We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Hatteras Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Hatteras Motel to your Saves list
Cape Hatteras Motel
46556 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Buxton
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2007

A great time was had by all. My husband, me and our two children stayed at this hotel for a 3 day weekend in May 2007. We had an oceanfront hotel room. It was large and very clean. The rooms look like they were recently updated. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I can't complain about a thing.The kids had a great time crabbing in the sound behind the hotel.

  • Liked — Clean Room, Nice View
  • Disliked — Pool was cold
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    52
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
54
60
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2006

We just got back from Cape Haterras Motel. It's a great place to stay because of its proximity to the lighthouse. We even got a 15% discount with the 2006 Outer Banks Getaway Card found in The Outer Banks 2006 Official Travel Guide we picked up at the visitors center on the way in from Nags Head. Our oceanfront view was nice. Rooms were accomodating with refrigerator, microwave, and HDTV. The biggest drawback was that none of the rooms were non-smoking, but they had let us borrow their ozone generator machine to neutralize the air while we were out for an hour. Also, they did not have a crib for our toddler.
Nevertheless, fishing was great, as well as the selection of seashells at low tide.

  • Liked — Oceanview
  • Disliked — smoking rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — 15% Getaway discount card from outerbanks.org's Travel Guide
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2005

This motel is not all oceanfront. We stayed across Highway 12 in and apartment on the Soundside. No view from this location unless you stretch to look out the bathroom window in the back and then you only can see a little of the sound. Very plain rooms and very small. Staff wasn't very friendly, but this is like it is at most motels on Hatteras. If I had to face hurricanes and nor'easterners the way they do, I may not be very friendly either. This is not my favorite motel in Buxton, but please stay here so I can still get a reservation at my favorite.

  • Stayed July 2003
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, ON, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2005

I can't begin to explain how wonderful this motel was! My boyfriend and I were here for 4 glorious nights, which was not nearly enough. Our room actually felt like we were sleeping on the ocean. The sound of the waves crashing on the shore all night was so soothing. It had a very large king size bed that gave us the best sleep of our lives. There were 4 rooms on our floor which all had 2 deck chairs on the patio right above the ocean (you could just chill and have breakfast with a view every morning!) Our room had a microwave, fridge and t.v; everything you need for a few days. For those of you who need a pool it was only a minute away but you'd be crazy to swim in a pool with the ocean litteraly 10 steps from your door. Housekeeping was great, we had fresh towels, soap, shampoo/conditioner, coffee and clean sheets everyday.....without ever having to ask. We came all the way from Ontario, Canada not knowing anything about this area (came to celebrate a friends birthday). This area and motel were like a dream come true! We will always come back here to either stay at the motel or rent a beautiful cottage with friends and family. This was more than anything we would or could have expected.

P.S. Make sure you try the homemade frozen custard at a local shop (about 2 mins walk) climb the famous lighthouse, eat at Bubba's bbq, try kite-surfing & boogie-boarding, shop til you drop in one of a hundred surf & skate shops, park your car and walk everywhere (it's a small beach town) and do nothing else but be happy, be a bum on the beach and battle the waves of the beautiful ocean!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2004

Would you like to stay at the Cape Hatteras Motel in Buxton, NC. Take my room, please! This dirty hotel has no non-smoking rooms. I should have known something was up when I asked the person taking reservations about their pier and fishing and she told me she didn't know if the pier was rebuilt yet. This incredibly unhelpful employee didn't have info on local attractions, estimate of traveling times from one point on the island to the other and made numerous other excuses as to why she couldn't help me out. Best excuse heard? "I've only lived here for three years." Management was also non-responsive. Maybe they were all having a bad day, but we checked out before we checked in!

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeHatterasGroup, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Just an update since this review is 8 years old. None of the employees from 2004 are here anymore. In fact the employee in question has been gone for about 6 years. All of our units are now non smoking and have been for about 3 years. I would hope that Trip Advisor would keep their listings more current, not just for our property, but for all hotels as comments this old aren't fair to us or our visitors. Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2003

My husband, children (ages 11 & 12) have stayed at Cape hatteras Motel for the past 2 years and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. It is oceanfront, and the efficiencies has everything you need without feeling cramped. The staff have been very friendly. We also rented a house for a week, however in the future I would prefer to stay at the motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2003

We have been going to this hotel for over 20 years. Each year it is different and each year we enjoy it more. The rooms are usually clean, well equiped, and ready at check-in time. The staff are friendly, helpful, and almost like family. The pool and hot tub are a little small, but they are more than adequate for a place as nice as this. The beach is close and easy to access. Ocean side rooms are fantastic but even the sound side rooms have beautiful views and are less of a hassle for families with small children who might want to run into the ocean without the parents! This is the only place to stay in Buxton if you want the best location, best people, and best price for the quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Hatteras Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras Motel

Address: 46556 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Buxton
#3 Family Hotel in Buxton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Hatteras Motel is located on the oceanfront in Buxton North Carolina. We are located about a mile down the beach from the famous Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. The motel is bordered by the Cape Hatteras National Seashore and the Atlantic Ocean. The motel has a fresh water pool with a hot tub. When conditions are safe, our beach is great for swimming and surfing. It is also one of the best places in the country to surf fish. We are about ten miles from the marinas at Hatteras Inlet. Boats out of Hatteras have the shortest run to the gulf stream north of Florida. There is also a fishing pier five miles north of Cape Hatteras Motel. We offer oceanfront rooms with either one king or two queen beds. We also offer two bedroom suites, complete with full kitchens.These units are complete with linens and dishes. All units have access to free Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs and air conditioning. Whether you are coming to Cape Hatteras to surf or kite board, windsurf or fish, or maybe to just walk our miles of National Seashore beaches; the Cape Hatteras Motel is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cape Hatteras Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras Motel Hotel Buxton
Cape Hatteras Hotel
Cape Hatteras Motel Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Hatteras Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.