We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service even though we didn't stay there.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Hatteras Motel

Save Saved
You added Cape Hatteras Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Hatteras Motel
46556 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Buxton
New Kent, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent service even though we didn't stay there.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This may not be a fair review because we didn't actually stay on the property, but good customer service is a rare thing today and when I experience it, I want to share it. We had reservations for an oceanfront room for two nights here..... taking Flat Stanley on adventures for our granddaughter. When we arrived at approximately 3PM, a storm was brewing. The manager (could be owner too, from other posts I've read here) told us straight up that the rooms on the ocean side could flood and we should consider staying on the sound side instead. He offered to upgrade us to an efficiency if we opted to stay on the sound side and added, if we'd like to stay across the street at the Lighthouse View Motel, he'd call and see if they had oceanfront rooms, which they did. He explained that the Lighthouse View Property is not as vulnerable to storms, since it sits a little further back from the ocean and has dune protection. He stressed that our protection was his priority and as I mentioned, HE called the Lighthouse View Property to make sure they had an oceanfront room before we came over here. We thanked him kindly and told him that we would return at a later date and stay in his motel. Of course it's "off season" so most things are closed, but we knew that before we came. We plan to take the ferry to Ocracoke Island tomorrow if it's running. I'll probably write a separate review for the Lighthouse View Hotel later. We walked over to the Cape Hatteras Motel buildings on the oceanside and can see why they might have issues with extreme high tides. They're trying their best to keep the ocean at bay, but it's creeping in on them. The view from there would be fabulous. I saw rocking chairs on the front porches (decks) which would be perfect to watch and listen to the ocean. We can do that here too of course, just not quite as close, but I can here it roar and crash even with the windows closed. Should make for a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We have had quite a battle with storms this winter, as most of the country has. Thank you for understanding our plight. Being the closest hotel to the ocean has it's issues during bad storms. Best ocean views in the world until Mother Nature gets upset. Come see us next time you are on the Outer Banks and thank you again. Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    45
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
48
54
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
RDU
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

What a great place to stay, especially during off season when it's quiet! Anytime actually! Owners are great and location is perfect. Sound and Sea are at their closest here. Opt for a room on ocean side of road. The Townhouses are perfect for a family with full kitchens and outstanding views. Ask for the Townhouse on end for more privacy and on top floor. No elevators. Grocery Store not far North in Avon.

Room Tip: Top floor on Ocean side of road. Townhouse on end of building is great with more privacy. Possibly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you. The townhouses are the most private as no one is above or below you as the unit occupies both floors. Hope to see you again soon! Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va Marion
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The room was clean it was peace and quit the view of the ocean was nice every friend people down there they family had a blast down there we stayed a couple more days the beds were really soft the bath room was nice to have

Room Tip: The beds are really soft
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Wow what a perfect location! We travelled here from the UK and heading south from Rodanthe, this motel is the first building you come across on your way into Buxton. This is our 3rd hotel on our trip and whilst the other 2 were very good indeed and slightly more up-market, this is the Motel/Hotel we would love to return to.

Its location is so stunning, it's unbelievable...! It's a series of old buildings. We were lucky enough to ask for, and 'get' a room on the top floor where the view over the ocean is awesome!! Sleeping to the sound of crashing waves has been on my bucket list for many years and I can now tick this off as one of my most amazing experiences. You don't mind waking often through the night when it’s to enjoy the sounds of the ocean's crashing waves. Block 'C' room 312 and 310 seem to us to be the perfect rooms, however if you're ocean front, it's going to be a delight anyway.

The motel is good, and perfectly adequate and we have no complaints, other than the fact that WiFi was a non-event. Not the Motel's fault, they tell us, but not enough band width is available and, over our 3 day stay, we didn't manage to get connected once but, hey...... in a location like this.... forget the rest of the world and just enjoy the ocean's view and sounds; and, you can get connected across the road at the poolside.

