We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a treat for us Northerners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ella's Restaurant

Ella's Restaurant
1148 River Rd Sw, Calabash, NC 28467
(910) 579-6728
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 33 Restaurants in Calabash
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
W.PA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always a treat for us Northerners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have always stopped here on out way to Myrtle Beach. Their lunch specials are just the ticket for an inexpensive, quick and yummy seafood meal. You can choose 2 seafoods with a 2 sides for a reasonable $6.25. This includes the best hushpuppies. Don't forget their sweet tea. This time, we visited Ella's twice in 5 days. The first time was the best food.(perfect!) On the 2nd visit our meal was on the greasy side, but we'll be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    126
    55
    19
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little River, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Service, food atmosphere and price Able to handle a large group of folks seemingly effortless. good value for the price

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ella's is good but there are better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

When to Ella,s for lunch. Good calabash style seafood. Very good service. For my money the Sea Hut right across the street is better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stedman, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great calabash style seafood.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

This is one of our favorite seafood places. The food is always good and I love the hushpuppies. The price is good and I think it is fresher that the buffets.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, PA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Okay for dinner. Not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We went to this restaurant with a large group. The service was great. The food was just average, and anything fried was pretty greasy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ella's Restaurant also viewed

Calabash, North Carolina Coast
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Ella's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ella's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.