We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Perfect Escape"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabins of Asheville

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Candler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabins of Asheville
Save
You added Cabins of Asheville to your Saves list
25 Little Stoney Fork Rd, Candler, NC 28715   |  
Hotel amenities
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Perfect Escape"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Jus Nappin for two nights in late March 2013 and we thought it was absoultely perfect.
The location---off the beaten path and just enough in the mountains that you feel secluded. It was only about 20 minutes to Asheville (which is not a bad drive at all) and we were able to go to the Biltmore and to a Brewery in Asheville before going home to cook dinner. It was definitely a little chilly while we were there but the mountains were beautiful!

The Cabin--we could not have asked for a more homey and lovely place to spend some alone time. It had everything we needed and more, but did not feel crowded or cluttered. The bed was incredibly comfortable-we did find some extra (much needed) blankets in the drawers. The little gas fireplace was wonderful at heating the cabin (turn the futon into a bed in front of the fire and tv for perfect movie watching). All of the movie channels they listed came in clear and the tv was definitely a nice size for the room. The cabin had a full kitchen, and we were able to make dinner and breakfast without a hitch (only salt and pepper in the kitchen, so don't forget sugar for your morning coffee!). We ate at a very impressive Mexican Restaurant about 10 minutes from the cabin called El Chapala on the Smoky Park Highway our first night because we were too tired to make dinner--plenty of leftovers. The hot tub never was hot enough for us, but that is understandable since they drain and refill the hot tubs for every new guest, so at least we knew it was clean and fresh...and it's pretty hard to complain about a hot tub at a 2 person cabin, you can't find that anywhere!!!---it could have been cold and we still would have been happy with it. The shower/bathroom is small but we didn't mind. The water pressure and temperature were fantastic.

Really can't say enough wonderful things about our stay. We can't wait to come back and stay for at least a week next time! Perfect escape for couples who need a little alone time.

Room Tip: This cabin is pretty close to the others. If you want one of the secluded cabins--do your research...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
62
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Enjoyed the trip to the cabins of asheville.
Perfect for a long weekend getaway. The cabin is not large and it would be crowded with more than 4. Best suited for 2.
Stayed at the cabin named alone at last. Amenities included hot tub on porch, grill, recycle trash can (for those like me that are trying to do well to the earth)
Inside a tv with satellite, pull out futon, 2 person table and all we needed to cook.
Washer and dryer also included as well as a nice bathroom and master bedroom, just not huge.
I was able to bring my dogs which was cool.
Cabins were ready when we got there and I never saw the owner and had no need to, so the check in and out was great. I had his number if I needed it.
We were lucky enough to get snow and the drive up to the cabin was pretty.
This is between asheville and pisgah national forest and there is plenty to do.
If you are not wanting to drive 15-20 minutes to asheville, and/or want fine dining close by, this probably is not your place.
But for those who like to cook or take a drive into some beautiful mountains, like to hike or enjoy nature and are willing to take some time to drive into asheville if you want some additional culture or great food and having a quiet peaceful, place to stay, this is your place.
The cabins are sorta close together, but I really was not bothered by that. If you like total seclusion, this would not be your favorite.
I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

5 of us and a dog stayed at the bearadise cabin.
First off, the cabin is as advertised. Kitchen is actually pretty big - the pots and pans are in bad condition but I guess that happens from guests misusing it. The knives are terrible, so get your own knife. In the attached bath at times the hot water in the shower was slow to come. The hot tub was nice - I liked that it was under a covered porch instead of being in the open. Its a walk from the tub to the cabin, so its not something one would look forward to in winter weather.
Having said that, Its apparently their newer one but doesnt look so new. The floors had been mopped for sure but there was dust everywhere. I dont like wearing shoes inside a home, so I wear socks in winter. But my socks got really really brown and dirty during a day of walking inside.
The washer cannot take too much load - so be careful about loading too many towels there.
There are enough extra towels in this cabin.
The fireplace is a good feature - but we couldn't figure why it would come on suddenly and also go off on its own - some kind of timer ?
The TV in the living room is small and the dvd player wasnt hooked correctly. My husband had to tinker around a lot to get it work.
Wi-fi works great. There is no cell service half way down the town of Candler...so dont expect to make any calls while in the cabin. No grocery stores close by too but that's not necessarily a bad thing.
The owner should definitely mark the lights that are for the outside of the cabin as well as for the patio area - first night we were sitting out in the dark in the patio. I switched on every switch to figure out the patio lights( its in the kitchen ).
Beds were comfortable but the night stands in the master bedroom are stumps of dead tree and have pointy edges which is very dangerous when you have toddlers/infants around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric W, Owner at Cabins of Asheville, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for the review. The Bearidise Ridge is a house and not one of our new cozy log cabins. We have have updated it with a new roof, kitchen, and rustic decor. It is a great place to be laid back and enjoy the Asheville mountains.

