We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel in the Outer Banks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on Pamlico Sound

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Save
You added The Inn on Pamlico Sound to your Saves list
49684 Highway 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter in Paradise!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Buxton
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
“Awesome hotel in the Outer Banks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and loved it. The Inn is located in Buxton, just a few miles away from the Cape Hatteras lighthouse. We had our own balcony overlooking the Pamlico Sound and got an amazing view of the sunset every day. The Inn offers lots of great complimentary amenities, such as fresh-baked cookies in the afternoon, a fridge stocked with water and sodas, and free use of bikes, kayaks, and paddleboards. They even have an extensive DVD collection so that you can watch movies on days when you're rained out. The rooms were clean, and though the temperature in the room was a bit cold, the bed was extremely comfortable, and we slept well every night we were there. The free breakfast is amazing (though make sure to get there early, as some of their menu items sell out quickly)! The only downside is that the Inn is a little bit on the pricey side, though worth every penny. We will be back!

Room Tip: Jasmine room has the largest balcony and thus offers the best view of the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    88
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
114
543
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great place to stay!!! The staff consistently went out of the way to make sure we were happy. We enjoyed the use of the dvd collection on a day of poor weather. Porch overlooking the sound. Loved the snacks and cookies in the afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I attended a wedding in Hatteras and stayed two nights at the Inn on Pamlico Sound. It was wonderful. We were greatly impressed with all the little extras (at no additional charge) in this day of paying for a seat on an airline. The room was very large with a beautiful porch overlooking the Sound. It was quiet, very clean and the staff was outstanding. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was the Oleander but from what I saw, they were all very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent 5 wonderful days at the Inn in April. It was one of the most relaxing vacations we've ever experienced. We loved having our own deck with a view of the Sound and beautiful sunsets. The staff was amazing and we really appreciated the extra touches of fresh cookies, snacks and beverages. We can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: We liked our Hyacinth room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Cute and quaint B&B on the sound side of Buxton. Arrived to a beautiful room (Oleander) for a wedding. Very lovely staff, clean rooms, great facilities. Amazing wedding and attention to detail. Jennifer, the wedding coordinator on staff was terrific and left no detail untouched. Refridgerator stocked with water and sodas daily for guest consumption. Lovely snack baskets in every room. The food in the restaurant was amazing too; we dined on steak and tuna which was prepared beautifully. The one thing I would caution is if you are traveling with small children, this may not be the place for you. The rooms are close together with the main doors opening into a common family room area and noise can be a factor, especially from slamming doors or voices. I think it might be a really good idea for area rugs to be put in the rooms on the second floor as all the floors are hardwood and you can hear everything from someone walking around to a conversation being held. But that would be the only downside.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have less foot traffic noise. Rooms above the bar and main dining room can be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Arrived to find a beautiful room (Sea Oats) with a private balcony waiting for us. We spent most of our days on the go, checking out all the attractions but came home in time for the beautiful sunset that we watched from our porch. The goodies that are left for you in the room along with the candies and cookies in the lobby were wonderful while on the run. Anything that we asked for or about, the staff was more than willing to help. I also very much enjoyed the coffee provided in the hallway in the morning. I was up early so the fact that all I had to do was open my bedroom door to find a fresh pot of coffee each morning for all the guests was wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here recently on our vacation to the Outer Banks. This Inn is situated toward the end of the Islands and hence very convenient to Ocracoke Island and the national park.
Rooms: Every room has a view of the ocean and a small semi-private deck to enjoy it from. We had a room near the restaurant on the ground floor, second from the entrance to the bar. The room was nice, redone and very clean. However, we felt that the room was a bit small and had too much furniture. The main complaint was the thinness of the walls. You can hear everything through them, and as we were close to the coffee station outside it got loud occasionally when guests entered and left the dining room. This was our only complaint. I would suggest that you book a rook early and on the second floor to avoid this. The beds were comfortable. The cleaning staff did a great job everyday. The baths were well lit, clean and nice. Occasionally water pressure can be an issue.
Food: See separate review for dinner. Breakfasts were large and excellent. The menu was the same for the three days we were there, but we did not mind. The food was always cooked to order and had a lot of flavor. You get three excellent courses for breakfast, better than most places. They also have fresh baked cookies every evening and coffee and tea all day. There is a refrigerator outside for guest use, and it is filled with water and sodas that are complimentary.
Service: The Inn has excellent service across all the staff. The restaurant staff never say no, on most days I wanted a smaller and simpler breakfast, or a half order of the standard breakfast and they always made it happen. My wife asked for hot coffee with hot milk on the first morning and they remembered this every morning for our stay. The front desk has lots of suggestions for activities and dining.

Overall, cannot wait to go back in the summer so we can use th beach, pool and the outdoor seating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn on Pamlico Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Pamlico Sound

Address: 49684 Highway 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Buxton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casually elegant waterfront boutique hotel on the Pamlico Sound. Accommodations range from soundfront queens to premium kings with private decks, and spa tubs. Amenities include gourmet three course breakfast, fresh baked goods, kayaks, bicycles, pool, home theater, library, 1,700 DVDs, complementary beverages and snacks, beach chairs, beach towels, and high speed internet. Gourmet waterfront fine dining; fresh, organic and local. Weddings and catering. Our goal is to provide the experience of an honored guest in our casually elegant hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On Pamlico Sound Hotel Buxton
The Inn On Pamlico Sound Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on Pamlico Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.