We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for a wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on Pamlico Sound

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Save
You added The Inn on Pamlico Sound to your Saves list
49684 Highway 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Spring in Paradise!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Buxton
Holly Springs, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Best place for a wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our daughter had her wedding here and we couldn't of pick a better place. Wedding was perfect and the service was perfect also. Jennifer helped out with every last detail.
Two of the best bartenders Autumn and Alisha made the parties a blast.

Room Tip: So relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    88
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
114
543
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I had the most amazing dinner!! Food was fantastic, ambiance like no other right on the water. Service was great! It was the perfect spot to celebrate our anniversary! The owner was very sweet. We had a wonderful evening! We will definitely be back again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Inn for the first time for our 30th wedding anniversary. I selected the Inn based on the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, and it was close to the planned kite boarding lessons that were to be a surprise for my wife. As it turned out, the lessons were rained out, and the Inn became the real surprise for us. We were completely won over by the staff, the romantic atmosphere, our beautiful view of the sound, kayaking and paddleboarding, the incredible movie collection, breakfasts and dinners in the Cafe, and by all of the small details that are attended to that make staying at the Inn a delightful experience. The Inn on Pamlico Sound has become the new standard by which all of our hotel stays will now be compared!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is the perfect spot! Food was amazing! - Overlooking Pamlico Sound at Sunset! I was pleasantly surprised and only disappointed that I could not come back because reservations were booked the last few days we were in Buxton.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Wow. Always nice coming to the inn on pamlico. Quiet. Peaceful. Relaxing. Conveniently located near beaches. Lots of fun activities at the inn. Swimming, paddle boarding, kayaking, movies, with beautiful views of sunrises and beautiful sunsets! Breakfasts like gramma! Yummy homemade muffins...entrees always delicious! Real R& R!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We began our experience with the IOPS (Inn on Pamlico Sound) in Sept 2012. We were so lucky to stop in to see the Inn and meet Steve. Steve showed around the property and answered our every question. As he says "We have never had a bad wedding at the Inn". Our was no exception and the IOPS exceeded our every expectation.

The Wedding Weekend model was nothing short of perfect. To be able to have the property to ourselves for three days turned out to be the most memorable experience. Jennifer is a very professional and helpful wedding coordinator. Living 4 hours away and only visiting the IOPS once in September we made all our arrangements via email or phone. We were never told "No".

I am believer in being transparent. Their model for a wedding weekend gives you complete transparency. Once you make a fully refundable deposit Jennifer will send you their preferred vendor list and an Excel spreadsheet which gives you a budget to work from. We came in way under budget for our event. Steve said it would happen and for us, it did.

My wife and her family arrived at the Inn on Tuesday to enjoy the property and sight see with some close family members. They ate dinner at the Inn on Tuesday evening and had an unbelievable meal. The IOPS even cooked several artichokes that they mistakenly packed in their cooler. The IOPS accommodated their every need.

I arrived the following day with my vintage Airstream which they allowed me to keep on the property so our small four legged son could be with us on our big day. Pets are not allowed in the rooms, but our little Guy enjoyed the grounds with our guests. Yes, again the IOPS accommodated our every need. Steve was so helpful when I arrived to get us settled in and answer any question. He truly has a great spirit.

Breakfast the following day was just awesome. The fruit parfait with granola was so fresh and tasty. Thursday evening we had several out of town guest arrive. We wanted to provide an informal meal for everyone to enjoy. The IOPS set up a few tables and we ordered pizzas and 5 lbs of peel and eat shrimp. Our guests had so much fun and once again the IOPS exceeded our every need.

We enjoyed a private rehearsal dinner under the pavilion. Forrest and his staff created a personalized menu for the evening. The food is AMAZING! The evening was so much fun as we all danced and enjoyed the property throughout the evening.

Saturday we enjoyed another amazing breakfast. I remained so relaxed throughout the day and was in the pool two hours before we were married. NO STRESS!

The wedding service was held at Our Lady of Seas Catholic Church. Such a special place should you choose to marry in a church. After photos we arrived to our guest enjoying what they still say were amazing appetizers. A coworker of mine was raving about them yesterday when I saw him. Again, Forrest and his staff...WOW!

We had another personalized menu for dinner. We actually never picked out what our guests were going to eat for dinner, rather we asked Forrest to prepare several fish dishes, a couple beef/chicken and one veggie dish for a couple guests that required a special dish. The food...yes, amazing!

We used one of the IOPS preferred vendors, Hatteras Cakes for our dessert. Everyone loved the cup cakes we had. Using their preferred vendor list is nice because the IOPS has a relationship with these companies and will stand behind their trade.

We chose DJ Hambone to do our music. While he did a good job at dinner, he was our only regret when it came to our day. He is below average for the IOPS. No fault of the Inn.

Jennifer and her staff set up a cigar bar by the pool for us. They even brought out chocolate covered strawberries later in the evening which were so amazing.

I know I am forgetting many other things that the IOPS did for us to make our wedding weekend stress free and memorable. We will return again. We tell so many people about our experience. In fact, in the past week we met a few people recently who ate at the IOPS and could stop raving about it either.

If you are in search of an awesome beach venue which allows your guests to enjoy their company for a long weekend getaway the IOPS will exceed your every expectation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

When booking our destination wedding in the Outer Banks, I had to heavily rely on reviews, pictures and word of mouth. After a month of searching and making calls, we decided on the Inn on Pamlico Sound. From the initial contact with Steve, the Inn's owner, to speaking with Jennifer and Chef Forrest, we felt an immediate connection and at ease. Once we arrived at the Inn on June 20, 2013 we were overjoyed that the Inn was better and prettier than expected or any pictures we'd seen. Nothing can quite capture the charm, serenity or sense of comfort you'll feel while staying at the Inn. The staff are literally the perfect hosts. Every question, need, concern about our wedding and stay there was put to ease. We had originally chose Cafe Pamlico, their restaurant for just our catering for our wedding, but after speaking with the team there, we decided to have our whole wedding, the catering and our wedding weekend stay there. We could not have made a more perfect decision. Most all of our guests remarked on how they had wished they were staying there too. We'll be back many times and couldn't recommend The Inn on Pamlico Sound any higher. From beginning to end and every detail in between, they were perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn on Pamlico Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Pamlico Sound

Address: 49684 Highway 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buxton
#1 Family Hotel in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casually elegant waterfront boutique hotel on the Pamlico Sound. Accommodations range from soundfront queens to premium kings with private decks, and spa tubs. Amenities include gourmet three course breakfast, fresh baked goods, kayaks, bicycles, pool, home theater, library, 1,700 DVDs, complementary beverages and snacks, beach chairs, beach towels, and high speed internet. Gourmet waterfront fine dining; fresh, organic and local. Weddings and catering. Our goal is to provide the experience of an honored guest in our casually elegant hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On Pamlico Sound Hotel Buxton
The Inn On Pamlico Sound Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on Pamlico Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.