We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Bistro

Village Bistro
9400 Hwy. 19 W, Bryson City, NC 28713-9129
+1 828-488-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 51 Restaurants in Bryson City
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: The Village Bistro is located at Nantahala Village in the Great Smoky Mountains of North Carolina. The Bistro offers both dining room and bar service with indoor and outdoor seating. The dining room has a beautiful sunset mountain view. Our menu is casual and delicious with all your favorites - steaks, trout and our signature soups, salads and housemade desserts.
Michigan Center, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overall good experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

From my time in Bryson City, I can say that the restaurant at the Nantahala Village (called Thirteen Moons) is one of the nicest restaurants in the area and definitely the nicest restaurant to go to in the Nantahala gorge. On the weekends, they can get very, very busy, especially on the nights when they host a local bluegrass musician (who is wonderful to watch and listen to). So, expect them to be busy and the service to be slow, if you go on a Friday or Saturday. Sometimes, that can be a little disappointing, but it's understandable that, when attempting to accommodate so many people, in a reasonably small restaurant, they can only do so much. Our server was nice, polite, accommodating and apologetic for the fact that we waited a while for a food to come out. The hostess was really sweet and polite and helped us get a great table on the patio with a beautiful view of the mountains! When the food finally did come out, it was fantastic and honestly, it was worth the wait! My friend had the grilled salmon, which was delicious! I had the blackened shrimp tortellini and I thought it was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone in the area, if you are looking for a finer dining meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tyrone, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LOVE IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Here you can sit and enjoy yummy food for breakfast, lunch or dinner while watching the river. Warning--can get really crowded at lunchtime during the summer! Sometimes the service is slow, but since I'm next to my favorite river, I don't care. The ambience is kind of funky river hippie. You'll be seated amongst bikers, river rats, thru hikers on the AT, rafters, and boaters. The place has changed A LOT over the 20+ years I've eaten here, but it still serves up the same delicious food. Highly recommend it as part of your Nantahala Gorge experience!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Village Bistro, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your meal, but I believe you are mistaking the Village Bistro at Nantahala Village for River's End which is at the Nantahala Outdoor Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana Dam, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love My Dirty Vegan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is a great restaurant at one of our favorite spots in Swain County. The view of the river is unparalleled. The food is awesome. They have a vegan burger called the "dirty vegan", that I absolutely love. The service is great. You've got to try it if you come to Bryson City.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Called the "Legendary" Thirteen Moons - A JOKE!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Worst supposed great restaurant I have tried. Did not acknowledge us at all even though the bartender passed us 5 times, but not one word to say he was busy and would be over soon. We had to call over the girl who seated us, and she was good, but the food was disgusting. The filet mignon had a sweet glaze that ruined the whole steak. Possibly the worst meal I paid a decent amount for in years, or maybe ever?

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate P, General Manager at Village Bistro, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Nantahala Village is under new ownership and management. Thirteen Moons was the name of the restaurant under previous ownership.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon Forge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in the Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I've eaten there 5 or 6 times. The owner was the executive chef at the Boca Raton Hotel and Country Club, as well as other large New York hotels. He owns another restaurant that has pictures of him standing next to a US president, the prime minister of England and a host of other famous people. There is simply nothing this side of Atlanta that is in the same league. Naturally, the food is excellent and there is also a charming little pub attached with a huge wine selection.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Bistro also viewed

Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Village Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.