We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded every expectation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on Pamlico Sound

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn on Pamlico Sound to your Saves list
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   49684 Highway 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
It's Still Summer Here!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“exceeded every expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

best service ,attentive staff meet every need we had ,there were a lot of little details and amenities that you do not recieve in other places ,views from the bedroom was great ,spent a lot of time just sitting on the deck relaxing ,rooms were more like a real bedroom at home than a hotel ,we have alresdy planned next years stay ...

Room Tip: the oleander
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    99
    14
    11
    5
See reviews for
127
603
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Inn on Pamlico Sound was truly a great place to stay. The Sunflower Room was beautiful and very clean. The staff put out cookies every afternoon and the refrigerator was amply stocked with water and sodas. The only drawback was that there was no ice in the freezer and no glasses for us to use so we had to ask the bar staff for these. No big deal just make sure you do it before they close at 10pm.

The Inn has a Theater Room, which we used and was AWESOME, and the restaurant food was delicious...but be prepared to spend $100 for two.

I would have rated the Inn a 5 if it hadn't been for the early close time of the bar and the inconvenience of the glassware and ice. But, we will definitely be staying again...only this time a little later in the season so the weather will be a bit nicer.

Room Tip: We arranged an early check-in and I had a chance to look in the other rooms. Our room, Sunflower, ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBX_Innkeeper, Owner at The Inn on Pamlico Sound, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We're so glad for this guest's overall experience, and truly apologize for the lack of ice in the common space guest refrigerator in our East building. The guest ice maker in this area went out of commission a day or two before this guest's stay. The replacement was ordered but had not yet arrived in time for their visit. As indicated, we were supplying ice for guests in our East building from our bar during their visit. The ice maker was replaced within a few days of their stay.

Steve Nelson
CEO and General Manager
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Super amenities, beautiful spacious rooms, comfortable beds, super clean, flat screen TV's, movie theater if wanted, magnificent views, military friendly, wonderful staff and the food was very good. If you are in this area, and this is your price range, this is THE place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Sound. Your preference if you like upper or lower rooms. All are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We selected this place based on the reviews available in TripAdvisor and we loved it. We stayed in their Jasmine room which has their bigegst balcony to have a great view of sound. This room also has private big jacuzzi. Rooms are big and clean. They have 14 seat home theater and also, a collection of around 1800 DVDs. They provide kayak, canoe, beach accessories etc. We loved canoeing on the sound which was so peaceful. Their breakfast is amazing. Staff is very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Try inn Kayak at Pamlico Sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon this past week and had a wonderful time. The Inn is at a beautiful soundside location. Our room had amazing soundside views. The staff was very very friendly and helpful. They had excellent suggestions for places to visit. The chef at the restaurant is fantastic-- loved the food-- breakfast comes with staying at the Inn and we had dinner there one evening. We highly recommend the Inn. The location was perfect for accessing the ferry to Ocracroke, visiting the Hatteras Lighthouse, Hatteras seashore, Pea Island, etc. Don't miss the Old Gray House-- a delightful shop in Bruxton. We intend to return often.

Room Tip: We loved the soundside view room that we stayed in.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n'ton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'll start by saying I had made a small error with our booking which meant we arrived one night early - the hotel was booked up but the team helpfully found us another location nearby and all in all made me feel less foolish about my mistake and this set the tone for our stay proper with excellent service and personal touches like a guided tour around the property on check in (and freshly baked cookies) . eventually we spent 2 nights here in the Perriwinkle room at the end of March and loved our stay. The Inn itself is a little out of town so be prepared to drive if you want dinners away from the Inn, although once you see the location directly on the Sound you may not want to think about leaving! It was still slightly cool when we were there so we did not use the pool although we did sit outside with books enjoying the view.

Our room was very light and pretty with 2 huge windows which faced west and south giving great views over the water and dock as the sun set. The bathroom was well equipped although the bath could have been slightly bigger. Room came with big fluffy dressing gowns and a well stocked complementary snack box which we thought was a nice touch. Some reviews have mentioned that the rooms are very noisy but we did not find this at all. Walking down the landing you could here other rooms TVs but not once in our room at all. Our TV also had an integrated DVD player which allowed us to take advantage of one of the DVDs in the hotels 1800 strong collection. There was also a small cinema room we could have used but didn't.

Breakfast was included and was good on both mornings and served in the restaurant which again takes advantage of the wonderful views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had an amazing trip to the Inn at Pamlico Sound! The Inn provided the ultimate relaxing weekend. The food was amazing, the Inn was clean and well kept, the rooms were spacious and welcoming, and the staff was so friendly and kind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
2.7 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
2.9 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 7 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 7 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Falcon Motel
Falcon Motel
#7 of 7 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
22.4 mi away
Cape Hatteras KOA
Cape Hatteras KOA
#1 of 5 in Rodanthe
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Burrus House Inn
The Burrus House Inn
#4 of 10 in Manteo
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Pamlico Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Pamlico Sound

Address: 49684 Highway 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn on Pamlico Sound 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casually elegant waterfront boutique hotel on the Pamlico Sound. Accommodations range from soundfront queens to premium kings with private decks, and spa tubs. Amenities include gourmet three course breakfast, fresh baked goods, kayaks, bicycles, pool, home theater, library, 1,700 DVDs, complementary beverages and snacks, beach chairs, beach towels, and high speed internet. Gourmet waterfront fine dining; fresh, organic and local. Weddings and catering. Our goal is to provide the experience of an honored guest in our casually elegant hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn on Pamlico Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Pamlico Sound Hotel Buxton
The Inn On Pamlico Sound Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on Pamlico Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.