We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Village Bistro” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Village Bistro

Village Bistro
9400 Hwy. 19 W, Bryson City, NC 28713-9129
+1 828-488-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 51 Restaurants in Bryson City
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Village Bistro is located at Nantahala Village in the Great Smoky Mountains of North Carolina. The Bistro offers both dining room and bar service with indoor and outdoor seating. The dining room has a beautiful sunset mountain view. Our menu is casual and delicious with all your favorites - steaks, trout and our signature soups, salads and housemade desserts.
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Village Bistro”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I would look elsewhere to eat. Food was fair, wait staff seemed put out. We arrived 45 minutes before they were closing, so they probably were not at their best. Part of a lodge that looked very interesting tho.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Skip the bread pudding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were staying at Nantahala Village and ate dinner here our first night. My meatloaf was fine, but drenched in an overly rich marsala wine sauce, and accompanied by very bland white rice. My wife's trout was pretty good. For desert we ordered a cold berry bread pudding. The waiter did warn us that it was cold, but that didn't prepare us for how incredibly odd of a dish it really was. The berries were overpowering, and because it was cold, the bread did nothing to balance out their tartness. You weren't even aware that it was a bread pudding. We left half of it on the plate.

We did appreciate the outdoor seating, and our waiter even let us relocate once an outdoor table opened up even though our salad had already been served. Maybe that's why the entree arrived right on top of the salad, so we'll give them a pass on that.

Our second night we just got beer and ribs at the Nanatahala Outdoor Center and ate by the river. It was cheaper and more satisfying.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“High Quality and a fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

loved the surf and turf special, green beans and bread. My wife felt her salad was very small (it was) but her dinner of Dragon Shrimp was wonderful. Had dinner on the porch at sunset...that was great!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The cafe had indoor and outside seating. The lighting indoors was a little too bright and the tables could have had linens, but the steaks were very good. The bread and dipping oil was very tasty.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good, expensive and small portions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Food was good, well steak was bland, but everything else was good. Portions really small! Not really Kid friendly options!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Village Bistro, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. Although we don't list kid options on our menu we do offer chicken tenders with fries and pasta for children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Bistro also viewed

Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Village Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.