The kitchen is stock with basic pots, pan, knives, plates, glasses, ect... We mop and clean between guest but the floors may become dirty from the tracking of feet from pets and guest. We provide a broom and dust pan if you need to tidy up.

The washer is a normal size front loading washer. The gas fireplace is controlled by a thermostat so it will burn as needed. The TV is a 32 in flat screen. There are two major grocery stores with in 10 miles.

The end tables and night stand are made out of massive logs and has caught the attention of a New York designer who has ordered several sets from us for some of her projects in the city.

We are sorry this international guest did not enjoy her stay, but wish she had called us so we could have answered her questions and fixed any problems.

We have built this business from the ground up and are trying to create a special place where our guest can connect or reconnect and build those special memories that change lives!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Feelin Frisky in late Dec 2012 and really enjoyed the cabin and location. You are definitely out in the middle of nowhere but not too far - 20 minutes or so to Biltmore. The amenities in such a small cabin were really a surprise... full size refrigerator, dishwasher (basically a full kitchen), front loading washer/dryer, granite counters, Samsung flat screen tv, Directv, HD DVD player, hot tub, gas grill and gas fireplace. The water is super soft which we loved and the water pressure was great and water was really hot. The cabin was very clean and well maintained but also looked to be less than a year old. Also, a big plus was that the cabin had wi-fi even though there was limited or no cell service in the area.

Now for the things we noticed that made this a 4 star rather than a 5 star which aren't too bad but worth mentioning. #1 We noticed right away that the tv pixelated really bad and seemed to have problems with the satellite dish BUT we figured out that if you turn off the breaker in the panel to the hot tub that it resolved itself. Basically when the hot tub kicked on to heat itself that is when the tv troubles started and that was mostly at night so we just turned off the hot tub and were able to watch tv. #2 The hot tub wasn't warm enough. It was consistently 100 degrees and we tried to heat it up to 103 and it just wouldn't get hotter than 100 degrees. I should note that it was Dec and the lows at night were in the 20's so it just may not have been able to keep up with the cold nights. We got in anyway and my boyfriend thought it was comfortable but I had goose bumps the entire time and finally had to go back inside. #3 There weren't enough towels. There were 4 bath towels, 1 hand towel, 2 wash cloths, 1 dish washing cloth and 1 dish drying towel. We used 1 bath towel as a bath mat so the pine floors wouldn't get messed up from water. I generally use 2 towels (hair and body). We also used the bath towels for the hot tub. Our advice... Bring beach towels for the hot tub so you don't use up the bath towels. Also, there weren't any bath robes to get to and from the outdoor hot tub which would have been a nice touch. We could have washed the towels but didn't want to do that while we were gone all day and didn't want to hear the washer/dryer at night while watching tv or sleeping. #4 We weren't that impressed with the small gas fireplace but we thought it might not be safe to have a wood burning fireplace in a cabin that is all pine :) so we thought it was good enough and we shouldn't be so picky. #5 The air conditioning / heating unit was a small window style unit and turned off and on ALOT and was loud but we got used to it. An upgrade to a ductless Mitsubishi unit would be a great update which it looked like some of the other cabins had. One more thing... The mattress had a bit of dent in the center from guests Feelin Frisky we presume (which we made worse ha!) so a more supportive mattress might be a future investment for this cabin :)

