We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moved to Graham---and is GREAT!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smitty's Homemade Ice Cream

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smitty's Homemade Ice Cream
2306-A S Church St, Burlington, NC 27215-5332
336-221-9090
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 183 Restaurants in Burlington
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Aberdeen, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Moved to Graham---and is GREAT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

If you want great homemade ice cream, this is the place to get it.
This is a new location and my first visit, but I will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania, USA
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Ice cream was good, service was ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were told we "had" to have the ice cream at Smitty's. We enjoyed it. The young woman who waited on us was a bit spacey, though...giving us the wrong ice cream, then never applying the coupon that the admissions office had given us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awesome ice cream and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Smitty's is a great hometown ice cream spot. The icecream is great and a notch above the rest, the service is also great. Def. a must if you are in the Burlington area!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elon College, North Carolina
1 review
“Plastic piece in my ice cream!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I had a plastic piece from the ice cream barrel in my milk shake!! I showed it to the lady working there and her only comment was, "I think I know where that came from..." She didn't even offer an apology.

The ice cream and atmosphere is average. The service is bad.

I went to the Graham Soda Shop the day before and had a much better experience.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
1 review
“Awesome Strawberry Sorbet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Smitty's Homemade Ice Cream is defifinitely an ice cream place that you will want to visit if you ever go to Burlington, NC. It is a nice shop that serves very tasty ice cream. I had the strawberry sorbet, and it was BY FAR the best sorbet I have ever had. They make it themselves! The only downfall is that it is a bit on the expensive side, however, what ice cream place isn't?

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smitty's Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

 
Burlington, NC
 

Been to Smitty's Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smitty's Homemade Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.