We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly Fishing Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calabash Fishing Fleet

Calabash Fishing Fleet
9945 Nance Street, Calabash, NC 28467
(910) 575-0017
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Attractions in Calabash
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Friendly Fishing Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Can't say enough great things about Adam and Tommy. They were personable, helpful, and took the time to teach us as well. They swapped our squid for some bait fish we caught and warned us to call them right away if we got an extra-large tug...which came several times! One time they helped our daughter land a shark. Great time was had by all aboard!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    7
    2
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wayne
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Visiting from New Jersey every year we are well versed in Carolina's deep sea fishing fleets. Every year we typically venture out to sea on hurricane fishing fleet. This year when we called to make our reservation we learned that the night trip was full. We called calabash fishing fleet which we have no experience on. The prices were around the industry standard for a half day trip. The boat caught a decent amount of fishing. Many were undersized, the typical struggle of every party boat trip. Although what we throughly enjoyed from this fleet was the involvement of the crew. The captain was giving advice and encouragement from the upper deck as well as making sure the deck hands were getting to all the people who needed assistance in a timely fashion. The first mate Adam was very helpful throughout our whole trip and befriended many of the customers on board. I would definitely recommend to a friend and we will be returning the calabash fishing fleet next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a wonderful time on the dolphin adventure tour. The staff was very friendly and they guaranteed a dolphin sighting. They had a shrimping boat, which was followed by 1-2 dozen dolphins, and when they brought up the shrimping net, the had other sea creatures which they showed the guest and identified. An enjoyable time all around!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Bottom Fishing Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Went out on the Miss Calabash on June 17 for a 12hr bottom fishing trip. Captain Lee and 1st Mate Chris were exceptional. Capt. kept us on fish till the sharks showed up, he would then promptly moved us to better grounds. Both Capt. and mate could identify all fish caught and rarely had to check sizes for creel limitations. If you didn't need help, they left you alone to fish and occasionally checked on your status. If you were green at fishing, they gladly handled bait and hook duties. Chris answered any questions asked of him and seemed extremely knowledgeable about his business (talked more with Chris than I did with the Capt., sorry Capt. Lee!). Both Capt. and mate were VERY patient while dealing with any mishaps (read: tangled lines, broken rigs, etc.). Both men supported all those fishing exceptionally well and were a joy to be around. It was amusing to see their interest in my 9yr old niece and her "natural ability"! She did catch more than anybody else on the boat! (Yes, I am part of the family trip mentioned by Season C.) Anyone who doesn't want that free trip from the pool, I would happily take it off your hands!!! Would go out with these guys anytime!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Annual trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My dad and I come every year on the navigator and as usually it did not disappoint. Had a great time, caught a lot of sea bass and the pool winning shark.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calabash Fishing Fleet also viewed

Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Calabash Fishing Fleet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calabash Fishing Fleet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.