We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A walk down memory lane” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Pines Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Pines Motel to your Saves list
Cape Pines Motel
47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Bobcaygeon, Ontario
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A walk down memory lane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very 50s , 60s type motel. Like a little walk down memory lane of the roadside motels of the past.....but bathroom nicely updated. Clean pleasant place to stay. And of course pet friendly. Even offer a leash free fenced area.Good value.Owners helpful with advice for dining and ferry connections.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    64
    17
    4
    7
See reviews for
71
94
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I love this place. I have been staying here for the past six years when visiting the OBX. The owners are warm and welcoming and are dog lovers. The rooms are spotless and nicely furnished. Right across the street is an excellent grocery store. Totally pet friendly motel and one of the few such in the entire area. An excellent fish cleaning station out back which I use all the time. They have a very nice swimming pool which is spotlessly maintained. Beautiful plantings of shrubs and flowers. It is on the main road right in Buxton so convenient to everything. They have a laundry facility for guests on site and a giant ice machine that fishermen will appreciate. They have a gas grill for guests to use. There is a safe fenced exercise area for your pets. The retro 1950s feel is wonderful and as said the place is spotless and the furnishings are very nice. The owners every years are busy updating their buildings and grounds. Very comfortable and a very good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

A place to remember that allows you to have dogs. My husband and I were on a lighthouse search and decided to stay here because we only got to see the lighthouse in the dark and wanted to see it in daylight. So this place received good reviews so we tried it. Very friendly service. The bed was very comfortable. The room was very dated but it was still very clean and comfortable. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I started staying at Cape Pines once we got our first dog almost 6 years ago. We love that we can bring him along. The owners are very friendly and have worked hard to revitalize this motel. The rooms are always clean and there's never a hint that another pet has been there. There is a nice fenced area where you can take your dog for exercise and a potty break. My only gripe is that some of the pet owners do not clean up after their pets potty as they are supposed to, and the motel even provides bags for pet waste right outside of the gate. Some people are just lazy and rude -- that will never change and it's not the owners' fault. I highly recommend Cape Pines.

Room Tip: The suites are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We arrived at the Cape Pines Motel while cleanup was still going on from the recent Hurricane. The surrounding area was a mess as can be expected but this facility had a very friendly staff and very clean rooms. It felt a bit dated, like straight out of the 1950's but nevertheless, it was better than we expected. Not sure we'd stay there again since there are so many choices and we were there during the off season. Over all we were satisfied with the Motel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Surprisingly very clean and comfortable for the price. I had to find a place to stay on the outerbanks for work purposes for a reasonable amount. I had stayed at a previous motel but didn't like it too much. I saw the reviews online and got a basic standard room and wasn't expecting much, but again very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley Nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed at Capepines Sept 29 2012 thru Oct 3 2012, Room was Clean, Nice room King Bed, Refrigerator, Microwave, Looked to have been Remodeled, Nice for a 60,s Motel. Owners were in Floridas, Didn,t get to meet. Man at front Desk was OK, Enjoyed our Stay. Would Stay there Again. Was in Room 12, would have preferred not to have been near Stairs outside

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.7 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
0.8 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 7 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Falcon Motel
Falcon Motel
#7 of 7 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Cape Hatteras KOA
Cape Hatteras KOA
#1 of 5 in Rodanthe
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Burrus House Inn
The Burrus House Inn
#5 of 10 in Manteo
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Pines Motel

Address: 47497 NC Highway 12, Buxton, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Buxton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Pines Motel on Hatteras is in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are a small family owned and operated establishment, offering clean, comfortable rooms at a moderate price. Our rooms are so clean you would think your mother works here! Nestled in the heart of the quiet village of Buxton and situated in the midst of Cape Hatteras National Seashore, our guests are able to enjoy over 100 miles of clean, white sand beach as well as easy access to shopping, sightseeing, and the wide variety of activities offered by the Outer Banks, such as OBX charter fishing in the Gulf Stream, surf fishing, OBX windsurfing at Canadian Hole, board surfing, kite-surfing, swimming, birding, shelling and kite flying.Bring the whole family - we offer a complete range of accommodations from motel rooms to suites with living rooms. And there is no need to leave Fido home alone! Pets are welcome in designated rooms (advance reservations necessary), limit 2 pets per room with applicable pet fee. We look forward to welcoming you to Cape Pine Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Pines Hotel Buxton
Cape Pines Buxton
Cape Pines Motel Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Pines Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.