We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hatteras Island Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hatteras Island Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Buxton
Clinton, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family and I stayed there for 2 nights, room was nice and clean, Bed was comfortable and sheets were clean. The staff very accommodating and friendly. Very quiet place. No wi-fi as stated by bookings .com. i would stay there again.Need to upgrade wi-fi, tv, A/C and cable.


Dibree

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
20
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buena Vista PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here on July 18 2013. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff at hotel was very pleasant and accommodating. I would stay here in the future. Convenient location. We read reviews on this place and were skeptical but we enjoyed our stay and it was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean rooms and the staff is just very, very friendly and helpful! Can't praise the staff enough, seems that small Inn keepers have better business sense than big hotel chains. Carpet in room was very clean, the beds are comfortable and even it is on the main road very quite. Would stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We just stayed one night before checking in to our vacation home. It was clean and convenient and the staff was friendly. The kids enjoyed the pool. Manager and service mgr. talked and answered questions about the area, history, hurricanes etc. and made the stay very interesting.Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms were fresher and brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here only one night before catching an early ferry to Ocracoke. We walked in with no reservation to find out the price. Price was what you would expect for a beach area hotel. The room was extremely dated. As others have stated, the room a/c units are loud. The hotel was okay for what we needed it for - basically just a place to rest before starting the next portion of a long drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Don't be fooled by the friendly-sounding "Inn" - this is a 70s-style very average American motel charging very high prices in the high season. With taxes, $170 for a room that you could get for $49 maximum in many parts of the States. Everything is very basic here - including the incredibly noisy in-wall air-conditioning units that, quite frankly, had a very bad smell. There is a small outside swimming pool, but that's about it - there are no other obvious amenities here, not even a breakfast room. We were very suspicious about whether or not the sheets had been changed - but in the end we gave them the benefit of the doubt. On the plus side, there was free wi-fi (although that was possibly the least I would have expected for that sort of money!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I'll start with the good on this review, but if you consider this place to stay, please read the rest so you are better informed than I was.

The location of this hotel was nice, it was very close to the Hatteras Lighthouse, and a small beach was within close walking distance of the hotel. The pool was small, but a good size in relation to the size of the hotel. There is a little grocery/supply store right across the street, which is very convenient, and there are a few good eating establishments nearby. The rate we paid for the room was very good compared to other local hotels.

I reserved our stay at this location for one night for our family vacationing in the area. The confirmation email I received said that check-in was at 3PM. When I arrived there at 3:30, my room was not ready because check-in is at 4PM. I showed them the email from their website, and they seemed surprised and uncaring. Even though there were other rooms available, they still wanted us to wait for "OUR" room, most liklely due to the rate we paid. When we finally were able to check in to our room upstairs, the cleaning ladies were loitering around upstairs smoking right next to our non-smoking room. We tried the room key, and apparently for "OUR" room, we needed to swipe the card twice and pull the handle up to get in the room. We unloaded all of our luggage and headed out to the beach. When we returned from the beach and pool, the cleaning ladies were STILL smoking in front of our room (2 hours later?) The reservation was clearly for 4 adults and one child in a room with a king size bed and a pull-out sofa, and we had to ask the housekeepers for the sheets for the sofabed. When we started making the bed, we noticed that they had not given us blankets as well. We picked up the phone to call the front desk, but the phone was broken, so we walked downstairs to the office to pick some up. The staff seemed bothered by our request for blankets. There was no breakfast in the morning, but I don't remember where I read that it was available, so I won't dock them for that, just make sure you are aware before booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get the sleeper sofa... the matress will destroy your back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hatteras Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatteras Island Inn

Address: SR 12 & Old Lighthouse Rd., Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920 (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hatteras Island Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatteras Island Inn is on the ocean side of Hatteras Island in the village of Buxton North Carolina. The beach is just a short walk away using the beach access. The Cape Hatteras Lighthouse is just two miles from the Inn and can be plainly seen from our observation tower as well as incredible sunrises and sunsets. Horseback riding, Go-Carts, Bumper Cars, Mini-Golf, Museums, Charter Cruises/Fishing trips, Gift Shops, and Great Dining are just some of the pleasures you can experience during your stay with us. Don't forget to take some time-out and relax at our pool while you are with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hatteras Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hatteras Island Hotel Buxton
Comfort Inn Buxton
Buxton Comfort Inn
Hatteras Island Inn NC - Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatteras Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.