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Feelin Frisky and would stay here again if we took another vacation to Asheville. If you like total seclusion and don't mind a bit of a drive to do things, then I would say this is the place for you especially if you want to bring your dog.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchess County, New York
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Having stayed in the Asheville area many times before we were expecting a similar accomodation at The Cabins of Asheville, Bearadise Ridge. But it wasn't. The Cabins are 20 minutes outside of Ashville and its not convenient to shopping of any kind. Thats a bit to far. The cabin itself was quite dirty even though it had just been cleaned. Some wet towels were still in the washer and the oven was so dirty I couldn't conceive of using it. It hasn't been cleaned in a long time. Nor have the stove top burners or the gas grill. Dust bunnies were scattered throughout the hallway and under all furniture. The fireplace is gas fired. I found that disappointing but it did heat the living room nicely. The hot tub was filthy and in a very awkward location on a narrow deck. We finally found the switch for the deck lighting as we were packing to leave. That should be clearly marked for guests. The hot tub was the only reason we decided on The Cabins of Asheville. So that too was very disappointing. There is a note telling guests not to walk up the private road so as not to disturb neighbors but the "neighbors" walk down, especially with their dogs, making noise and such. Dogs are not leashed so you must be careful were you walk. There is no direction as to what to do with your garbage so we had to leave it in the cabin on exiting. There is no furniture to place your clothes in the Master bedroom. Only one small desk with one drawer not usable, no dresser and few hangers. There is no cell service, no internet access and no phone at all. Overall, it wasn't horrible but it was disappointing. For the money, it was wasn't as advertised. It really needs to be thoroughly cleaned after each guest. Since cleaning is not a necessity at Bearadise Ridge, at the end of the year, the rental fee should be reduced to reflect the "lived in conditions." I feel we paid to much and stayed to long. And its to far outside Asheville.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Overall condition of cabin
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabins0fAsheville, Owner at Cabins of Asheville, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
I'm not really sure how to respond to this review, but to say this traveler checked in early before we had time to clean and did not call to let us know she wasn't satisfied. As a traveler it is very important not to check in early or at least ask for permission. Most rental companies make you come to their office first for this reason. We like to save our guest time by letting them go straight to their cabin. We are very respectful of our guest privacy and if you choose to check in before we have a chance to clean we will not bother you. This review doesn't represent the way we do business.
Thanks,
Joey Farmer
Eric Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Hubby and I stayed at "Feelin' Frisky" cabin. We loved that it was somewhat removed from the other group of cabins. The place felt new and super clean. Light knotty pine interior with all the extras like laundry, beautiful little kitchen with granite counters, good water pressure in the shower. We went into Asheville for a few meals but otherwise ate right at "home." We spent one day at Biltmore but otherwise just cruised around the Parkway. We even saw a little baby black bear which was a real treat. We had a little trouble with t.v. reception but that was because of some stormy weather we had one evening. Other than that, no troubles and it was a wonderful stay. We would definitely return again.

Hints: Don't forget extra towels for hot tubbing, seasonings and condiments for meals (salt and pepper are provided). Also bring along fabric softener if you prefer to use it for any laundry you might do. If you buy groceries, go to the Food Lion in town rather than Bi-Lo. The prices at Bi-Lo were outrageous. Tickets to the Biltmore seem pricey but we spent the whole day there and thought it was worth the price. Have a full tank of gas before cruising the Parkway and don't be afraid to take a side road--some of the "off roads" we took in our FJ had the best scenery, waterfalls and photo ops. Have a wonderful, relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We absolutely loved staying at Jus' Nappin! We didn't want to leave. Our dog got to come with us too, and he thought it was his new home, he loved being out in the woods! It's the perfect location, 15 mins from town and 15 mins from the Blue Ridge Parkway and the best part is it's away from people! We drove in from Blowing Rock, down the BRP and it was beautiful! It was nice to get up in the morning and go enjoy a hike up to Mt. Pisgah, then head into town for dinner. We wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else. We did have some issues with the DirectTV not working fully, but overall, the cabin was wonderful! Fully equipped kitchen, fireplace, hot tub, comfortable bed and couch, and they even had a blow dryer! The cabin is cute, modern, and comfortable. We cannot wait to go back!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabins of Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins of Asheville

Address: 25 Little Stoney Fork Rd, Candler, NC 28715
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Candler
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Candler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Cabins are near Asheville, The Blue Ridge Parkway and The Biltmore House. We would very much enjoy you to come and stay with us. Our private porches are built with the milled wood from the land surrounding the cabins. Our private cabins with hot tubs, fireplaces, gas grills, wireless internet, satellite TV(w/HBO/Cinemax/Showtime/Starz)adjacent to Pisgah National Forest and wonderful views. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabins of Asheville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.