We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Scenic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Mitchell

Mount Mitchell
Burnsville, NC
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Burnsville
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Picnicking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The highest mountain in the Black Mountain Range.
Holiday, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Scenic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Well worth the trip to over 6,000 feet for the great vistas of the mountains and the clouds... take a jacket in case the clouds are upon you--- it can be chilly and damp

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    40
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fun trip for anybody (& and the dogs!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Always a fun day. Nice hike, main path to observation deck was redone a few years back and it is very nice. Better than the old steps. An incredible view, nice people and dog friendly. Worth the windy road up. Clean bathrooms, concession area and easy parking. Pleasant walk for most.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“High on a mountain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Been to Mt. Mitchell state park many times. Beautiful views, cool mountain air and great hiking trails. There are 2 picnic pavilions that are in log cabin style enclosures, they have picnic tables, bbq grill and a fire place so you can bring your own wood and have a nice crackling fire. We always bring our visitors up to Mt. Mitchell for a picnic. Fall is breathtaking!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh, nc
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Outlook!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I love visiting Mt. Mitchell - highest point east of the Mississippi - any time of year. When it's clear, the view is practically forever, when it's misty you feel shrouded in mystery. It can be chilly anytime, so take a sweater. The small museum is really interesting, with exhibits about the local wildlife, the early residents, the race to measure the mountains, etc. My husband hikes Mt. Mitchell every year on his birthday - this year he wants to go up then down again. I spend my time more productively drinking coffee and eating pie in the restaurant, reading on the deck, then poking around and taking pictures of the native plants and wildflowers.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Pick a clear day if you can”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Blue Ridge Parkway between Asheville and Mt. Mitchelle was closed for repairs so we trekked around the side of the mountains about 60 miles and came down to the mountain entrance. The road up (Rt. 80) was full of hairpin curves and steep climbs, but our little sports car handled it well. You climb from about 1,300 feet to 6,500 feet during that trip with plenty of scenic overlooks on the way.

We were the 4th car in the parking lot. One friendly staff member explained that about 80% of their visitors come from Asheville and with the road out, attendance had severely suffered. Some personnel had been laid off and the remaining staff pulled some double duty while the personnel who survived on tips were suffering.

With a few medical problems hindering both my wife and myself, we sought transportation to the summit from the snack bar clerks and one of them drove us up to and down from the top in a 4 x 4. We would not have made it otherwise. Other visitors walked up and seemed not to be stressed by the climb. The summit has seating areas and a viewing ramp with an observation deck at the top. Easy to access, even for us.

While it was quite pretty to watch the clouds swoop up the mountain pass and spew over the top, they also hindered our view of the valley. Our trip was too short to offer us an alternate day to visit and I suspect the best viewing time is in the Fall when the air might be clearer and the trees in colored foliage.

We lunched at the on-site restaurant and found the tuna sandwiches to be uneatable.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Mitchell also viewed

Burnsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Burnsville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Mount Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Mitchell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.