We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUDE Staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Pines Motel

Save Saved
You added Cape Pines Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cape Pines Motel
47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Buxton
Raleigh NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“RUDE Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

I had booked a room for a few days at the Cape Pines Motel but could not make my reservation due to family obligation. I thought I had cancelled the reservation but to my surprise I got a call at 10:30 at night from the motel telling me that I was going to be charged a night for not cancelling. I understand policies but I also understand you can bend the rules. Keep in mind it was out of season when I booked the room. I asked not to be charged and was told “sorry I can’t do that” then hung up on. For me that’s when it turned. When you count on word of mouth business you don’t hang up on potential customers. I called back to explain my situation and wanted to work out a deal on the cancellation charge. I was told NO and AGAIN hung up on. I felt I was polite and wanted them to know I was aware of a cancellation policy but I felt he could have waived it or worked with me on it, it wasn’t even season. I’m not even upset about the cancellation fee; I’m upset that I was hung up on. Beware if you stay here that you might get a little attitude from the staff. Since this all went down I have made it to Buxton and stayed on the beach at the most wonderful motel. “OUTER BANKS MOTEL” I would highly recommend this place because of a few reasons. It’s on the beach, very clean, and most of all, a great staff.

Stayed April 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    47
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
52
71
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

Extremely clean and well maintained Motel. Two minutes from Lighthouse and Beach. Excellent amenities! Across from Supermarket. Very, very clean and comfortable. The owners are visible and very accomodating. They love Dogs! They love their Motel! I would go back again and again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester,sc
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

My wife and I exchanged our usual sc beach destination for the obx in 2003. Ocracoke is not a secret anymore. The northern end of obx is too stuffy. Hatteras Island is perfect. A lot of the properties in buxton area are D- in service and C- in cleanlinesss. We were tolerating these grades in exchange for oceanfront location. All of a sudden price gouging started,especially on Memorial Day time frame. We waited until two weeks before Memorial Day to try and book a slot in Buxton at a better price. We selected Cape Pines Motel on Trip Advisor rating. I called Angie several times to try and put together Memorial Day weekend slot with pet. We booked two different rooms to make it happen. One of the rooms was suite #12.I would guess a 800-900 sf. All rooms were 5star clean Service to match. Gave price concessions for suite without our asking.The location is not oceanfront or oceanside. The bathroom was somewhat cramped in one room. On a scale of 1-10. A solid 8.5. p.s.- We're booked for this year 2009. We are both in our mid 50's with a schnoodle dog.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

We stayed in a one bedroom suite at the Cape Pines motel (with our dog).

We found front desk personnel to be friendly. It was really cold and the suite's heaters were already humming by the time we got to the suite. We had a brand new fridge and microwave. The suite was very clean. Yes, the walls are thin and we could hear our neighbor's TV a bit, but with the air conditioner/heater on, you really couldn't hear much.

The Cape Pines is an older motel, so I wasn't surprised that the walls were a bit thin. But it has a lot of charm and you can walk to the local restaurants.

  • Liked — In cold weather, it was really cozy with wood floors and furnishings.
  • Disliked — Thin walls.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

Cape Pines was neither good or bad. We stayed here in October in the King suite. These suites were located in the main building over the office. Bad things first: many parts around the upstairs were quite shabby/sad looking. The main hallway smelled bad. The walls were PAPER thin (you could hear every neighboors convo and TV). Good things: the king bed was HUGE. Biggest bed I've ever stayed in. The bathroom and living room were quite clean. Management was nice enough.

Although I wasn't impressed with Cape Pines I've read many other reviewers who were. I can only assume most of them stayed in the side by side apartments down on the ground floor. From what I saw they were very cute and quaint.

For the price (90 some dollars) I was a little underwhelmed by Cape Pines. I do not recomend staying in the rooms above the office.

  • Liked — Clean room
  • Disliked — Paper thin walls in rooms above the office
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lake Tahoe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

For $65.00, we got a clean, tasteful room with comfortable beds, beautiful wood finishings, free wi-fi, and excellent sound proofing. Bonus: it's pet friendly if you are so inclined, and the deluxe have views of the famous lighthouse (or so we are told).

A lucky find.

  • Liked — the price and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — the coffee in the lobby
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

This motel gets top marks for being VERY clean. Our room was large and had a fridge and microwave. The free wifi was a nice touch. Cape Hatteras lighthouse is a short drive down the road. Handy little supermarket across the street.

My only problem was the bathroom and the shower. The bathroom was small and there was no place to put my toiletries while I was using them. I was trying to crowd little bottles, toothbrush, contact lens case, etc. on the edge of the sink with little success. Maybe they could add a shelf? The shower was a nightmare. I don't know what the problem was, but it would suddenly turn scalding hot one minute and then bitter cold the next. There was no way to predict what it was going to do to next. At one point I had to call my husband, who came running in to turn the hot down because I was being scalded. My bad for not saying anything about the shower to the owners, but I don't usually have to guts to complain.

I also loved the two dogs.

  • Liked — CLEAN
  • Disliked — The crazy killer shower
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cape Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Pines Motel

Address: 47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Pines Motel on Hatteras is in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are a small family owned and operated establishment, offering clean, comfortable rooms at a moderate price. Our rooms are so clean you would think your mother works here! Nestled in the heart of the quiet village of Buxton and situated in the midst of Cape Hatteras National Seashore, our guests are able to enjoy over 100 miles of clean, white sand beach as well as easy access to shopping, sightseeing, and the wide variety of activities offered by the Outer Banks, such as OBX charter fishing in the Gulf Stream, surf fishing, OBX windsurfing at Canadian Hole, board surfing, kite-surfing, swimming, birding, shelling and kite flying.Bring the whole family - we offer a complete range of accommodations from motel rooms to suites with living rooms. And there is no need to leave Fido home alone! Pets are welcome in designated rooms (advance reservations necessary), limit 2 pets per room with applicable pet fee. We look forward to welcoming you to Cape Pine Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Cape Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Pines Hotel Buxton
Cape Pines Buxton
Cape Pines Motel Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Pines Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.