We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tasty Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burger Burger

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Burger Burger
46903 NC 123 Highway, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 20 Restaurants in Buxton
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
High Point, NC
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“A Tasty Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

It's hard to believe that there are precious few burger joints on the Outer Banks. Burger Burger is a welcome addition to Hatteras Island. Recently moved to new digs at the old traffic light in Avon, the place still smelled of sparkle and didn't have it's soft drink machine working yet. Regardless, business was pouring in. The burger menu is inventive but the fried chicken salad is possibly the best dish in the house. Seats are few but take-out is available. The homemade lemonade is spot on.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stopped here for lunch during our outing on Hatteras Island. My wife loved the Carolina Hot Dog and I really enjoyed the Greek Salad.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong/US
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“burned burger”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My burger last week was burned to a crips (ask for Medium) like charcoal and took FOREVER Was too hungry and too many people waiting to ask for a different one. But the line there proves the need for a DECENT burger joint or moderate priced food place in the area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loved my burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Not sure why the bad reviews... I really enjoyed the burger and fries! I also had great service. Ate here last summer and plan on going back this week! I am looking forward to another great burger and fries!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you want a great burger, don't waste your time stopping here. If you're starving, think twice before going to burger burger. Food was so over cooked, I had to drink with every bite to get it down. Fries were cold as if they were done 20 minutes before receiving my food. My wife and I waited 40 minutes to get 2 burgers and fries. . .rediculous. Wait staff is virtually non-existent. Save your money and go elsewhere, worst burger I've ever eaten. I'm sure the aforementioned great reviews are posted by either employees or friends of employees because anyone with the sense of taste would. avoid this place after one visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burger Burger also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Burger Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burger Burger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.