We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fryemont Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fryemont Inn
Save
You added Fryemont Inn to your Saves list
PO Box 459, 245 Fryemont Street, Bryson City, NC 28713   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Myrtle Beach, SC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

My husband and I discussed not submitting a review for the Fryemont because we wanted to keep it our little secret. We found the Inn last year for a getaway. We went back this year and will return next year, and as often as possible. If you're craving excitement, come see us in Myrtle Beach, SC. If you need to get away from a stressful job to a natural paradise in a quiet, laid back hamlet in NC, then visit the Fryemont Inn. Your "room" rate includes full breakfast and dinner at the Inn's restaurant which is quaint, comfortable and the food is delicious. This is heaven on earth... just don't tell anyone else about it and we'll keep it our little secret!!!

  • Liked — location and ambience
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    56
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
43
96
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Carteret, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

This was our second trip to the Fryemont, and we hope to return many more times. Bryson City is a great destination for those seeking outdoor activities, just relaxing, or doing a little of both. The Frymont is a lovely, quaint old inn built in the twenties. The inn and restaurant are very clean. Breakfast and dinner are included with the room price, and guests order from a varied menu. The entire staff is friendly, knowledgeable about the area, and eager to assist.

It's hard to decide what part of the Fryemont experience is best. Rocking chairs on the big front porch, the cozy fireplace in the great room, wine in the bar before dinner, the close proximity to the Deep Creek (GSM Park) walking trails, and, of course, Pumpkin the Cat. This peaceful and restful experience is one to take back home, recollect, and enjoy many times until next visit!

  • Liked — Peace and quiet, sharing quality time
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

Labor Day 15 years ago, our friends invited us to come to the Fryemont. They had been coming for about 8 years prior and since our kids were the same age, we went along. This place is a treasure. We love the history, the nooks and crannies, the simplicity of staying in a place where you just do what you want to do, and of course, as the kids will always remember THE FOOD! I even had to buy the Fryemont Inn cookbook, but I'll never be able to make Mushroom Business like they do. Let's just say the trout, steaks, side dishes, and the Pancakes are to die for. And hot chocolate (complete with a bit of whipped cream). I can't forget the bar either for a bit of liquid refreshment before dinner.

Over the years we've enjoyed the Fireman's Fair and competed in the annual Labor Day 5 K run (we even have the medals to prove it!), visits downtown to the shops and to see Elizabeth Ellison and her husband George. Elizabeth's watercolors decorate the inn, and one of her pieces now decorates my house.

We've stayed in the Old Inn part (open the windows and let the breezes in!) and in the cottages. Sure the cottages have all the amenities, but there is something about the upstairs corner room in the back. Small, quiet, cross breezes..... And the front porch...how many times we sat outside, reading, talking, having a glass of wine, meeting the other folks. Yes, the rooms can be noisy, but remember, it was an Inn built over 80 years ago. That's what I like and what gives me that sense of coziness and place when we visit.

If you are the hard to please type, if you equate old with "run down", if you don't like people, if sharing good food family style is not for you or if you have a desperate need to be catered to every step of the way, the Fryemont is not going to be your cup of tea.

BUT, if you are looking for a place to get away where it is quiet, where great hiking trails are close by, where you can ride the railroad, raft or kayak a little white water, bike the trails of Tsali, run the course laid out around the cemetery by the church on the hill, canoe the lake, or just sit out on that porch and rock, where you can forget having to get dressed up, check your Blackberry or put on your "game face" this is it.

It's as honest a place as you would ever find. A family affair too, and after 15 years we do feel like family. The Browns (all of them) have made this a treasure, along with everyone who works there: Carol, Amanda, Molly, Sarge and many others who we have come to know over the years.

I'm sure our kids (finishing college) will bring their kids here when they have families. It wouldn't be Labor Day without the Fryemont. I just wish Labor Day came once a month!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwenksville, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

We just happened upon the Fryemont when my wife and I were travelling through the Smoky Mountains in our sports car. We were originally only going to stay one night in Bryson City, but we wound up loving the Fryemont and Bryson City so much that we stayed 4 nights! The food was tremendous, and the Brown's with all of their staff made us feel important to them. We will be going back and telling all of our friends and family about it too.

  • Liked — Great food and rustic atmosphere
  • Disliked — Not the most comfortable bed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

Great place and exceptional value for those looking to get away from it all for a couple of days. This is our second visit. Both stays were in the cottage suite that had AC, wetbar, TV, privacy deck, fireplace in bedroom and separate living room. Hotel lobby has a porch with great rocking chairs, TV and old fashion games. The food, which is included in the price of the room, was hearty and very tasty. Staff is friendly. The inn does not have a mountain view, however, it is an inn in the moutains with beautiful chestnut, oak and maple. For those with children it is a chance to enjoy the family without the distractions of the modern resort scene. A great value in a great setting! Plan to return in the fall and stay in the inn proper.

  • Liked — It was what they advertise. An old well cared for historic inn in a mountain setting
  • Disliked — Nothing-we got what they advertised at a great price.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

First time visitor to Bryson City and the Fryemont Inn. I surprised my wife on her 50th birthday to the Inn and she loved every minute of our two night stay. The breakfast and dinner selections were excellent and the staff/customer service wasexceptional. We had dinner reservations for the Great Smokey Mountain Railroad but my wife hated to leave the peace and tranquility of the Fryemont Inn property. Amazingly, many of the guest we spoke to at the property were repeat guest and expressed their love for this rustic and historic site in Western, North Carolina.

D. McNair

  • Liked — spacious and clean
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

This Inn is on the National Historic Registry and is a delightful return to a slower pace that many don't experience anymore. I was greeted warmly by the front desk. The food was delicious with very generous portions. I LOVED the breakfasts and the trout entrees at dinner. The wait staff was very attentive. There were many local attractions to take advantage of and we really enjoyed the Railway as well as the white water rafting. This is a beautiful part of the country. I can hardly wait to plan another trip.

  • Liked — The beautiful rustic inn, they don't make buildings like this anymore!
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fryemont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fryemont Inn

Address: PO Box 459, 245 Fryemont Street, Bryson City, NC 28713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the quiet village of Bryson City and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the Fryemont Inn offers you secluded comfort and excellent dining, warm fireplaces and scenic vistas. The beautiful bark-covered building was built in 1923 and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The Historic Inn and Dining Room are open mid-April through November. The Fireplace Suites and Cabin are open all year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fryemont Hotel Bryson City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fryemont Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.