We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and cosy, spacious and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honey Hill Asheville Inn and Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Honey Hill Asheville Inn and Cabins to your Saves list
Honey Hill Asheville Inn and Cabins
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2630 Smoky Park Hwy, Candler, NC 28715   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Candler B&B and Inns
Nuremberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very nice and cosy, spacious and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Stayed in one of the cabins in Honey Hill Inn (Looking Glass Log Cabin) for 2 days in August 2010 and enjoyed every minute of it. The hut is very clean, well equipped and has a deck and a lot of space around it. Beds are excellent and the view from our hut is quite pleasant. There is a main house, with rooms to rent, which is quite old, very atmospheric and stylish. The landladies a very helpful and nice, they even gave us a discount on our stay, which was highly appreciated. We had a few difficulties finding it, but in future, when the sign is up, this problem should be solved. Sometimes you hear the traffic sitting outside, but it is not really a big problem. The photos on the website give a real impressinion of what it is like. All in all a very pleasant an relaxing stay for us, and highly recommendable place.
T.N. (Germany)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    19
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
149
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

My wife and I spent three nights with Gretchen and Cheryl. Despite being newer B&B owners, their past lives in the restaurant and corporate worlds showed through. Their care of us as we explored the rolling hills of their property made us feel welcome. They pointed especially to "Honey Hill" where beautiful North Carolina sunsets can be experienced in their full glory.
Gretchen showed us delicious, yet varied menues through the entire stay. And, she accommodated our dietary preferences. (The coffee and tea were great too.)
If/when we return to the Asheville area, we won't hesitate to stay with Cheryl and Gretchen again.
And, Honey Hill is only about 15 minutes from downtown Asheville.
Truly worth the cost.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We visited Honey Hill two weeks ago and stayed in one of the cabins for three nights (Looking Glass I believe). The property is very picturesque with a beautiful historic main house, hundred year old grape vines, and a butterfly garden. There is also a walking trail down the hill behind the cabins that leads to a little creek (just watch your step, it's pretty steep.) The cabin itself was very clean and we appreciated all the little touches...fresh flowers, a deck of cards, DVD player, as well as literally everything you would need to make a homemade gourmet meal (I did it twice). Unlike most rentals where they provide appliances and the basic cooking needs leave you to fend for yourself otherwise, the innkeepers really pay attention to stocking the cabins here. There was a lighter/torch to light the charcoal on the outdoor barbecue grill, as well as full grilling supplies - tongs, metal brush, spatulas etc. Breakfast was delicious every time. Although the inn is outside of Asheville, it's less than a half mile from the interstate and once you get on that you're only 10-15 minutes from Asheville, not a bad drive at all.

I highly recommend everything about this place. My only suggestion would be that if you choose to stay in the cabins, reserve one of the ones facing the rear of the property, as these are insulated from the traffic noise by the hill. Also the views are more intimate. The cabin we stayed in was basically at the crest of the hill with a sloping lawn down to a treed area and then the highway, so we did get a little traffic noise. That said, it really wasn't bad at all and the view was great there too, but I would choose one of the other cabins next time for that reason. They did say that they planned on planting more trees which should create more of a noise buffer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We chose the Honey Hill cabins because the cabins looked clean and scenic. Additionally, they were offering a discount on the third night during August which sweetened the deal for us. The cabin we stayed in "The Cold Mountain" was very clean and had a nice view of a mountain, the pictures on the website capture it well. We will stay at Honey Hill again, though next time we will stay in the "Mt. Mitchell Log Cabin" because my wife and daughter thought it looked "cool"!

Cheryl and Gretchen, the Inn's operators, were both super friendly and very helpful which we appreciated very much.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We recently stayed 3 nights in the Mt. Mitchell cabin visiting with friends from Florida. It was so perfect for this reunion of friends. We cooked out, ate our meals on the large deck with beautiful views and slept so well. This cabin was well stocked with everything you need to prepare meals for 6 or even more! (Bring your own food of course) I would love to gather a large group of family or friends and rent all six cabins in the future. Be sure and ask for a tour of the Historic Bed and Breakfast - it is incredible!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia,sc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

My husband and I went for our anniversary, this was my first time staying at a bed & breakfast. It was about 15-20 minutes outside of downtown Asheville, so overall it was pretty convienent. We arrived and the Inn was beautiful, we walked in and it was so elegant and perfectly decorated. We were greeted by one of the owners, Cheryl. She was so pleasant and very accomodating. She showed us to our room and it was gorgeous! The bed was so comfortable, more so than my own at home. We left the room to go travel and in the common area were fresh baked chocolate chip cookies, tea and coffee. The next morning we went to the dining room for breakfast and were pleasantly surprised. The food was incredible, they had given us fresh fruit picked that morning from the garden. Homemade strawberry peach butter over a sweet breakfast cake and a delicious egg,ham,mushroom quiche. Gretchen (the other owner) and Cheryl were amazing, they were so friendly. I would give Honey Hill Inn five stars and highly recommend this bed & breakfast. Also the cabins behind the Inn has a spectacular view of the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

What a delightful experience with lovely hostesses who did whatever they could to make our stay the best. The Inn was decorated beautifully with many antiques and fresh flowers every where. The Engadine Suite was spacious.private and very comfortable.

We loved having our coffee before breakfast on the second floor porch, sitting in the rocking chairs and looking out at the many old, old trees. And breakfasts were gormet--presented beautifully, absolutely delicious, and served on lovely china. A refrigerator was provided in the second floor sitting area stocked with water and soft drinks, along with iced tea being served in the afternoon.

You could take a walk back through the property to a Butterfly Crossing where butterflies were plentiful as they visited the butterfly bushes. Continue walking to visit Honey Hill and looked out over a valley with mountains surrounding it. A lovely, peaceful place.

Our hostess were anxious to help with making reservations for dinner and a perfect evening on our special day along with other good suggestions for things to do. And when it was time to leave, sent us off with rasberry muffins for the trip home. We do look forward to going back

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Honey Hill Asheville Inn and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Hill Asheville Inn and Cabins

Address: 2630 Smoky Park Hwy, Candler, NC 28715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Candler
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Candler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Honey Hill Asheville Inn and Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honey Hill Inn and Cabins is nestled in the mountains just outside of Asheville, North Carolina. It is conveniently located just 15 minutes from downtown Asheville and the Biltmore Estate and a short drive to some of the area's most popular outdoor adventures, including whitewater rafting, tubing, horseback riding, hot air ballooning and skiing. Situated on more than 12 acres of rolling hills with stunning mountain views, Honey Hill offers two unique options for your getaway. Stay in the mansion and enjoy old world elegance and a delicious breakfast in our dining room. Or escape to one of our six fully-equipped cabins where you can be closer to nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Honey Hill Asheville Inn and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honey Hill Asheville Inn And Cabins Hotel Candler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honey Hill Asheville Inn and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.