We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Shoals

Diamond Shoals
46843 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
+1 252-995-5217
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse, Chowder, Seafood, Sushi, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located adjacent to the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, Diamond Shoals Restaurant has been serving up the finest local fare for decades. Known for its friendly atmosphere, fresh seafood and southern hospitality, folks have been coming back to Diamond Shoals, year after year, for its award winning clam chowder and crab bisque, homemade crab cakes, and Hatteras Island's only sushi bar. Enjoy a selection of steaks, sandwiches, the island's largest salad bar, an extensive kids menu, and fresh seafood caught by local fishermen.
Montpelier, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Been going here for years and always get a good meal whether it be breakfast or dinner. Service is always good. Their coffee is the best.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    138
    54
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
189 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good breakfast spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

There aren't too many breakfast spots in Buxton, NC if you want a full breakfast. This was a good place. I had an omelette - it was kind of flat. Biscuit was fluffy. Service was okay. The waitress was very friendly when she came by but it wasn't frequently enough. The restaurant was freezing. I had to go to the vehicle to get a jacket.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Very good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We ate here twice in our short stay. We walked from Cape hatteras B and B. All kinds of seafood options. Fresh catch options posted on a blackboard. My MAHI MAHI was great. Husband had pork chops, prepared well and good. Great, friendly waitresses. A casual spot, good service.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood with a great salad bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

People love the sushi here. Seafood is the best around and reasonable for OBX. Servers are attentive and very nice. The seafood platters are humongous and yummy. My favorite appetizer was the potato skins. The oysters, shrimp and crab cakes are the best around. The Captains Table has better hush puppies but they charge for them and the wait staff herds you in and out like drovers on a cattle drive. The salad bar is the freshest and most extensive on Hatteras Island.
Good stuff for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrific fresh catch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had dinner here 3 times during our 2 week stay. My husband twice chose to have a bowl of the terrific clam chowder and the salad bar. I had the fresh catch: tuna, grouper. Love their cole slaw, and their seasoned green beans were very good. Consistently good quality food and friendly service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Shoals also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Diamond Shoals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Shoals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.