We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Asheville West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Asheville West to your Saves list
Days Inn Asheville West
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2551 Smoky Park Highway, I-40, Exit 37, Candler, NC 28715   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Candler
Sparta, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary trip to the Biltmore House. We arrived early and were allowed to check in. Donna made our trip very enjoyable. She was VERY informative and told us of several attractions in the area and without our asking let us know that they offered discount tickets to the Biltmore that would allow us to visit 2 days. Breakfast was very good with sausage and biscuits, eggs, gravy, doughnuts, cereals, and fresh coffee and juice. Donna kept the area clean and well stocked. We enjoyed soup and chilli one night that was also fresh prepared by Donna. She made sure we had plenty. The food was very good. The swimming pool is large and very nice. We would definitely stay there again. The price was very reasonable for the area. We would like to thank Donna for all her help and for her attentiveness to every detail of making our trip enjoyable. Her knowledge of the area and attractions enabled us to enjoy some extras. Her kindness went above and beyond the requirements as she was always eager to be of service to us. Bobbie and Christy Webb

Room Tip: We had a lower floor room close to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Days Inn Asheville West on the special occasion of your wedding anniversary! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, the complimentary meals, our beautiful pool, our discount Biltmore tickets and received the Donna experience, all for a great price. Donna thanks you for your acknowledgement of her excellent service and we look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    141
    103
    54
    44
See reviews for
170
146
44
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We booked this hotel because of the price and the reviews here on TripAdvisor. Our first night, we arrived late and were given a room on the second floor that reeked of smoke, despite it being a smoke-free room. (We think that the smoke smell came from the corridor, where people were smoking, and was sucked in through the window a/c. We tried to call the front desk (which was supposed to be 24-hours), but no one answered. The next morning we went to talk to the front desk before breakfast, and the ladies working were so accommodating, offering to let us leave our things in our old room all day (as we had tickets to the Biltmore house), which we would then be able to move to a new room that night. They were apologetic about the fact that we hadn't gotten a response the night before. Our new room was wonderful. Much nicer carpet, no yucky smoke smell. The breakfasts here were good, and the daytime staff was friendly and helpful. Also, the location is good if you want to explore outside of Asheville-it was only about 40 minutes to the Great Smoky Mountain National Park.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the front of the first building (from like 100 to 108, on any of the flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Once again, I am very sorry that your stay with us was tarnished by guests smoking outside your room at night and that the night clerk did not take your call. I am glad we were able to resolve the problem by offering you another room as soon as one became available and that your experience took a turn for the better thereafter. Thank you for your compliments on our accomodations and service and we hope to see you again. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

They offer a hot supper of chili beans. It's beans, not chili. But it's hot food if you have nothing else. Breakfast had something for everyone. Clean. My favourite was the simple sweet nature of the woman running the place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your appreciation of our great customer service and clean accomodations. I am glad to know you had a positive experience with us at the Days Inn Asheville West and hope to see you again. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a coupon from the coupon book picked up at the welcome center which lead us to this inn. We were given a warm welcome by the two ladies at the front desk. After registering, they offered a (free) dinner of Chili and crackers set up at the dinning area. We told them that we were in the mood for Pizza and politely declined their dinner. However, the pizza did not arrive for an hour and a half and so we were making our way out get dinner, when Donna, the lady at the front desk met us and offered to warm up some chili if we changed our mind! Now that is great hospitality! Our stay at this inn was very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdiaw, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
I am pleased to know you were able to take advantage of our discount travel coupon and our complimentary supper and you were able to experience our good Southern hospitality. Thank you for your review and I hope you will get a chance to visit us again. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

It was the little things that helped to make this review less than what it might have been.
The room was OK. But the shower grout had mold on it, the carpet did not look completely clean. The "breakfast" was below average for a continental breakfast: white bread for toast (not even bagels), really lousy "danish" (looked like Hostess brand) and biscuits and gravy. When showering, the hot water would cut out, giving you a shot of cold water. The wifi was fine. If I could give this place 2 1/2 stars, I would.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to hear your experience with us was less than satisfactory. Please know that your concerns will be addressed and used to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay with us. I hope you will give us another chance to serve you. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new haven, ct
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Days Inn Chandlier on our way from the Smoky Mountains to Asheville. We had been camping for three days and needed a place to stay ASAP, so I downloaded Days Inn app and this hotel was the closest to where we were, and where wanted to go. (Asheville) We stayed two nights @ $79 a night.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, even calling up to the room to see if we settled in ok. They provided a delicious, however small, breakfast and dinner. (Shocked on the dinner part!!) Both were a nice addition and we met the cook who was a nice country lady.

The hotel itself is very old. The room was not dirty, but old. Mold in the bathroom, AC loud and rackity, and ants came in through our door when our kids dropped some granola bar at the window. We didn't complain about the ants because I was able to get most of them out after we cleaned up the granola and killed the ants.

They have a pool but it is very old as well, and was a little dirty. We were on the 2nd floor and the balcony seemed to lean a little and had carpet on it, which I thought weird since it would get slightly wet with rain.

An ok place if you're going through, but next time I'll try to find something a little newer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for your appreciation of our service and amenities. I apologize that the property showed its age. We are, however, routinely working on renovating and improving our property. We hope you will give us another chance and that your next stay with us will be more enjoyable. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platteville, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

If you want a CLEAN room a reasonable price and by far the BEST hostess we have ever experienced in a motel go to Chandler Asheville Days Inn. If you are really lucky you will get to meet Donna, she restored my faith in Days Inn motels and gave us the most enjoyable reception we have ever experienced in ANY hotel or Motel or B&B we have ever stayed in. A delightful person, good food, a clean room and a really great experience. It was so memorable my wife and now comment when we are in a bad hotel that they could use the Donna touch! Thanks Donna wish you were in charge of all the motels we stayed at.

Room Tip: Can't help ya here the place was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Days Inn Asheville West, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I am very pleased to know your stay with us was enjoyable and that you received the sunny Days Inn experience. Thank you for acknowledging Donna's service, she is indeed a valuable asset to us. I am also happy to hear that our clean accomodations and low prices also contributed to a great stay. Thanks for the feedback. Sincerely, Manager, Days Inn Asheville West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Asheville West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Asheville West

Address: 2551 Smoky Park Highway, I-40, Exit 37, Candler, NC 28715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Candler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Candler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Asheville West 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience warm southern hospitality during your next visit the beautiful North Carolina mountains at the award-winning Days Inn Asheville West hotel. Located off Interstate 40, our Candler, NC, hotel is near Great Smoky Mountains National Park and at the doorstep of pristine wilderness and abundant outdoor recreation.Help yourself to free Daybreak breakfast buffet each morning then return to your spacious guest room, complete with a microwave and refrigerator. Stay connected to the office with free Wi-Fi Internet access, swim in our outdoor pool or picnic in the barbeque area. End your busy day with our complimentary southern supper. Our pet-friendly Candler, NC, hotel offers 24-hour front desk service and free parking, including space for large vehicles. Rooms with mountain views as well as handicapped-accessible and non-smoking accommodations are available. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Wyndham, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Asheville West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Asheville West Hotel Candler
Days Inn Candler
Candler Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Asheville West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.