We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We followed them from Hatteras Village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandbar & Grille

Sandbar & Grille
49252 NC Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
+1 252-995-3413
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 20 Restaurants in Buxton
Price range: $7 - $42
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Takeout
Description: We are a casual dining restaurant located on the Pamlico Sound in Buxton. We have been serving lunch and dinner on the Outer Banks for 16 years now, six in Hatteras until Hurricane Isabel took our building away, and then we blew up the road to Buxton for the last 10 years. At this time lunch is served Monday thru Friday 11:30-3, and dinner is served nightly at 5pm. All of our soups are homemade, we serve an assortment of fresh seafood daily, as well as sandwiches, steaks, ribs, and pastas. Entertainment- Hatteras Island Free Poker League every Monday & Wednesday nite from April thru November. We have live music on the deck Friday nites this summer, will have Karaoke Thursday nites and either a live band or a DJ every Saturday from late May thru Labor Day. Hope to see you there!!
NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“We followed them from Hatteras Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We started to go to this restaurant when it first opened in Hatteras Village while we were staying there. When it was destroyed and they relocated to Buxton we traveled from Hatteras to eat there and now that we stay in Salvo, we still drive to Buxton to visit the Sandbar.
We've always enjoyed the food here, particularly the fettuccini with white clam sauce and the filet mignon and strip steak. Prices are reasonable, wines by the glass are a real bargain. While their Hatteras location was a little short on ambiance, the Buxton location has a wonderful view of Pamlico Sound.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    84
    37
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Willow Spring, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not impressed- The sunset was awesome!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We went here for a late dinner and I wasn't impressed at all with the food. I had a chicken sandwich, my child had chicken fingers and hubby had a burger. They said their food was ok but, nothing to write home about. My grilled chicken sandwich was tasteless and the smallest piece of chicken I have ever seen. I might have eaten a quarter of it.

The sunset view was awesome. I would recommend drinks and watch the sunset. The place was packed so, I was expecting really good food. Ended up leaving hungry and disappointed!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in Rodanthe and it was well worth the Drive to Buxton for this place. It was exactly what we had wanted in this area for two day but could not find south of the Organ Inlet. . Im not saying there isnt any good restaurants in the area Im just saying maybe not right here so much. lol. The food, the service, everything excellent!! Bonus! if you arrive towards evening you can watch the sunset over the sound!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cute restaurant with a pun in the name”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

A great place for fried fish! We had the calamarie which was alright. Then we split a fried fish platter which was very good! The view was incredible. We ate right at sun set! The cheesecake was yummy! Chocolate and peanut butter! You cant go wrong!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food..Casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We ate here our first night in Buxton. The food and service was very good.. local draft beer.. great coconut shrimp appetizer!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandbar & Grille also viewed

Buxton, Hatteras Island
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 
Buxton, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Sandbar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandbar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.