We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hatteras Island Inn

Save Saved
You added Hatteras Island Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hatteras Island Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   SR 12 & Old Lighthouse Rd., Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920 (Formerly Comfort Inn )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Buxton
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Okay for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here only one night before catching an early ferry to Ocracoke. We walked in with no reservation to find out the price. Price was what you would expect for a beach area hotel. The room was extremely dated. As others have stated, the room a/c units are loud. The hotel was okay for what we needed it for - basically just a place to rest before starting the next portion of a long drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
15
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Don't be fooled by the friendly-sounding "Inn" - this is a 70s-style very average American motel charging very high prices in the high season. With taxes, $170 for a room that you could get for $49 maximum in many parts of the States. Everything is very basic here - including the incredibly noisy in-wall air-conditioning units that, quite frankly, had a very bad smell. There is a small outside swimming pool, but that's about it - there are no other obvious amenities here, not even a breakfast room. We were very suspicious about whether or not the sheets had been changed - but in the end we gave them the benefit of the doubt. On the plus side, there was free wi-fi (although that was possibly the least I would have expected for that sort of money!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I'll start with the good on this review, but if you consider this place to stay, please read the rest so you are better informed than I was.

The location of this hotel was nice, it was very close to the Hatteras Lighthouse, and a small beach was within close walking distance of the hotel. The pool was small, but a good size in relation to the size of the hotel. There is a little grocery/supply store right across the street, which is very convenient, and there are a few good eating establishments nearby. The rate we paid for the room was very good compared to other local hotels.

I reserved our stay at this location for one night for our family vacationing in the area. The confirmation email I received said that check-in was at 3PM. When I arrived there at 3:30, my room was not ready because check-in is at 4PM. I showed them the email from their website, and they seemed surprised and uncaring. Even though there were other rooms available, they still wanted us to wait for "OUR" room, most liklely due to the rate we paid. When we finally were able to check in to our room upstairs, the cleaning ladies were loitering around upstairs smoking right next to our non-smoking room. We tried the room key, and apparently for "OUR" room, we needed to swipe the card twice and pull the handle up to get in the room. We unloaded all of our luggage and headed out to the beach. When we returned from the beach and pool, the cleaning ladies were STILL smoking in front of our room (2 hours later?) The reservation was clearly for 4 adults and one child in a room with a king size bed and a pull-out sofa, and we had to ask the housekeepers for the sheets for the sofabed. When we started making the bed, we noticed that they had not given us blankets as well. We picked up the phone to call the front desk, but the phone was broken, so we walked downstairs to the office to pick some up. The staff seemed bothered by our request for blankets. There was no breakfast in the morning, but I don't remember where I read that it was available, so I won't dock them for that, just make sure you are aware before booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get the sleeper sofa... the matress will destroy your back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We made reservations online, however when we arrived the front desk didn't have the reservations, seems they were aware of the problem with reservations online, they did finally get us a room and honored the price $95.00 that I got online. The room was nice, large spacious, the bed was a king and was ok comfortable, bathroom was OK, The TV was older tube style, but worked fine....overall not a bad place to stay, I'd stay here again....very similar to a Motel 6....but they don't offer a breakfast....the location is great very easy walk to the beach....Average roadside hotel.... Word of caution, call the hotel directly to make reservations, we lucked out that they had a room ready.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

It was easy to get there. Our Birthday Vacation was short we have lots of wonderful memories. Friendly staff who go out of their way to accommodate you and answer your questions. Delicious food everywhere you go and the restaurants are very close to the inn. Walking distance. We enjoyed the Hatteras Lighthouse and all the surrounding locations. We enjoyed our stay and will stay there again. We wish to thank the entire staff for their wonderful accommodating customer service. The rooms were great and the ocean view from the tower was very beautiful. Easy to book on line.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Took girl at front desk a Very long time to check us in, even though we had made reservations. Dirty washclothe in shower. Cracked and shattered over mirror. No cover on facet handle. No cover on Remote for TV. and then had to get a new remote 3x. No WiFi. Stained and rusty tub and area. Room card didn't work one day. Had to have staff open.Don't know exactly what happened with name change...ugg....Stair wells were dirty.....Nasty ...Personel was friendly, that is a plus....We could smell smokers from somewhere....probably around the door, as there was a fairly large gap....

Room Tip: Try another location on the island.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Awesome. My son and I got a room during the off season on the spur of the moment and had a view of the ocean. Rooms were great. Amenities were great. And service was great. We stayed here years ago with my family during the season and were glad to see nothing's changed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hatteras Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatteras Island Inn

Address: SR 12 & Old Lighthouse Rd., Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920 (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Buxton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hatteras Island Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatteras Island Inn is on the ocean side of Hatteras Island in the village of Buxton North Carolina. The beach is just a short walk away using the beach access. The Cape Hatteras Lighthouse is just two miles from the Inn and can be plainly seen from our observation tower as well as incredible sunrises and sunsets. Horseback riding, Go-Carts, Bumper Cars, Mini-Golf, Museums, Charter Cruises/Fishing trips, Gift Shops, and Great Dining are just some of the pleasures you can experience during your stay with us. Don't forget to take some time-out and relax at our pool while you are with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hatteras Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hatteras Island Hotel Buxton
Comfort Inn Buxton
Buxton Comfort Inn
Hatteras Island Inn NC - Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatteras Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.