We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Comfortable Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Falcon Motel

Save Saved
You added Falcon Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Falcon Motel
46854 Highway NC 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920 (Formerly Falcon Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Closest to Lighthouse
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Buxton
Wilton, California
Top Contributor
690 reviews 690 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 290 cities Reviews in 290 cities
424 helpful votes 424 helpful votes
“Great location and Comfortable Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

After leaving MD we wanted to hit the NC Outer Banks. Our chosen location was just north of Hatteras in Buxton. This motel is about a block from the entrance to the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse and recreation area. The good reviews do reflect what we found here. We booked a king bed, which came with a full Refrigerator, smaller than full size but with a real freezer section. I bet the fisher folks love that feature! It was a large room with a good TV and microwave. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and offered sound advice about local places of interest and food options. The pool looked fantastic with plenty of lounge chairs but it was a little windy so we didn't use it. I withheld an excellent due to the sand we tracked around the room, with no throw rugs next to the bed we needed to do a foot shuffle to get our feet clean to get in. We did try to leave the sand at the door but it seemed to follow us in anyway. Great stopover for the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband, our two kids, and i just returned from our 4 night stay here. We'd previously stayed at the Cape Pines when coming down for the several years prior, but this will be our new "go to". It is an older building, so don't expect The Hilton. However,
if you want a super cheap, friendly, safe, clean place to stay, in a great centralized location.... Look no further! The maid here is one of the sweetest peope I've ever met, and the office staff is really great, too! The pool is really nice, and the rooms are being renovated as we speak,
so it will only get better!!! Its also only steps from a grrat reataurant, Super Wings, Angelos pizza,
and Uncle Eddys frozen custard. If youre expectations are reasonable, you'll be thrilled with this place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is my first ever review but had to say this hotel deserved a glowing review. Just had gotten married with a baby on the way so we really didn't have a whole lot of money to spend on vacation. I had researched prices on the internet and thought I would give them a call. I had spoke with a very pleasant young lady who told me about the recently refurbished king rooms. Let me say I was blown away when I walked into the room. King bed with new white down comforters. Probably a 42' flatscreen tv hung on the walls. Newly redone hardwood floors. If I had to complain the only thing that I would ask for was a rug near the bed to get the sand off our feet. Room was clean, staff was friendly and very accomadating. We really enjoyed our stay and hoping to come back when our little one comes so she can enjoy the beach.

Room Tip: Room # 17 is the bomb!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We just checked into the Falcon Motel and we were pleasantly surprised! Room was cleaned prestinely. Yes, it is older but smells clean. Location is great..walking distance to restaurants, shops and an ice cream shop. Kimberly, who is at the front desk was a wealth of information of places to eat and visit. Even gave us information on a playground right next door for our little ones. Have not visited the pool yet but it looks large, clean and inviting. I am thinking this will be a great vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We had planned on sleeping in our tent at the Hatteras camp ground however it was extremely hot so we started looking for other sleeping arrangements...We came across this motel as soon as we pulled out of the camp grounds. Surprisingly they had vacancies and the price was just right. Hotel looks a little run down but apparently they are in the process of some renovations. Room was dated as the furniture consisted of miss matched pieces and the bed was too hard for our liking. However is was a last minute decision and we enjoyed our evening with air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Newbies to the obx we weren't sure where to stay that was clean and affordable. The staff from the hotel were accommodating and the hotel was very clean. This is a small motel being remodeled and while the carpet smelled a little musty an excellent value for the money. It was quiet and the pool was very nice. Easy walk to the beach and located beside a fabulous mini-golf/ice cream shop. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have stayed here three of the past 6 weekends. We believe it's truely the best deal in Buxton. It's a quiet motel with clean room and a friendly staff. Kim, who works the front desk, is always smiling and her customer service skill are outstanding. I plan to head to Buxton a lot throughout the summer and will always stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falcon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Motel

Address: 46854 Highway NC 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920 (Formerly Falcon Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcon Motel is located about 1/4 mile off the beach and 1 mile from the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. All of the rooms are ground level and non smoking. There is a fish cleaning table where you can clean your catch. The rooms are clean, comfortable and inexpensive. We also have a swimming pool and picnic area under the live oaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Falcon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Croatoan Hotel Buxton
Falcon Hotel Buxton
Falcon Motel Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falcon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.