We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic local BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stokely's BBQ

Stokely's BBQ
3519 S. Church St., Burlington, NC 27215
+1 336-270-4416
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 188 Restaurants in Burlington
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family atmosphere dining, great for families with children, Serving BBQ, Seafood & Ribs along with family style meals. Beer and Wine Menu. Take-out & Catering
Berlin, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Authentic local BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Was stuck at a Hampton Inn with only a Ruby Tuesdays nearby so went on Trip Advisor to find local non-chain BBQ place. This one popped up so drove down RT 70 and found it near a Food Lion but based on reviews went in anyway. Great pulled pork with baked beans as a side and Brunswick Stew which was new to a New Englander like me. Fast friendly service and under $3 for craft beers. Everything's home made and they have only been open 14 months but I wish them the best. If you are in the area worth a stop.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
usa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent barbeque!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Friendly , clean and amazing barbecue. Ribs have a great smokey flavor and pork barbecue sandwich was one of the best I have had. Top it off with the chocolate chip walnut pie !!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, service and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Super sweet staff, great great food and fair price! Family of four ate full meals...everyone happy and wallet not empty!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful new BBQ restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is one of the best barbeque restaurant's I have ever experienced. With being a BBQ lover I really enjoyed the hushpuppy's brought before even ordering our meal! I really enjoyed the variety of sauces for alll BBQ sandwiches. The meat was very good and the small sandwich was so much more than I imagined for the price! Wonderful service and wonderful sweet ice tea! The desserts are wonderful and you can tell the owner (Eric) puts his heart into all of his cooking! I will be back there soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegrass state
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!! Searched for BBQ ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Came in off I-40 in Burlingtin for a good BBQ restaurant. Looked on trip advisor & found this place. We actually went to Hurseys but was closed on Sunday. Very small restaurant kinds hard to find. It was in a shopping center beside Food Lion grocery store. You will need to look closely for it.
We started with deep fried sour cream stuffed mushrooms. Huge & delicious. With a horseradish dipping sauce. You could just order that with a salad for a meal.
So glad we got these. Next was the star attraction the BBQ. It was pulled pork smoked nicely. No sauces on it. You can decide between three sauces.
East: vinegar & red pepper, very spicy.
Lexington: medium vinegar sauce
Third cant remember name was thicker & sweet BBQ sauce.
My favorite was the Lexington.
It came with 3 sides. I got cole slaw the creamy kind , squash & onions stewed & fries. Fries were dusted with seasonings. Very tasty sides. They do bring hush puppies to the table with butter. Good & sweet. No dessert.
My bill was $10.80 with tip.
Would go back if close to the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stokely's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Stokely's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stokely's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.