We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-Priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nantahala Inn

Nantahala Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryson City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nantahala Inn
Save
You added Nantahala Inn to your Saves list
130 Papa Jim And Nanny Pl., Nantahala Gorge, Bryson City, NC   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Bryson City B&B and Inns
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Over-Priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Fridge is loud enough to be heard outside of room & runs all night becuase seals don't seal. Spotty cell phone coverage (no phones in room & facility is isolated). Towels, blankets & sheets are old enough not to be their original color. Better values in Bryson City, Would be ok for $50/night but $80+ is over-priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while kayaking at Nantahala Outdoor Center. Rooms are clean and comfortable, microwave, fridge, coffee maker and TV in each room. It served its purpose, nothing fancy so don't expect a 5 star experience. If you're here for outdoor activities, you won't spend much time in the room anyway. No on site staff except for cleaning service that comes daily (briefly). Super close to NOC. Expect to find a few bugs in your room, not because the inn is dirty by any means, its just that it is deep in the woods and critters are everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

I thought it was awesome, you are off by yourself unless you call someone from the NOC. The porch was great for the family to hang out on in rocking chairs. There was real wood throughout the place. Inside was clean and comfortable. Everybody was worried because of the reviews read before hand, but something must have chaged since the older ones, because we experienced none of that. Would stay again.

  • Liked — Porch
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

This was one of our best vacations ever! We rented a room with a whirlpool tub in the lodge. There were great views from the room, restaurant and porch and we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the restaurant. During our entire stay we ate at the lodge because the food was wonderful, the service was great and the prices were very reasonable. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mommy3
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

My husband and I booked this resort so that we could take our three young children (2, 5, 6) to the Polar Express train ride out of Bryson City. We booked a two bedroom treehouse cottage/cabin in early spring, as the holidays tend to book up in the mountains. First of all, let me say, that the cabin really had potential. It had a beautiful view and the potential to be very nice. THIS RESORT IS NOT SUITABLE FOR SMALL CHILDREN!!! On that note, let me say that it was not near as clean as it should have been. It was VERY rustic. If you want to camp, but still have electricity, heat, and running water, it's a great place to stay. The comforters on the bed, bath mats, and sofa were all dirty and stained---just nasty! There were bug droppings in the kitchen cabinets where the dishes looked like they were just thrown in there. A lot of the dishes didn't even look clean. Light bulbs in two of the rooms were burnt out which I guess was kind of a blessing, because when you turned on the light in the living area, there were dead bugs almost completely covering the cover. Yuck! We did find out later that night that the bugs in the lights were lady bugs. They were everywhere! (which is better than roaches or spiders) The furniture looked like something that they got from the dump.The water pressure was only a drip and the pedistal sink in the bathroom was not even secured to the floor or secured at the base and pedistal, which made it move and VERY dangerous for children. There is only a window unit which will have to run on high all of the time if you plan on staying warm at all. If you close the bedroom doors the bedrooms get freezing, so bring extra blankets. The people at the main lodge(check-in) were nice and were able to give me extra blankets when I asked.
There is NOTHING near this place. Bryson City is about a 20 minute drive and there is a drug store and a couple of fast food joints, but that's about it. The lodge has a resturant with the norms, but we didn't eat there. We left after one night and went home!! By the way, if you are looking at the GSM Polar Express, don't bother. NOT WORTH THE $$$$$ Not much of an experience and you don't see anything on the ride except trash and trailor parks. Try the one out of Dillsboro, heard it's a little better.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2006

My friend and I made reservations well in advance to participate in a grou[ activity. Others in the group stayed in cabins or also at the inn. We were assigned a room wedged between the laundry service and human resources in a completely different building from the rest of our group. We didn't have satellite TV or porches with rocking chairs; the only chairs were hardback kitchen chairs. There weren't any headboards on the bed, and the decor was dark, with curtains that were partly detached from the rod. At night, we women were alone in this remote building-the rest of our group was a mile and a half away. The clerk told us that no other rooms were available and "don't worry about it; you won't be in your room much anyway." We were charged the same price as our friends who were staying in the real inn.

  • Liked — close to activity
  • Disliked — not what was advertised/expected
  • Tips/Secrets — if you have to stay there, refuse the
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2006

The Nantahala Inn is a very nice, quaint hotel nestled in the Smoky Mountains of North Carolina. There were very nice views front the porch, and room had two rocking chairs on porch. The inn is part of the Nantahala Outdoor Center (NOC), which has restaurants and river activites. We got our hotel as part of their River Rafting/Kayaking Sampler. The rooms looked like they had been recently remodeled and were very clean. There may be better hotels in the area, but if you're planning on going river rafting or kayaking, you probably can't beat the value of getting a package through NOC.


  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nantahala Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantahala Inn

Address: 130 Papa Jim And Nanny Pl., Nantahala Gorge, Bryson City, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Bryson City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bryson City
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Nantahala Hotel Bryson City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nantahala Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.