We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply a lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on Pamlico Sound

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Save
You added The Inn on Pamlico Sound to your Saves list
49684 Highway 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Spring in Paradise!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Buxton
Cary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply a lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We pulled into the parking lot and the moment we stepped out of the car we were swept away. Our stay here was absolutely perfect. We had a fantastic view, the amenities are endless and the staff is just top notch. If your looking for relaxation or romance this is the place for you. We had dinner outside at the restaurant which included views of the sunset and a fabulous musician named Sean. The food was out of this world. It was so nice having dinner just a few steps away from our room. Breakfast the next morning was just as good as dinner the night before. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

Room Tip: I can't imagine you would be disappointed with any room here....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    88
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
114
545
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brasher Falls, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Simply perfect!!! From the room (Primrose) to the view to the gourmet breakfast, I felt like I was on a second honeymoon when in fact it was just a get-away with my husband. We loved the kayaks that were provided as well as the deck chairs out on the pier. The pool was perfect for an afternoon dip of refreshment. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A pleasant place. Great location. Came just after Arthur, a category 2 hurricane. Really tough logistics to get there; hotel not anticipating people coming. Melissa in guest services nice; very helpful.
Better atmosphere, accommodations than most places on outer banks
Worth visiting

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here and also renewed our vows onsite. I have nothing bad to say about this place. It's exactly what we were looking. Actually, it exceeded our expectations. The location, food, rooms were perfect to us and the views are breathtaking!!!! Our ceremony had to be pushed forward a day due to weather but the staff, including the owner, were amazing and made sure things ran smooth for us. We will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Inn on Pamlico Sound is very good, and its location is lovely, right on the bay and near some great beaches, not at all like the ugly commercial mess at the northern end of the Outer Banks. But given the not insubstantial cost of the lodgings, I have to say we were a bit disappointed.

First of all, the physical plant could use a bit of freshening -- nothing terribly wrong with it, but it seems somewhat worn, with room furnishings and artwork that are a bit, well, tacky. There are nice little touches, such as coffee available every day at 7 am and chocolates and sweets left out in the public spaces, but the execution is inconsistent; for example, despite the promise on the inn's website of "stocked guest beverage refrigerators," these were never restocked at any time during our multi-day stay, and had dwindled to only a few bottles of water by the time we left. The staff members were friendly and accommodating, although, when asked, they seemed somewhat clueless about what there was to do in the vicinity. Since there are not all that many restaurants or even casual joints in the nearby towns, we had dinner more than once at the Inn and the restaurant was quite good but just a tad pricey for what it was (the included breakfasts are also good, but not as spectacular as some of the other reviewers would have you believe).

In summary: we enjoyed ourselves and got a lot of r&r but -- hard to put a finger on exactly why -- there was just something a little bit off. The result: a very pleasant but not transcendent experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBX_Innkeeper, Owner at The Inn on Pamlico Sound, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are thankful that this guest found our soundfront location lovely and enjoyed our amenities like chocolates and early morning coffee. We must, however, respond to a couple of their comments.

Our decorating is done under the auspices of a well respected and reviewed professional. Nothing in the hotel is is need of refreshing; decorating, paint, linens, are all updated each season. All artwork is from local artists, and represents the art of our community. While there is room for variance in taste, no one in our decade plus history has before referred to our decorating or artwork as tacky.

The guest comments that our beverage refrigerators were not restocked during the course of their stay. Beverage refrigerators are in fact stocked at least twice daily, and spot checked regularly. They are often all but emptied after breakfast as guests leave for a day at the beach, then quickly restocked. Any representation that beverage refrigerators were not restocked during a multi day stay is literally not possible.

