We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our expectations!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging
Save
You added Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging to your Saves list
46677 Hwy. 12, PO Box 39, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Buxton
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Met our expectations!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed overnight at this little motel on the Outer Banks. I had called ahead to check for a room for one night, which was available. We did not have an oceanfront room, which was OK, because we got in kind of late. The room (a double) was a little small, but that was fine with us. Be advised that there are no elevators, and we had to haul our luggage up to our room. Simple, clean, with wonderful friendly front desk staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    72
    19
    6
    8
See reviews for
64
77
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in duplex #232. During the second week of May. This is off season which we liked not crowded at all. Almost everything was open.

If you have younger children, I would suggest walking further south on the beach to swim. The water is not as deep and the beach is bigger. We talked to some of the locals and hotel staff, superstorm Sandy, and several Noreasters really did allot of damage to the beach front.

The view is spectacular, you could not ask to be any closer to the ocean. The accommodations, are a little dated more of a cottage feeling than a hotel. Which was exactly what we were looking for. It really fits with whole laid back feeling you get from the minute you get on highway 12.

The duplex was fully stocked from bedding to pots and pans. When we needed clean towels we just went and exchanged them at the laundry exchange.

The kitchen was fully functional, everything was clean and worked just fine.

If you are looking for accommodations where the staff is going to be at your beck and call or all the high tech gadgets this is not the place for you. However if you are looking for a place to relax, relax, and relax this is the place for you.

We found plenty to do on the Island, the lighthouse is well worth the 12 story climb such a view. The museum is interesting and worth a stop in. Plus all the miles of beach to stroll along. One thing you must do is walk the beach at night. Bring a flashlight so you can watch the crabs. Such fun all ages will enjoy this.

This has become our new vacation spot. No complaints about anything. Just a great time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My fiance and his family have stayed here many times in his life and I have been blessed to stay here a few times over the years but none in the past 2 years. I recently have had some pretty bad experiences with hotels so when we booked our two night stay for May 2013 I was a little hesitant. However, I was pleasantly surprised by the cheerful hotel staff, brand new heated pool and hot tub.. and the immaculately clean rooms! All the heating/a/c units have been updated.. the beds were very comfortable/clean linens/very clean bathroom. If you are someone use to a modern 5 star always updated room this is not the place for you. However if you love a clean, comfortable shabby chic room giving you breathtaking views of the ocean and a real feel of Hatteras then please stay here!

Room Tip: Ocean front is more expensive but the view in the morning is worth the extra $$!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I stood here twice (June 2010 and September 2012. Sorry for the late review) and my family and I loved it here. Located in the quiet southern part of the Outer Banks it was quite a relaxing stay. The views of the Atlantic from our 3rd floor, semi private. balcony was awesome to take in with a glass of the delicious local wine. The accommodations were spacious, if a little dated, but the full kitchen was convenient. There was a supermarket in nearby Avon we put to good use as well. The beaches at the hotel and in Cape Hatteras in general are quiet, clean and scenic. The nearby lighthouse is a must do if you are here. Don't expect a luxury resort feel or service however, this is a motel, do your own dishes, cook your own meals etc., but was fine for us. An overall great stay, love Cape Hatteras.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I agree with all of the post about the view of the ocean, great view. The rooms are clean but again they are dated.
If you plan on cooking their kitchen is dated along with everything in it. Cooking would be difficult
The pool is new and nice.
The negatives about it is that the people who run the place aren't very friendly.
I greeted a man behind the counter and ask for extra sheets and he just walked off and didn't say a word and someone else brought me some sheets.
Stairs are a detraction if you have a big family and a bunch of bags prepare for a workout.
This is a good place for fishing but there's really not much of a beach no white sand at all.
It's dangerous for smaller kids because of the lack of beach and its not gradual it gets deep quick.

It's a good place for couples and and fishing but I would not bring my family back
If you go visit Buxton NC Diamond shoals is a good restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LighthouseView, Owner at Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed the great views and the new pool! We are constantly striving to make updates in all of the rooms and properties. We apologize for your awkward interaction with our front desk staff as we most often have smiles on our faces throughout the day. We live at the beach after all! Our top floor, which boasts the best ocean views, does have some steps to reach the level, but the view is worth it! While we understand your safety concern regarding the beach we feel that Buxton is a wonderful family vacation spot and perfectly safe for children. We know our staff and their children enjoy it on their days off! We certainly hope you will give Buxton another chance with your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed at the Lighthouse View during the 3rd week in April. The motel is quite large, but was very quiet at this time of year. The view was spectacular & the room was roomy & clean. It was dated, but had that old-time shore feel. It would be a great place for beach lovers in summer. My only real complaint on the motel is that the balcony is not private, so we didn't feel we could leave the windows wide open at night to listen to the ocean.

Hurricane Sandy did a lot of damage to the area last summer, including the LV's pool. They have rebuilt it, but is no longer between the building & the beach as it was in travelers' pictures on this site.

This far south on OBX, things are much quieter & more spread out, not nearly as touristy as Nags Head & points farther north.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

A friend and myself both booked rooms for a few days in April while we explored and did some photography around the Outer Banks. The price was reasonable for a top-floor oceanfront room and the location is awesome. There is of course some damage from the winter storms to many of the buildings in the area and considerable beach erosion, however repairs are being made as quickly as possible. The swimming pool at the Lighthouse View is completely filled with sand and looked like it had been planted over with grasses to help with erosion. The staff was very accommodating, the rooms clean and comfortable. One drawback for people wanting a room on the upper floors is that you must carry your luggage up the outside wooden stairs. We managed ours, and it's possible that they might have someone to assist if necessary, we didn't inquire.
Parking was no problem, there are a couple of restaurants close by, though may or may not be open, depending on time of year. Other places to eat are within a short driving distance. The Cape Hatteras Lighthouse is about a 5 minute drive from the motel. There is a fish-cleaning station adjacent to the parking lot, and several resident cats to assist in the disposal of fish parts (we counted 11). All in all, a wonderful place to use as a base when exploring Hatteras Island and the Outer Banks! Highly recommend the Lighthouse View Motel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging

Address: 46677 Hwy. 12, PO Box 39, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Buxton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Buxton
#4 Family Hotel in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nowhere will you find a more delightful combination of beautiful vacation rentals seashore wonders, and southern hospitality, all within the shadow of the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse than at Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging. Located on the oceanside village of Buxton, North Carolina, our beachfront campus offers some of the best views on Hatteras Island!Many of our guests have made us their annual retreat of choice because we have everything you could need for a great Hatteras vacation: convenient Cape Hatteras lodging, great in-room amenities, a location that couldn’t be any closer to the beach and sound, exceptional surf fishing, a host of exciting water sports, and, of course, the majestic Cape Hatteras Lighthouse for a fun sightseeing opportunity.We offer a wide variety of Buxton vacation rentals, from motel rooms to efficiencies to beach cottages. Whether you’re planning a quiet getaway for two, a fishing or water sports escape, or a full-blown multi-family and friend Cape Hatteras beach vacation, we can make it all happen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging Hotel Buxton
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging Buxton
Lighthouse View Hotel Buxton
Light House View Motel
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.