape
103 N Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC 910) 458-5226
910) 458-5226
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So-so food, but it's the only Mexican place on the Island!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

If you get a craving for Mexican food and don't want to travel off-island, then this is the place to go. The food is average, and service can be spotty depending on how packed they are. Parking is almost impossible - a handful of spots in the very narrow, sideways lot. You can try the street, but it's also limited.

The salsa comes in a trio of bowls from mild to hot, and you really have to mix them together to get just the right flavor. Nothing to write home about, but it will satisfy that craving if you can't make it into Wilmington!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The best thing about the restaurant is the staff!! They are usually busy but are always friendly!! My kids and I always visit and have a blast here. The food is amazing and delicious. This is one of our favorite places to go while in CB.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It's now called El Cazador!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Wonderful Mexican food, outdoor dining, good serve, large portions. We'll be back again.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very cold...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012 via mobile

Went on February 19th 2012. The food was really good but I asked for unseen ice tea and the sweet n low on the table had sat there so long...it turned solid and would not come out the pack. It was raining the day we were there and there was no heat in in the building.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carlolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Food and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My wife and I have come to make this a dinner stop on our Carolina Beach vacations. Very good food and service. Wait ona balcony seat in the summer overlooking the amusement rides.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Zarape also viewed

 
Carolina Beach, NC
 

Been to El Zarape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Zarape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.