Similarly, the statement that there are few restaurants, even casual ones, in our and nearby villages can be empirically dismissed by a quick search of Buxton restaurants on this review site. Within three miles of the Inn are Pop's Raw Bar, The Sandbar, The Fish House, The Captain's Table, Rusty's Surf and Turf, Lighthouse Sport's Bar, Orange Blossom Bakery, Buxton Munch Company, Fattys, Diamond Shoals Restaurant and Sushi Bar, Shipwreck Grill, and the list just in Buxton Village goes on. There are six additional villages on the island. Our front desk maintains a list of restaurants to which they are trained to refer guests seeking a dining experience more casual than our top ranked restaurant, a list featured on our website. Both the plethora of restaurants and our established practice to refer guests to a published list of establishments make validating this reviewer's comments a challenge.

We are glad the guest found our Cafe Pamlico restaurant quite enjoyable. We must, however, question their observation that they thought our pricing somewhat expensive. Our menu pricing is comparable to the handful of restaurants on the Outer Banks and on Hatteras Island in our peer group in terms of rankings and quality.

A prime waterfront location, first class facilities, the best ingredients, and exceptional service, come at a higher real estate and staffing cost than lesser locations, facilities, and service. Our menu pricing is a function of the costs of our prime waterfront location, first class facility, and trained, experienced, expensive staff combined with a short season.

We are glad for their closing comment that they enjoyed their experience and got a lot of good rest and relaxation. In light of the empirically demonstrable errors in some of their statements, perhaps the observation that they could not quite put their finger on why they felt something a bit off had more to do with the experience they were seeking than the experience they had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

A second stay at the Inn proved to be just as good as the first. My now husband and I stayed at the Inn in October of 2012, right before Hurricane Sandy hit and had to shorten our stay as a result. We got engaged in Hatteras during that stay and were treated so nicely and had a great stay.
For our first wedding anniversary we chose to celebrate once again at the Inn, this time staying in the Primrose room which had a beautiful view and all the amenities needed.
We were lucky to be checked in by Steven who is always so friendly and pleasant to talk too, he made us feel very welcome once again.
As always the food at Cafe Pamlico is a must, my husband and I dined twice there during our stay, our choices included the filet mignon and shrimp orienchette specials which were top-notch along with great desserts. Even diners around us said that their meals were some of the best had, proving how great it is. The food does not disappoint and the staff is very friendly and knowledgable.
I recommended very highly staying at the Inn after our first experience and will say the same now. Even during the more crowded beginning of summer, while the Inn had no vacancies, it still felt like a very personal experience having the flexibility to swim in the pool area, sit on and fish off of the dock, kayak on the sound, and enjoy the beautiful grounds around the Inn.
If you are looking for a comfortable place to stay with beautiful views and top-notch service, The Inn on Pamlico Sound is your choice. Don't look any further!

Room Tip: Primrose has beautiful views, however if you'd like your own balcony section, choose a room whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Inn on Pamlico Sound was our chosen wedding venue for June 1, 2014. Gina Williams coordinated everything - and it was an event that felt like a wonderful dream. When we returned to our room after all the wedding guests had gone, the bed was strewn with rose petals - and the pillows proclaimed our "happily ever after"! Yes - this is truly a wonderful place to get married. And the breakfast menu - hot meal cooked to order and served in the dining room - is provided with every room. We stayed several times before our wedding, and we were never disappointed. Thank you so much - Gina, Steve, and the staff at the Inn on Pamlico Sound!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn on Pamlico Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Pamlico Sound

Address: 49684 Highway 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Buxton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casually elegant waterfront boutique hotel on the Pamlico Sound. Accommodations range from soundfront queens to premium kings with private decks, and spa tubs. Amenities include gourmet three course breakfast, fresh baked goods, kayaks, bicycles, pool, home theater, library, 1,700 DVDs, complementary beverages and snacks, beach chairs, beach towels, and high speed internet. Gourmet waterfront fine dining; fresh, organic and local. Weddings and catering. Our goal is to provide the experience of an honored guest in our casually elegant hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On Pamlico Sound Hotel Buxton
The Inn On Pamlico Sound Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on Pamlico Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.