We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mimi's Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mimi's Cafe
3111 Waltham Blvd, Burlington, NC 27215-8235
336-584-6363
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is the second time I have eaten here as we are relocating to the area. I was not disappointed either time!
All of our food both times were very good. I am very fussy about mashed potatoes and I was pleased with my order. We both had a special of chopped sirloin which was also very good. The bread basket was a nice addition. The second time, we both had quiche which was also very good.
Both times we had the small portion of chocolate mousse with strawberries which was delicious!
I am anxious to try breakfast here!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    16
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hackensack, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love the Jazz theme and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Great restaurant, Recommend trying lunch and dinner as the menu is so different, it's almost like 2 different restaurants. Not French affair without the French prices.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Used to be one of my Favorites.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Used to love this place, we would go at least once a month until I ordered the chicken with brie and asparugus and thought you know I could make this taste so much better at home, and the muffins weren't as tasty anymore either. Maybe if they get a new cooking staff we'll go back again and try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracys Landing, MD
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“I ordered THIS?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We went to Mimi's because the sign outside said that they had French food. My daughter had never had French food so we decided to visit.

What I found out: They really don't serve French food. It's a New Orleans-style restaurant that has a few French items on the menu.

My daughter had the shrimp special and it looked really good.

Our waitress messed up my order and gave me what my daughter ordered, which wasn't what I ordered. She was pleasant and said she would rush my real order.

I should have kept the shrimp.

The chicken was lukewarm (at best) and tasted like they used canned sauce. YUK.

I wouldn't recommend Mimi's. My experience was average at best. (I hate to give a poor unless an establishment really, really earns it.)

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elon College, North Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Breakfast is best.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Go for breakfast or a great quiet place to meet. It is a bit expensive, but the food is very high quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mimi's Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mimi's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.