We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for us!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Pines Motel

Save Saved
You added Cape Pines Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Pines Motel
47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Buxton
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Perfect place for us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed 7 nights at this motel last week, along with our 2 dogs. We were delighted with the whole experience, from the friendly innkeeper (Angie) to the very clean room (complete with beautiful hardwood floors) to the fenced-in area for the canine guests to play (now that was a real bonus!). We stayed in an efficiency, and the "kitchen" area was well-stocked with dishes and utensils. The facility was immaculate, well-maintained. Sometimes you have to take what you can get when traveling with dogs. I would be happy to stay at this place even if we were traveling alone. Thanks for a very nice home away from home!

Room Tip: Room 11 is awesome if you want an efficiency
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    47
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
52
72
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our family spent one night at the Cape Pines Motel. This place was very nice for one night - we had 4 kids, so it was a bit cramped, but for one night it was perfect. The price was reasonable, the gentleman at the front desk was kind and considerate and very friendly. The room was clean, smelled good, and the A/C worked very well. All in all we would definitely recommend this place. Very family friendly, which we appreciated very much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We recently spent a long weekend at the Cape Pines. When staying on Hatteras Island, we usually spend a week in a rental house, so staying in a hotel was new for us.
The Cape Pines fulfilled all of our needs, and then some. The room was small, but clean. It had a stove, microwave, fridge....comfortable bed.....short walk to free ice machine, washer and dryers, and the pool was in great condition.
All in all, our experience at this hotel was terrific, and a bargain for the money. We'll be back on Hatteras next month....in a rental home again. But the Cape Pines will definitely be our choice next time we plan a short stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #1 (that's a first for me at any hotel). Very close to breezeway where ice an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The annual "Girls Trip" this summer included a 1-year old poodle. We have stayed with Bill and Angie now for several years, and we have always had a positive experience. Every year we visit, we notice Bill has been busy with "new" improvements...and we are so thankful for the washer and dryer addition in the breezeway....no more wasted time driving all the way back up to the Nags Head area to find a laundry facility. The doggie run was great to have, Buttons thought it was just for him...and Cape Pines provides the "waste" bags at the gate as well as a place to dispose of them when your furbaby is all finished!! The owners, staff, and housekeeping have always been friendly and professional...will continue to come here every year. Take advantage of having lunch around the pool, and swimming at night....the pool is lighted and the atmosphere is sooo relaxing. Hatteras Island offers so many things to see and do and it's great coming back to a nice place for a good nights sleep!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #9. It is an end room close to the entrance of the "doggie park". It h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessup, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I went down for a three day weekend with our dog "Chunk"', had an amazing time. Our motel was awesome, the rooms were very clean, front desk "chuck" was cool, and the housekeeping were on top of things. Our room were right across the pool, and pet friendly A plus for us. The grocery store is right across the street very convenient, i would definitely advise to bring your own food, theres a grill for everyone to use at the motel. We will definitely come back and stay here again, and again. Thanks Cape Pines!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, DE
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend with our two canine children--I often refer to the Outer Banks as "Disney World for dogs". We had a standard court yard room: two double beds and mini frig., modern comforters and lighting, wood floors with an area rug and more than enough storage space (although it might be tight if actually staying for a week) Both the end unit room and bathroom were bright and spotless. The pool area was clean. There are grills everywhere to use as well as a guest ice chest and fish cleaning table. The fenced doggie yard is a plus--bags and numerous stationed trash cans available. Can't for the life of me understand why everyone doesn't clean up since it makes the rest of us pet owners look bad. The only negatives: parking area can be a bit tight when full/especially with large trucks and SUV's of fishermen and the room set up shares a front stoop with another unit. The sharing of stoop can be a bit anxiety provoking to a pet who perceives defending his territory (owners) as his duty....especially if the neighbors spend a lot of time hanging outside and smoking.
Location is great--as others mentioned, groceries, book store, and bakery a quick walk away. The clever and educational nature trail thru the woods to the "Old Gray House" gift shop is really neat. Beaches, Beaches everywhere within a short drive.
Staff was friendly and helpful (forgot my hair dryer but front desk had available). Do not expect fancy frills but rather clean and cozy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were looking to extend our stay in Hatteras and the Cape Pines had one room available. I had very low expectations but was pleasantly surprised! The room was a nice size and very clean. It had a fridge and a microwave which was great, also right across the street from the grocery store! The proximity to the lighthouse and park was wonderful. The pool was small but clean and well maintained. The shower in the room was clean but the shower head was less than desirable. Overall, I would stay here again. It was a great value and the people who worked there were very nice, as were the other occupants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cape Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Pines Motel

Address: 47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Pines Motel on Hatteras is in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are a small family owned and operated establishment, offering clean, comfortable rooms at a moderate price. Our rooms are so clean you would think your mother works here! Nestled in the heart of the quiet village of Buxton and situated in the midst of Cape Hatteras National Seashore, our guests are able to enjoy over 100 miles of clean, white sand beach as well as easy access to shopping, sightseeing, and the wide variety of activities offered by the Outer Banks, such as OBX charter fishing in the Gulf Stream, surf fishing, OBX windsurfing at Canadian Hole, board surfing, kite-surfing, swimming, birding, shelling and kite flying.Bring the whole family - we offer a complete range of accommodations from motel rooms to suites with living rooms. And there is no need to leave Fido home alone! Pets are welcome in designated rooms (advance reservations necessary), limit 2 pets per room with applicable pet fee. We look forward to welcoming you to Cape Pine Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Cape Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Pines Hotel Buxton
Cape Pines Buxton
Cape Pines Motel Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Pines Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.