We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fryemont Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fryemont Inn
Save
You added Fryemont Inn to your Saves list
PO Box 459, 245 Fryemont Street, Bryson City, NC 28713   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liphook, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We arrived in the middle of a heatwave - hot even for the locals!!! The girl on reception took us to our room which was characterful, but small. Once we had dragged our bags the long haul from the car park to our room, she appeared to say she was moving us to a larger room. So off we went to the other end of the hotel, with all our bags, only to find the fan did not work. By now we were looking pretty ragged round the edges, so she offered us one of their cottage suites. Yet another trek through the hotel and through the grounds to a lovely air-con suite with a microwave and fridge and TV! It was gorgeous and so peaceful.

The rooms in the main hotel building are basic, deliberately reflecting the age and character of the inn. However, the two we saw had a good bath and shower and loo, plenbtiful hanging space and a comfy good-sized bed. The rooms were dark, but this was because of the all timber decor.

Breakfast and evening meals are part of the deal here, and they were plentiful - far too much really for our European appetites! The bar was friendly and there was coffee freely available in the lounge area - plus lots of games and puzzles.

The inn is close to the town and its amenities, although I have to confess we didn't walk into town - far too hot!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    57
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
97
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Just returned from our 4th stay at the Fryemont, and it is still a wonderful retreat from the rat race of daily life! The entire experience is just so relaxing, the hospitality is phenomenal, and the food is fantastic. With that said, please be aware that the Fryemont is NOT for everyone as there is only one TV in the lobby and the rooms are very rustic with NO air conditioning. With the cool mountain air, you really do not need AC. We did have internet and our cell phones worked there. There is also a cat who loves to greet everyone, so if you have a cat allergy/problem, this may not be the place for you. BUT if you are looking for a restful, relaxing getaway, give them a try!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

I stayed one night before starting up the Blue Ridge Parkway from the southern entrance at Cherokee. The inn was quiet enough (my room was on the back side away from Bryson City traffic), probably because it was far from full. I can imagine that the thin walls and doors could be troublesome if adjacent rooms were occupied. My bathroom door would not close. No AC, but comfortable with windows open. No phone or TV in rooms. Nice front porch with rockers, spoiled by traffic noise from directly below. Parking is a long way from the lobby, which is reached up an incline and steep steps. The rate is modified American plan (dinner and breakfast included). The food is pretty good. Service was slow at dinner, better at breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff, showed me five rooms before I settled on one that suited me.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralaeigh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

The quaint atmosphere greeted us with all that we anticipated--a place to relax and loaf without restraint. Fryemont Inn provided a wonderful room overlooking the town of Bryson City. The accomodations by the staff were beyond descriptions. Here was a place where we could walk around in our socks, sleep by the humongous fireplace, read to our heart's content, and enjoy spectacular meals in the Inn's restaurant. In fact, the meals alone are sufficient reason to stay at the Fryemont. But the interaction with the very personable staff made the trip and stay all the more wonderful. We learned about the ghost from the friendly housekeepers but never got the pleasure of meeting her! Well, one can't have everything, but the Fryemont Inn surely tries to give you the greatest experience of a country inn that is possible.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

i have not yet found where i can order the body bar/shampoo soap online.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
podlogic, Owner at Fryemont Inn, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
We're so glad you liked our Earth Friendly vitamin enriched Shampoo and Body Bar. It's such a great improvement over the traditional little plastic bottles of liquid shampoo and it leaves your hair like silk! We don't think it is sold online, but you can certainly order some from us by giving us a call or sending us an email through our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

My wife and` I planned a getaway to the Asheville area and were looking for accommodations in unique places. The first night in the Grove Park Inn was all to be expected in such a grand old hotel.
The next night we pulled up to the Fryemont Inn and my wife thought we'd see "Anthony Perkins" at the check-in counter. I went inside to register and found it surprisingly comfy and cosy. Although Bryson City is creeping up to the Inn The hillside its located on is full of trees that hide the sprawl. We rented one of the cottages which is a 100yd. ride from the Inn and were delighted with the room. The working gas fireplace in the bedroom was a great touch as well as our own deck to enjoy a glass of wine on while settling in.
At dark, we walked up to the Inn for dinner, (bring a flashlight - or ask for one when you check in) and found the perfect table beside a burning fireplace. Our waitress, Amber, was a sweetheart and gave us excellent service. I had the prime rib and my wife had grilled chicken with tapenade and feta. The food was outrageous, it put the Grove Park Inn to shame. I actually felt guilty that dinner and breakfast were included in the room price. This little gem is a bargain hunter's find. We're planning on returning from our home here on Cape Cod for our anniversary.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Fryemont Inn is an evocative place. Makes you remember the summer cabins and camps of your youth. If you are still the same person as you then, you will love it. If, like so many of us, you have changed, you may not love it as much. The walls are thin, so there is noise from other rooms. The floors are creaky. That said, the place does have charm. The lobby is cozy with a huge fireplace and the food in the restaurant is good to very good. The food is included in your room rate. Try it. It is not the run of the mill hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fryemont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fryemont Inn

Address: PO Box 459, 245 Fryemont Street, Bryson City, NC 28713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the quiet village of Bryson City and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the Fryemont Inn offers you secluded comfort and excellent dining, warm fireplaces and scenic vistas. The beautiful bark-covered building was built in 1923 and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The Historic Inn and Dining Room are open mid-April through November. The Fireplace Suites and Cabin are open all year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fryemont Hotel Bryson City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fryemont Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.