We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seattle meets Austin in small mountain town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appalachian Java

Appalachian Java
8 W Main St, Burnsville, NC 28714
(828) 682-0120
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 29 Restaurants in Burnsville
Restaurant details
Burnsville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seattle meets Austin in small mountain town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The drink options are near-limitless. If they have the ingredients, they will put it together and heat or chill according to your tastes. Food is healthy, locally sourced, and excellent. The vibe is what makes it cool.
Laid-back, artsy, an urbane feel amidst down home comfort, don't leave the mountains without trying them.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“LAST visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The coffee is OK and lunch food tasty, but don't go here if you're looking for good customer service and a friendly environment. You might get it, but chances are you won't. We have been there a few times with mostly unpleasant results. My advice to travelers - don't bother.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had coffee and a breakfast burrito filled with good stuff. Nice atmosphere, too. It's been my experience that small towns have the best coffee shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Native5386
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“"Excellent"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Some of best coffee, pastries, breakfasts and lunches you will find anywhere. Shocked at the previous review and wondering what this person is accustomed to and just how culinary she is in her own food preparation. I've had the cinnamon rolls and they are gigantic, topped with cream cheese and delicious. Maybe the previous reviewer does need to stick to McDonalds fare. Local hometown vibe, friendly, efficient staff. Ignore the previous post.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“I expected better”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I went in looking for a place for a pastry and coffee. It is very small. It only had 2 vanilla cupcakes (small) and cinnamon buns. The cinnamon bun was inedible. I'm not kidding--totally inedible. It was not flakey, it was not cooked. Instead of coffee I decided I wanted tea because it was afternoon. Nothing special. A total waste of $5. No atmosphere. No view. Just blah. Better off at McDonalds.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appalachian Java also viewed

Burnsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Burnsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Burnsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Burnsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Appalachian Java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appalachian Java, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.