We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the Faint of Heart” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Mitchell

Mount Mitchell
Burnsville, NC
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Burnsville
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Picnicking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The highest mountain in the Black Mountain Range.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not for the Faint of Heart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We wanted to do this hike because it was the "highest peak East of the Mississippi." We have done some tough hikes so were prepared to work hard, but wow! This hike is an uphill climb for almost the entire 3000' climb. The terrain itself is tough with roots, slippery rocks, little streams along the way. We were prepared with plenty of food and water, good hiking shoes, etc but it was still a very difficult climb. If you are going to do this hike make sure you are prepared to spend a good part of your day, bring the proper food/water and make sure you are in good physical shape.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    40
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, FL, USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Views! And snow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

It was a bit of a drive to get up there, a main section of the Blue Ridge Parkway was shut down so we had to go up 80 to get to the part that was still open. But it is possible even with the shut down to get to Mt Mitchell, and it's worth it. It was a lot of fun and cold! There was still snow and ice all around, which made some of the trails hard to hike. We went down the Deep Gap Trail for a bit. You needed to be a bit strategic where you placed your feet but that was part of the fun for us. Animals are allowed, so we brought our dog with us and she had a great time running over the snow. The view from the observation area is amazing.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zirconia, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“worth the long drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

A bit of a long drive from Asheville but certainly well worth it. Spectacular views and well maintained paved trails. Bit of a hike to the summit observation area which has been completely rebuilt. There is good parking but bring a light jacket even in the summer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Mt. Mitchell is now one of our favorite places for hiking and camping. They have a wonderful little camping area with 9 campsites so no overcrowding. The mountains are just amazing and you end up above the clouds. Driving up can be a little scary if it is a cloudy day (it was definitely a cloudy day...), but I was glad that we braved it. My fiance and I had a fantastic time hiking around and saw all sorts of wildlife. There were butterflies absolutely everywhere! So beautiful!! The trees were amazing too. And you can drive almost to the top if you are just checking out the view. You still have to walk a little way to the top from the big parking lot, but it is definitely handicap friendly and the rangers have a little vehicle they can utilize for those that can't hike the relatively short walk. Good idea to have a sweater as it tends to be cold and the air a little damp (and thin!). The Blue Ridge Parkway was shut down for construction when we went so there was a bit more road time than necessary, but it was still 100% worth it!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Top of the World in North Carolina!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Wonderful views and great hikes! Pack a sweater even in the summer!
In late fall and early spring call to check there is no closure on the Blue Ridge Parkway. It might be sunny in Asheville and icy on the Parkway.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Mitchell also viewed

Burnsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Burnsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Mount Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Mitchell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.