We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on the Banks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on Pamlico Sound

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Save
You added The Inn on Pamlico Sound to your Saves list
49684 Highway 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Spring in Paradise!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Villages, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best on the Banks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for only one night, as we were working our way down the Outer Banks day by day, but we look forward to a return visit sometime soon. The staff is friendly and welcoming, the accommodations were excellent and the food was superb. We will have to come back again when the restaurant is open for dinner.

Room Tip: Call them and discuss the options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    90
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
114
554
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morehead City, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

First visit 2 years ago was spectacular -- 2nd visit even better. Great B & B with lots of snack/goodies (now in each individual room) at arrival to make that "we will make the last 50-60 miles without stopping for food" more bearable. Rooms are comfortably sized (we were in "Camellia" this time which had a separate little reading area) and the bed was great. This particular room didn't have the spectacular sound view but it did have a Jacuzzi tub and the view of the sound from the private porch was impressive. The Inn boasts a private (16 seat) theater so you can get comfortable on an inclimate day and catch up with a movie you might have missed. There are several good restaurants within 15-20 minutes (in addition to the Inn's own "Cafe Pamlico") even in the "off"-season. The breakfasts were a little bit less creative than when we were there last, but were excellent nevertheless. Great place to celebrate a birthday, an anniversary or nothing in particular. We will be back again!!

Room Tip: Sound-side the 1st time, if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was the first stop on my wife and I's 10th anniversary trip. I planned everything and all she had to do was hop in the car and ride. It worked out perfectly, and the Inn was more than amazing to us. We had what I feel is the best room on the property, the Jasmine room, and it was the most beautiful place we have ever stayed. Huge private balcony, king sleigh bed, and the decor was just perfect for a coastal inn. Snacks were provided in the room, as well as a fully stocked refrigerator full of all kinds of canned beverages for the taking. There wasn't one single thing I would change about this place, it was perfect in a perfect location and we can't wait to get back to OBX to stay there again. After OBX we headed off to Charleston and then Savannah, so reviews for the whole trip are on the way. Look for my review of the restaurant for what has to be one of the best meals of my entire life!

Room Tip: Just pick the Jasmine room, it is amazing and by far the best on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

In March 2013 I had the opportunity to visit NC for my first time and stayed at The Inn on Pamlico Sound. I realized I was visiting off season & was astonished on how much the town had to offer even beyond the majestic outdoor environment. My end to end experience at the Inn was wonderful. The room was beautiful and had everything you needed and more. The entire property was pristine. Typically, I stay at high end luxury hotels and was pleasantly surprised on how the Inn matched and actually exceeded other accommodations from the room to the food. Highly recommend to even the most snobby traveler. Beth from CT

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had the "lily" room and it was very nice and spacious. The bed was a little too firm for our liking but I think all hotels are like that. There was also no dresser to put our clothes but the room itself was very nice. I did not like that we could easily hear what our neighbors said. But they're set up is very nice. And the atmosphere was very plesent. They gave you everything you could possibly need while on vaca there. They had fresh cookies every morning which were amazing. We went there in the off season and they're wasnt much to do but we still had lots of fun watching movies that the hotel provided. Overall it's an extremely nice inn and I had a very good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have a place in the area and have dined here many times. Being able to stay here was a dream come true. We stayed in the Magnolia Room and the view was fabulous. Friday night was clear and the stars were brilliant. We watched the moon set, which was red! We had never seen that before. Since there was interesting weather, the sound was interesting to see how high it came up due to wind. The breakfast was wonderful, just as the dinners had always been for us. We will be back for dinner, but now look forward to staying and being spoiled!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Inn on Pamlico Sound is an upscale style place, with superb food, rooms, environment, and most of all service. My wife and I came down during the off season as we were moving to the area. We needed a place to stay for a few days until our stuff arrived. Even though they were closing for the season, they stayed open for another day just for us. Talk about service! I have never seen anything like this, and we are so thankful for the help. I highly recommend them to anyone who is planning on staying in the area. It's got everything you need, and the staff is as nice as it gets.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn on Pamlico Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Pamlico Sound

Address: 49684 Highway 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Buxton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casually elegant waterfront boutique hotel on the Pamlico Sound. Accommodations range from soundfront queens to premium kings with private decks, and spa tubs. Amenities include gourmet three course breakfast, fresh baked goods, kayaks, bicycles, pool, home theater, library, 1,700 DVDs, complementary beverages and snacks, beach chairs, beach towels, and high speed internet. Gourmet waterfront fine dining; fresh, organic and local. Weddings and catering. Our goal is to provide the experience of an honored guest in our casually elegant hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On Pamlico Sound Hotel Buxton
The Inn On Pamlico Sound Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on Pamlico Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.