We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Shoals

Diamond Shoals
46843 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
+1 252-995-5217
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse, Chowder, Seafood, Sushi, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located adjacent to the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, Diamond Shoals Restaurant has been serving up the finest local fare for decades. Known for its friendly atmosphere, fresh seafood and southern hospitality, folks have been coming back to Diamond Shoals, year after year, for its award winning clam chowder and crab bisque, homemade crab cakes, and Hatteras Island's only sushi bar. Enjoy a selection of steaks, sandwiches, the island's largest salad bar, an extensive kids menu, and fresh seafood caught by local fishermen.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Very good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We ate here twice in our short stay. We walked from Cape hatteras B and B. All kinds of seafood options. Fresh catch options posted on a blackboard. My MAHI MAHI was great. Husband had pork chops, prepared well and good. Great, friendly waitresses. A casual spot, good service.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    138
    54
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood with a great salad bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

People love the sushi here. Seafood is the best around and reasonable for OBX. Servers are attentive and very nice. The seafood platters are humongous and yummy. My favorite appetizer was the potato skins. The oysters, shrimp and crab cakes are the best around. The Captains Table has better hush puppies but they charge for them and the wait staff herds you in and out like drovers on a cattle drive. The salad bar is the freshest and most extensive on Hatteras Island.
Good stuff for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrific fresh catch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had dinner here 3 times during our 2 week stay. My husband twice chose to have a bowl of the terrific clam chowder and the salad bar. I had the fresh catch: tuna, grouper. Love their cole slaw, and their seasoned green beans were very good. Consistently good quality food and friendly service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Everything Was Just Average, Nothing Special. Service Was Rather Slow. Blackened Tuna Was Bland. A Bit Overpriced For The Quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We made reservations and were seated within a few minutes of arrival. Our very friendly and extremely efficient waitress, Brooke, served our family group a great dinner. Several of us had the Alaskan crab legs which were quite flavorful. The steak was cooked perfectly to order and was delicious. Both the chicken tenders and fried shrimp were lightly breaded and enjoyed by several people in our party. Everything came out hot and fresh. Brooke came back regularly to check on us and kept the drinks filled, and the table cleared of empty dishes. We have been here in previous years and will continue to come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Shoals also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Diamond Shoals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Shoals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.