We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll Be Back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on Pamlico Sound

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
49684 Highway 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Buxton
Amissville, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
“We'll Be Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Hotel staff was amazing and super friendly - Tasha greeted us with a smile and a tour. Kyle was great to always wiling to help and Jennifer was the most amazing wedding coordinator imaginable. The rooms were comfortable, fresh and clean. Savina was very attentive to our needs and we were constantly being waited on. FANTASTIC. We will be back!

Room Tip: When you make your reservation- mention the kind of room you would like and they will direct you. Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    651
    78
    11
    11
    4
See reviews for
103
484
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I booked a 3 night stay.First two nights were fine,enjoyed quiet evenings on the Sound,Great food and service.Then it all went bad ,really bad.Had a large group come in.Parents had no control over the kids[ages 13 to 20,approx.] Running around until 3:30 a.m. kicking walls ,yelling,kicking our door.Even 1 adult was involved in this.This is fun when you are a college kid,but at 56 years old we didn't think it was to funny ,at 270$ a day we hoped for more.So after 2 hours sleep we loaded up and headed for home.I suggest if you go there ,check to see what they have going on.We wont be going back..
B.G.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBX_Innkeeper, Owner at The Inn on Pamlico Sound, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
We understand and empathize with the difficulty this guest experienced. While the vast majority of our guests come for a laid back high end beach experience, we get an occasional first time guest who's idea of a beach vacation is somewhat more rambunctious. While such visitors are rare at our establishment, we have no way of knowing if one guest's experience is effecting the experience of other guests unless we are informed of it.

A family booked several rooms in one of our buildings, and were apparently loud enough into the night that they disturbed the sleep of others. Some guests laughed it off. This reviewer was understandably concerned and disturbed. Unfortunately, rather than inform us in real time so we could address the issue, they chose to make the disturbance known afterward in a review.

There is a staff member at our front desk from 8AM until 10PM. After 10PM, there is a manager on 24 hour call on our facility, and a phone at our front desk with clear instructions on accessing the on call manager. Had this reviewer simply notified the manager on call, we would have gladly intervened and ended the disturbance.

We understand that one party of guests interfered with the enjoyment of another party, and we empathize with the reviewer that their rest was disturbed. Had they informed us, we would have accepted responsibility to resolve the issue with the guest(s) causing the disturbance. As they chose not to inform us that the actions of another guest was effecting their rest, it is difficult for us to determine how this reviewer holds us accountable.

Steve Nelson
CEO and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I just wanted to say we had the best time at the inn for my daughter's wedding. The staff provided excellent service for a stress free wedding weekend. Jennifer our coordinator was very attentive and accommodating. We provided some decorations, they did all the work adding some decorations they already had on hand. The food was outstanding for both the rehearsal night dinner and the reception. Ian the bartender was very personable and gave us great service. The entire staff made the weekend easy. The cleaning staff kept the rooms pristine and were very friendly. This was the nicest kept hotel/inn I have ever stayed in. I look forward to staying here again. Thank you all so much for an awesome, once in a lifetime experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful honeymoon to the Outerbanks. We decided to splurge on the Inn for our special week; it was well worth it!

The Inn had free use of bikes, kayaks, a canoe, and paddle boards. There were over 1800 DVDs that guests can borrow for the night. And delicious cookies appear around 4 each afternoon! The complimentary breakfast was excellent as well. All of the staff we engaged with were friendly and helpful.

We stayed in the Lily room, which was great. It was a soundfront King room. We enjoyed sitting in the rockers on the patio each evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was our first trip to the Banks and we were not disappointed with this lovely hotel that has its own special niche. The rooms are individual and Magnolia has a fantastic view of Pamlico Sound with superb sunsets from the Deck. We found all the staff to be so warm and welcoming and we really appreciated all the extras like the fridge full of drinks, snacks in the room,cookies for guests in the afternoon, towels for the beach and beach chairs. All of the staff were great and we really enjoyed dinners at the restaurant.
Ian in the bar is a hidden gem with lots of local information, but it would be unfair to leave any staff member out as they all made our stay wonderful.
Left a great impression and we will be telling all our friends to pay a visit
Steve & Sue Gibbons (Bermuda)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, N.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We took a tour of the OBX as a celebration of our 30th wedding anniversary. Our last two nights we stayed at this idyllic inn. We were in the Jasmine room, which was quite roomy and comfortable. Pretty art on the walls! A huge whirlpool tub was the perfect late afternoon respite, and the bath products are sublime -- honey/lemon, I think! But the porch/deck was the best part. The view, the breeze, and the sunsets made for some memorable mornings and evenings!
The staff were beyond helpful and by our last day they felt like friends you'd like to have over for a glass of wine!
Eating at the "Cafe Pamlico" should be placed on one of those "1,000 things to do before..." lists. We had the shrimp and grits (being from NC I've eaten my share -- these were the best ever! -- and the scallops and risotto. This plate was simply one of the best meals that I have ever had prepared. It made the review title, after all!
Wonderful and gracious -- the Inn said "Happy 30th" to us from the bottom of its heart!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were heading to Virginia Beach from North Carolina and decided to hit the Outer Banks on the way. We didn't realize that the two ferries lasted 4.5 hours long and so we were scrambling to find a place to stay and had to cancel our reservation for VA. The only place with vacancies was this place. I normally don't write reviews felt compelled to here.

First, being elderly we had a hard time getting our bags up the stairs and through the door that pulled out instead of pushed in so got banged up just getting into the room. The room was very small for the price and seemed very cold. I was glad I brought my coat for the ferries as I had to wear it to bed to keep warm. I could find the temperature control. There were a few teenagers who offered us a beer while passing them on the patio on the way up with our luggage. They ended up partying until 2 am and couldn't it was noisy until then.

We were going to use their canoe the next day but the teenagers beat us to it and so that was disappointing so we left. When we ended up in Virginia Beach at our Hotel we were so happy to have a huge room to move around in with a thermastat and a view of the ocean Wished we would have skipped the Outer Banks as we wasted a whole day and night on ferries and in a cold noisy small room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn on Pamlico Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Pamlico Sound

Also Known As:
The Inn On Pamlico Sound Hotel Buxton
The Inn On Pamlico Sound Hotel
The Inn On Pamlico Sound Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton
Address: 49684 Highway 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casually elegant waterfront boutique hotel on the Pamlico Sound. Accommodations range from soundfront queens to premium kings with private decks, and spa tubs. Amenities include gourmet three course breakfast, fresh baked goods, kayaks, bicycles, pool, home theater, library, 1,700 DVDs, complementary beverages and snacks, beach chairs, beach towels, and high speed internet. Gourmet waterfront fine dining; fresh, organic and local. Weddings and catering. Our goal is to provide the experience of an honored guest in our casually elegant hotel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on Pamlico Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Inn on Pamlico Sound to your Saves list