We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Crab Cakes on the Island !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rusty's Surf & Turf

Rusty's Surf & Turf
47355 NC Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
+1 252-995-4184
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Buxton
Price range: $7 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Rusty's Surf and Turf is an eclectic beach restaurant focusing on local sourced fish, seafood, vegetarian and steaks using styles ranging form local to global. If you are looking for fun, interesting and delicious or simple and strait forward, we have something for everyone!
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Best Crab Cakes on the Island !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We heard that Rusty's had the best crab cakes on Hatteras Island. We were delighted to find that it was true. The Crab Cakes were Excellent !!! We had a very enjoyable experience and would highly recommend this restaurant

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    72
    32
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An average place at a fine dining price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Hatteras lighthouse and decided to have a late dinner in Buxton given how late it was already when we left the beach. We read about this restaurant with mostly great reviews and gave it a try. What a disappointment. There was nothing extraordinary about it. It had no view (mostly to a parking lot) with a barely average atmosphere, service was average, the food was decent but nothing special, and they even did an average place classic: if you ask Mahi with pasta and they bring you pasta with Mahi because pasta is cheaper. We ate two rather standard salads, the above mentioned Mahi dish, and one dessert with iced tea and water. The cost including tip was about 90 dollars, very close to what we paid in a fine dining restaurant with great view for more and much higher quality food. We even had to wait half an hour for the privilege !! Needless to say we will not repeat the same mistake. This meal was the worst value we experienced so far in our stay in the Outer Banks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best place in Buxton!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I feel that a lot of restaurants in the Outer Banks serve an inferior product, knowing that tourists need a place to eat and do know what they are getting themselves into. We (4 adults, 4 kids) went to Rusty's on a Thursday night after reading reviews and staying down the road. The wait without reservations was 1hr 20 mins. We decided to stay for the wait, and we waited every minute of that time. After we were sat, we had several appetizers which were great. The kids meals were pasta and butter served in a small bowl. The entrees were all excellent. They had a great selection of drinks and micro brews. The dessert was also very good. The staff were all polite and attentive. I recommend the shrimp and grits although the shrimp tacos, jambalaya and red drum dinners all had by our party were excellent. The price was more than fair for the quality of the food. I recommend reservations. I will be back if I vacation here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waretown, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I went to Rusty's for a special dinner and I was not disappointed. The seafood was amazing and everything was prepared so well. The service was also great and the staff very friendly. Can't wait to go back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Excellent (some organic) food. Nice choices of entrees. The puff ice cream desert was yummy. Can be pricey...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusty's Surf & Turf also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Rusty's Surf & Turf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rusty's Surf & Turf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.