We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellect food and drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boundary House Restaurant

The Boundary House Restaurant
1045 River Rd, Calabash, NC 28467-2707
910-579-8888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 33 Restaurants in Calabash
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Irving, Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellect food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

You can't go wroing with anything you order: House salad with a Hot Honey Bacon Croissants, Crabcakes, the Ribs, Club sandwich even the Cajin Seafood Pasta dish is super delicious! Its worth the stop over driving to and from Mrytle Beach for lunch or dinner. The wood finishes throughout the restaurant are always polished and gorgeous!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    184
    78
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stopped in for lunch with my friend. We both ordered the sliced prime rib sandwich and shared a bowl of potato soup. Both the soup and the sandwich were excellent. If you like potato soup you need to try their version, it is delicious. The service was very good, I only wish this place was near to where I live.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Great casual dining experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I went to The Boundary House twice on a recent vacation to Sunset Beach, NC. The place was very busy on both occasions, but we didn't have to wait beyond our reservation times. The Boundary House's decor is fitting for a beach resort setting, with beautiful wood panelling and nautical swag. The open dining areas make for a rather boisterous atmosphere to say the least, so it may not be appropriate if you're looking for a quiet intimate evening, but I enjoyed the lively ambience. The service for both visits was friendly and efficient.

The first night I had the fried crab cakes, which were flaky and delicious, along with the cheddar garlic mashed potatoes, which were also very good. The second night I had the ribeye steak, which I found to be a little chewy but had great flavor. I HIGHLY recommend the baked potato soup - it is the BEST potato soup I've ever tasted.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time eating here. We had great food and excellent service. If you enjoy Carolina Roadhouse in Myrtle Beach, you will enjoy this restaurant. They have a very similar menu.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, SC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Beautiful restaurant when you walk in and think you are going to have a very enjoyable dinning experience. The staff was nice but not great and it was so cold that we could not even finish our meal. We ordered drinks and soup (86 outside) to warm up and had to leave before we could order dinner because it was so cold. When I ask if they could keep the cold air from blowing straight down on us nothing was done. Would not give this place another try because there are way to many places much nicer and comfortable to eat at.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boundary House Restaurant also viewed

Calabash, North Carolina Coast
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Boundary House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boundary House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.