We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather have slept in my Vehicle!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ridge Top Motel & Campground

Ridge Top Motel & Campground
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ridge Top Motel & Campground to your Saves list
Ridge Top Motel & Campground
390 Arlington Avenue, Bryson City, NC 28713   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bryson City
Davidson, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rather have slept in my Vehicle!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

After reading many reviews we decided to try the Ridge Top Motel in Bryson City for 2 nights. We requested a Second floor Pet Friendly room. The room was shockingly out of date with furniture from the 1960s! The bathroom was especially nice with a stainless steel kitchen sink, I wasn't sure if I was in a kitchen or a bathroom! The room was outdated and dirty and very over crowded with old furniture! It may very well have been the worse room I have ever stayed in. After one night I went to the owner Sanjay stating that we had no intention of spending another night there! He offered to waive the Pet Fee and offered us another room @ half price should we ever decide to return, fat chance I'd sleep in my vehicle first! We stayed at the Microtel Inn in Bryson City the second night and had a much much nicer room for slightly more than we paid @ the Ridge Top Motel! Give your pet a break and drive on!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    21
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
19
20
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsivlle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and stayed at the Ridge Top 20 Oct 2012. It is an older two story motel. As it turned out we had stayed at this property in the 1980's. Some updating has been accomplished in the bath room. The problem was there is not anywhere to lay out tolietries. The room was very clean and the King bed was comfortable. The owners did allow us to have our two small Poodles. I felt the price we paid was $20 higher than the level of the property (should be a $50 to $70 property). Yes, I would stay there again at that price range. The view from the mountain location is great. You cannot walk to the sites down in town.

Room Tip: If you travel with pets, ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

If I had seen the room before I paid I probably would not have stayed there. It is and older motel so I should not have been surprised. The king sized bed barely fit in the room and the sheets seemed to be more for a queen size bed. But the owners were great and got things for us when we needed something. We asked for a couple more pillows because the ones on the bed were a little flat. No problem. The outside area was clean and well kept. The room did smell musty but the weather was cool and we could open the windows. We reserved at this motel because TripAdvisor listed it as #6. #1 thru #5 were booked. I'm glad we didn't have to settle for #10. The views were pretty from up on the ridge, but I think next time I'd rather stay down in the town where all the restaurants are in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I booked this motel because the rate was low and I read good reviews, but I wasn't sure it would be nice enough to stay there, however, after checking our my room, I was pleasantly surprised. This is a nice place. The owner went out of his way to accomodate my health issue. This is an older motel, but they are putting upgrades in place. The bikers staying there seemed to be a friendly bunch as well. I felt safe there, although I was alone. It was an easy 25-minute scenic drive to the NOC rafting center. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor, closest to the office, have quick access to the upper covered deck, where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I spent 7 nights (August 5th -12th) at the Ridge Top Motel. We also used the motel as a motorcyle riding "base". We enjoyed our visit very much. The owners, Sanjay and Rina, were very hospitable and made our stay very pleasant. We were impressed that they both were constantly cleaning and maintaining the motel, grounds, and pool area. The rooms are small, however the "deck" outside our room, overlooking the pool and mountains, made us feel like we had an extra sitting area. It was wonderful to come back after a day of riding and sit outside relaxing and visiting with other guests. We will definately be back! We hope to be able to stay at this motel around Christmas time and go to the Polar Express.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commercial Point, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have stayed here a couple of years ago and looked on the Internet for info. We were almost put off by a bad review in November 2011, but knew it was away from freeway traffic and staff was very friendly and helpful before so went ahead and booked for several days for motorcycle riding "base". It was definitely the right decision.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

The Ridge Top is in Bryson City, NC which is a GREAT "base" of operations if you are riding motorcycles in the NC/ TN area. The rooms are clean with wi-fi and nice TVs. Not a whole lot of extra floor space. The management is nice and provides rags in the morning to wipe down your motorcycle. I would stay there again. It's a great value!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ridge Top Motel & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridge Top Motel & Campground

Address: 390 Arlington Avenue, Bryson City, NC 28713
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Ridge Top Motel & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridge Top Motel And Campground
Ridge Top Motel & Campground Hotel Bryson City
Ridge Top Hotel Campground

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ridge Top Motel & Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.