We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Pines Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cape Pines Motel to your Saves list
Cape Pines Motel
47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Buxton
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

When we want to spend a few days driving out on the beach at Buxton we keep coming back to the Cape Pines, sometimes with kid and sometimes without. The place has a lot of charm with the old style, but it is very comfortable and clean. So many of these old motels were left to run down to the point that you wouldn't want to get close to them. It is well maintained and everyone is so friendly. It has a very laid back feel to it when you are there. The large freezer for guests to use a big help is you need to keep something frozen or to refreeze cooler packs. I just wish we could get back more often.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    57
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
61
83
15
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was our first overnight stay with our 2 dogs and this was the perfect place. A roadside motel from the past! Affordable and older for sure, but very, very clean. The owners are all about the pets as we are. Very nice leash free yard for the pets. We booked a suite so that we could eat in and not leave the dogs at all. We truly enjoyed a relaxing 5 days with our "kids".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a trip planned to Rodanthe,NC for spring break 2013 then got an opportunity to head down a few days early - house we rented for the week wasn't available. PANIC! Needed a pet friendly place for a few days and in a hurry - not too many around, especially that don't charge a fortune! Found Cape Pines Motel very quickly via Google. Lots of pics made it look very enjoyable so I called. Within 10 minutes Chuck had me booked with no worries about bringing my two small dogs or having enough room for 6 of us in one of their suites. What a great relief when we pulled up! The pics didn't do it justice. The grounds were meticulously manicured (even though it was only March!), the sleeping was very, very comfortable, and the rooms were spotless! I even had to stand up on the bed to reach the top of the heater and there was not one speck of dust to be found! We were in a suite which contained two bedrooms, a small kitchen and a livingroom with a pull out sofa bed. Nicely furnished with everything we could have needed. Wonderful place for the dogs to run and release some energy!This is the perfect place to stay, nestled in an old fishing village on Hatteras Island but with all of the up to date ammenities we've been spoiled by! Will be returning! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobcaygeon, Ontario
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very 50s , 60s type motel. Like a little walk down memory lane of the roadside motels of the past.....but bathroom nicely updated. Clean pleasant place to stay. And of course pet friendly. Even offer a leash free fenced area.Good value.Owners helpful with advice for dining and ferry connections.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I love this place. I have been staying here for the past six years when visiting the OBX. The owners are warm and welcoming and are dog lovers. The rooms are spotless and nicely furnished. Right across the street is an excellent grocery store. Totally pet friendly motel and one of the few such in the entire area. An excellent fish cleaning station out back which I use all the time. They have a very nice swimming pool which is spotlessly maintained. Beautiful plantings of shrubs and flowers. It is on the main road right in Buxton so convenient to everything. They have a laundry facility for guests on site and a giant ice machine that fishermen will appreciate. They have a gas grill for guests to use. There is a safe fenced exercise area for your pets. The retro 1950s feel is wonderful and as said the place is spotless and the furnishings are very nice. The owners every years are busy updating their buildings and grounds. Very comfortable and a very good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

A place to remember that allows you to have dogs. My husband and I were on a lighthouse search and decided to stay here because we only got to see the lighthouse in the dark and wanted to see it in daylight. So this place received good reviews so we tried it. Very friendly service. The bed was very comfortable. The room was very dated but it was still very clean and comfortable. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I started staying at Cape Pines once we got our first dog almost 6 years ago. We love that we can bring him along. The owners are very friendly and have worked hard to revitalize this motel. The rooms are always clean and there's never a hint that another pet has been there. There is a nice fenced area where you can take your dog for exercise and a potty break. My only gripe is that some of the pet owners do not clean up after their pets potty as they are supposed to, and the motel even provides bags for pet waste right outside of the gate. Some people are just lazy and rude -- that will never change and it's not the owners' fault. I highly recommend Cape Pines.

Room Tip: The suites are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Pines Motel

Address: 47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Buxton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Pines Motel on Hatteras is in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are a small family owned and operated establishment, offering clean, comfortable rooms at a moderate price. Our rooms are so clean you would think your mother works here! Nestled in the heart of the quiet village of Buxton and situated in the midst of Cape Hatteras National Seashore, our guests are able to enjoy over 100 miles of clean, white sand beach as well as easy access to shopping, sightseeing, and the wide variety of activities offered by the Outer Banks, such as OBX charter fishing in the Gulf Stream, surf fishing, OBX windsurfing at Canadian Hole, board surfing, kite-surfing, swimming, birding, shelling and kite flying.Bring the whole family - we offer a complete range of accommodations from motel rooms to suites with living rooms. And there is no need to leave Fido home alone! Pets are welcome in designated rooms (advance reservations necessary), limit 2 pets per room with applicable pet fee. We look forward to welcoming you to Cape Pine Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Cape Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Pines Hotel Buxton
Cape Pines Buxton
Cape Pines Motel Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Pines Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.