We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and location were top notch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Hatteras Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Hatteras Motel to your Saves list
Cape Hatteras Motel
1.0 of 5 Motel   |   46556 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
328 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Service and location were top notch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We chose to stay here for our first visit to the Outer Banks, avoiding the more commercialized communities further north. The location here can't be beat as other reviewers have said, at the edge of town with miles of undeveloped National Seashore to the north. The main buildings are set right at the water's edge, with photos of past flood damage in the office serving as a reminder of nature's fury.

We opted to stay in a larger unit located across the road, which had two bedrooms and a full kitchen. It was very roomy and comfortable for the three of us (enough beds for 6). There is a pool and hot tub on site too.

Dave, the owner, was super helpful. Anything not in the unit he would provide. I also learned a lot about the hearty spirit of folks who choose to make this area their home from talking with him. I wish him calm seas in the future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    65
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
60
71
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I am reviewing this nearly a year after my stay (!!) BUT, I was logged into trip advisor for another reason and wanted to add another glowing review for the Cape Hatteras Motel. I can never say enough good things about this place. The staff is wonderful and the hotel is right on the most lovely beaches in the world. We choose Cape Hatteras each year because it lacks the crowds that the more northern beaches get…And of all the motels in the area, this is the best one I've found by far. Thank you, Cape Hatteras Motel, for providing me with such happy memories for my summer vacations. It's definitely worth the drive from Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed in an oceanfront room in building D.
Our first room was on the top floor. Great! But the people next door were smokers and we are not. The rooms are all non-smoking but the porches are not. Their smoke would come into our room. We could not enjoy the porch so I explained the situation to the office staff and they gladly moved us to a different room and all was well. The motel was nice except you really don't have any outside private or semi-private area. The porches are great if you like your neighbors :) Most motels & hotels rooms have their own balcony. I knew before arriving that each building has one continuous front porch I just didn't realize how having neighbors sitting out with us could limit our enjoyment. Again the staff was super great about it and we were taken care of.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor is best, But right now the large dune that usually blocks the ground floors view wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Spent four nights here w/ my wife and three small kids ages 5, 3 and 6 mos. This is as oceanside as it gets with high tide sometimes bringing water underneath the raised townhome over the front stoop (which is backside of the ocean). Bedrooms on second floor w/ divided balcony overlooking the ocean and living room/kitchen on third floor with a common area balcony also overlooking the ocean. We loved it!

What makes the location truly incredible is that the townhomes are literally at the north edge of the Buxton city line, so if you're looking at the ocean, the beach to the left of the property is completely undeveloped all the way to the next town north, Avon, and will stay that way, since that is all federally protected Cape Hatteras National Seashore.

The beachwaters in front of the property can get a little rough, but the location of the property made it easy to find terrific kid-friendly beaches in Frisco, to the south, and on Pea Island to the north. The iconic Cape Hatteras Lighthouse is less than a mile away with a good surfing beach there. Buxton is literally at the elbow of the OBX where the warm Gulf Stream waters flowing north meet the colder water coming in from the North Atlantic which is why I think the fishing is so reknowned there.

The units are built for the views. Open the porch doors and you'll have a breeze constantly flowing through. There's nothing particularly fancy about the living arrangements - with a constant breeze, there's also a constant battle with sand and salt - but the living quarters are perfectly comfortable and I slept like a baby for our four nights there. Maybe the best four nights of sleep I've had this year. Strongly consider keeping tubs of water downstairs at the front stoop and on the third floor balcony to wash off the inevitable sandy feet that come from running out to the beach barefoot.

Kitchen is fully furnished, units are clean, and the owner Dave was both on site and responsive. Would totally come back to this place again, particularly given its location at a place that makes reaching the rest of the OBX - north or south - a piece of cake.

Room Tip: I didn't realize the townhomes are all in Block A - on the far left of the property - but Block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I spent two nights at this hotel and overall it was wonderful. I would give the place five stars if they hadn't started moving sand around at 7:30am the first morning we were there. This beach is absolutely beautiful, though...if you get a chance don't miss it...nice restaurant with espresso right across the street...very nice food too.

Room Tip: Normally you need a room on the second floor to see over the dunes, but a nor'easter at Easter t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you. The dune is still down and our guests seem to prefer that. Now there is a view from the first floor as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My boyfriend and I came down for the weekend and decided that this will be our go to spot for weekend beach trips. The rooms are large albeit plain with comfortable beds, fridge, and microwave. The bathroom was huge and appeared to be recently remodeled. I loved the fact that we could walk out of our door and see the waves breaking 20-30 feet away. All of the motel employees that I had contact with were polite and professional.

Room Tip: I would definitely choose oceanfront or oceanside. I had originally asked for oceanfront because I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Spent a few days here for a brief getaway. The room was excellent (and clean). The view was breath-taking (especially at sunrise). The beach was close enough that you could literally toss a stone into it from your door. Additionally, the motel is the last building on the north side of Buxton which means you have several miles of beach all to yourself. My girlfriend and I walked for almost a mile without running into anyone else. Lastly, there are enough restaurants and attractions in the area to keep you busy for a few days. Cape Hatteras is less than 5 minutes away. All in all, this is hands down the most pleasant experience I've had at the beach. Great room, great staff, great view, great vacation!

Room Tip: Make sure the room is "oceanfront" or "ocean-view."
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.2 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
0.8 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 7 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falcon Motel
Falcon Motel
#7 of 7 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Cape Hatteras KOA
Cape Hatteras KOA
#1 of 5 in Rodanthe
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Burrus House Inn
The Burrus House Inn
#5 of 10 in Manteo
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Hatteras Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras Motel

Address: 46556 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Buxton
#4 Family Hotel in Buxton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Cape Hatteras Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Hatteras Motel is located on the oceanfront in Buxton North Carolina. We are located about a mile down the beach from the famous Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. The motel is bordered by the Cape Hatteras National Seashore and the Atlantic Ocean. The motel has a fresh water pool with a hot tub. When conditions are safe, our beach is great for swimming and surfing. It is also one of the best places in the country to surf fish. We are about ten miles from the marinas at Hatteras Inlet. Boats out of Hatteras have the shortest run to the gulf stream north of Florida. There is also a fishing pier five miles north of Cape Hatteras Motel. We offer oceanfront rooms with either one king or two queen beds. We also offer two bedroom suites, complete with full kitchens.These units are complete with linens and dishes. All units have access to free Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs and air conditioning. Whether you are coming to Cape Hatteras to surf or kite board, windsurf or fish, or maybe to just walk our miles of National Seashore beaches; the Cape Hatteras Motel is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cape Hatteras Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras Motel Hotel Buxton
Cape Hatteras Hotel
Cape Hatteras Motel Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Hatteras Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.