We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room smelled” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Asheville West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Asheville West to your Saves list
Days Inn Asheville West
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2551 Smoky Park Highway, I-40, Exit 37, Candler, NC 28715   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Candler
Candler
1 review
“Room smelled”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Not so good. The carpet and bedding smelled. It was late; we had no choice; we had to stay. Staff was lovely. Room was not.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Mary K, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us and for your compliments about our staff. I apologize the room was not to your satisfaction. We are constantly upgrading our rooms and in fact over the past month have renovated several rooms with new carpet and bedding and will continue to do so. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    126
    96
    47
    44
See reviews for
160
136
37
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lnickolas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I recently relocated to the Asheville area, and while I was looking for my house I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel. I have been in the vacation property management industry for many years, and I have to say the staff at this Days Inn West were so friendly, helpful and very welcoming. Some of the hotel rooms are in need of some updating for sure but over all it was very comfortable for myself, brother and my 2 labs. Breakfast and supper every day was definitely a perk. The food wasn't anything too special, but it was good, filling and helped with expenses. I would definitely recommend this hotel for over night stays or the great weekly rates especially if you pets. Heck you can practically live there if you need temporary housing. They are very pet friendly, but no one picks up after there pets. There is a ton of land to walk your pets though. I thought it would have been smart to put up pet receptacles to encourage pet clean up. Being a responsible dog owner I had my own bags and still cleaned up after my dogs even if others didn't. Over all we have great memories there. It will always be a special place for us as we began our Asheville adventure there. It was our home away from home.

Room Tip: They do have some updated non-smoking non-pet rooms. You may just need to request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear lnickolas, I am very pleased to know you had a pleasant experience at the Days Inn Asheville West. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your relocation to the Asheville area and availing of our discounted extended stay rates. It is a huge compliment to receive acknowledgment of our friendly, helpful and welcoming staff from a seasoned property manager who understands and appreciates the value of excellent customer service. Thank you for also acknowledging our comfortable accomodations, free breakfast and supper and pet friendliness. I am glad to hear you had great memories at our hotel and it felt like home. I take it you have completed you move and would like to say welcome to the area. Please feel free to visit us anytime and let us know if we can be of any further assistance should you have family or friends that need accomodations when they visit you. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was a very nice place, room good , desk person very friendly. The nice surprise was that they had stew ready for a light supper so you didn't have to go out after checking in. breakfast was okay too. The only drawback was the rooms were separate from the main area and you had to walk a small hill, would not be good for anyone who had issues, you would have to drive to go to the dining area to eat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, General Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
I am happy to hear you were pleasantly surprised by your stay at the Days Inn Asheville West and were able to experience a good room, friendly staff and a nice free light supper in our spacious dining room. We advise our guests to drive down to supper and breakfast if they would rather not walk to the lobby building. Thanks again for the feedback and we hope you will stay with us again. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COZAD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

If you are looking for a clean, friendly, and better than reasonable priced hotel near Asheville, North Carolina, I would strongly recommend this hotel. Marise Meto-Furtado did a great job of making us feel welcomed, she even called the room to make sure everything was as expected or if there was any problems! As a bonus, they even serve a nice supper (good surprise).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you very much for the compliments and for acknowledging our friendly customer service, clean rooms, great prices and bonus free supper. I hope you will visit us again if you are in the Asheville area. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I booked last minute for a weekend event in Asheville. This is the closest place we could find, Rooms were clean and staff was friendly. Didn't get to the restaurant, but it always seemed busy. The rooms are a bit dated and worn but clean. For a prime weekend, the rate was a reasonable price. Its an easy ride to Asheville. Conveniently located just off the interstate, but you pay for it as the place is a little noisy.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Days Inn Asheville West and for taking the time to review us. I am pleased to know you found us to be a good value with clean rooms, friendly staff, convenient location and great price. Hope to see you again. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

i have stayed in many hotels but this particular one in candler is very special to me. they have a very nice and polite staffs and they are available anytime to answer our questions and to help us. you can have a fine breakfast in the morning and the housekeeping service is also so good

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words about the Days Inn Asheville West and your appreciation of our courteous and helpful front desk staff, efficient housekeeping staff and our fine breakfast. We are very touched to know we made a special impression and we look forward to being of service to you again. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Asheville West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Asheville West

Address: 2551 Smoky Park Highway, I-40, Exit 37, Candler, NC 28715
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Candler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Candler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Asheville West 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience warm southern hospitality during your next visit the beautiful North Carolina mountains at the award-winning Days Inn Asheville West hotel. Located off Interstate 40, our Candler, NC, hotel is near Great Smoky Mountains National Park and at the doorstep of pristine wilderness and abundant outdoor recreation.Help yourself to free Daybreak breakfast buffet each morning then return to your spacious guest room, complete with a microwave and refrigerator. Stay connected to the office with free Wi-Fi Internet access, swim in our outdoor pool or picnic in the barbeque area. End your busy day with our complimentary southern supper. Our pet-friendly Candler, NC, hotel offers 24-hour front desk service and free parking, including space for large vehicles. Rooms with mountain views as well as handicapped-accessible and non-smoking accommodations are available. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Asheville West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Asheville West Hotel Candler
Days Inn Candler
Candler Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Asheville West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.