I say 3 day stay because, we enjoyed this motel and its location so much, we stayed an extra day as it was too good to leave.

Note that no breakfast is offered but, there's a plentiful supply of coffee and the rooms have a coffee maker, toaster, fridge and hairdryer, so reasonably well equipped.

We both highly recommend this motel. GREAT value!!!! and very friendly and helpful staff and owners too. It seems it's probably a family run business as we met the father and his delightful daughter. I hope we make it back there some day as we enjoyed it so much.

Room Tip: Choose Block 'C' rooms 310 or 312, they are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed our week at Cape Hatteras Motel. We mainly come to the OBX to fish so this place looked perfect. We were not disappointed when we arrived. The room was large and the bed comfortable. We had a kitchen that was stocked with everything we needed. Front desk was friendly and very helpful. My only worry is that the place is losing its beach. I really hope that it can be stopped before it does damage to the motel.
I would highly recommend this hotel who wants a truly beautiful ocean view room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland va.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed in building C the first night on the 3rd floor. We found the rooms clean and had everything we needed. Right on the beach , could not get any closer with out being right in it. Gorgeous views. We would hope to get this room again . The restaurant is right across the street and oh so good. The shrimp and grits appetizer was delish as was the fish and shrimp dinners. Breakfast was delicious, great presentation and friendly staff.
Our reservations were last minute so we had to move downstairs to bldg D the second night on the ground floor in front of dune, didn't like this as much at "c"bldg, it was clean and had everything we needed, but being on ground floor was noisier with people over head getting up very early and hearing every footstep. We will go back definitely though, just not stay downstairs.
Very friendly area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to your next visit. Call ahead as the oceanfront rooms go fast! Thanks, Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at The Cape Hatteras Motel from 10/11 thru 10/14 and our room was a two bedroom oceanfront suite. Since Buxton NC. is known for great fishing I don't expect anything fancy in a room since most of the time we are out fishing. However some basic things are expected. Our room was never cleaned during our stay. We only had one bar of soap and two towels and not enough toilet paper to last the stay. We didn't expect to have to go across the street to the office to collect the things we needed. The view however was awesome. The wireless internet worked fine and and the TV was a nice LCD flatscreen. Overall The Cape Hatteras Motel is a decent place to stay but it could be better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave D, Manager at Cape Hatteras Motel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Occasionally we get a complaint about no housekeeping in our units with kitchens. This has always been the policy for hotels in our area. Over the years the majority of our guests have asked not to be disturbed, that they would rather come to the office and get what they need on their schedule rather than ours. Many of them are here for a week with children, etc. and don't want us banging on the door, waking everyone up. We do provide housekeeping in our overnight rooms. We do offer maid service in the larger units upon request. We could do more to let guest know that. Thank you. Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Hatteras Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Hatteras Motel

Address: 46556 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Buxton
#3 Family Hotel in Buxton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Hatteras Motel is located on the oceanfront in Buxton North Carolina. We are located about a mile down the beach from the famous Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. The motel is bordered by the Cape Hatteras National Seashore and the Atlantic Ocean. The motel has a fresh water pool with a hot tub. When conditions are safe, our beach is great for swimming and surfing. It is also one of the best places in the country to surf fish. We are about ten miles from the marinas at Hatteras Inlet. Boats out of Hatteras have the shortest run to the gulf stream north of Florida. There is also a fishing pier five miles north of Cape Hatteras Motel. We offer oceanfront rooms with either one king or two queen beds. We also offer two bedroom suites, complete with full kitchens.These units are complete with linens and dishes. All units have access to free Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs and air conditioning. Whether you are coming to Cape Hatteras to surf or kite board, windsurf or fish, or maybe to just walk our miles of National Seashore beaches; the Cape Hatteras Motel is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Cape Hatteras Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Hatteras Motel Hotel Buxton
Cape Hatteras Hotel
Cape Hatteras Motel Hatteras Island, NC - Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Hatteras Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.