We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OOPS...NOT GOOD UNLESS YOU LIKE CHEAP” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyds on the River Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Lloyds on the River Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
5370 Ela Road, Bryson City, NC 28713   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Bryson City
Charlotte
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OOPS...NOT GOOD UNLESS YOU LIKE CHEAP”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2007

Bryson City is a neat little town. The greatest place to eat in the area, the Frymont Inn, is there. The Smokey Mountain RR stops there. But Lloyds is simply a cut below ordinary. Room wasn't clean, and it was, well, just a room. The river is nice, but the area is full of great hotels on creeks and rivers. Want a room on the cheap? And want to pay twice what it's worth? Then this place is for you. Otherwise there are a dozen better reasonably priced places to stay around here.

  • Disliked — Dirty, cheap.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCarolinaSeminoleFan, Owner at Lloyds on the River Country Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2007
While they say "you can't please all the people, all the time", we don't believe in that saying. Our belief, and our goal is to please all the people all the time. We wish this guest had voiced their feelings to us while they were staying with us. Our policy is too correct any issue a guest is not totally happy about. The only way we can do that is for that guest to voice their concerns before they leave. We make it easy for guest's to let us know about any issue they are not totally satisfied with. One of us is always on property. We are constantly talking to everyone we see while they are here, not just at check out. We are constantly asking for feedback in order to make the guest experience the best it can be. We're sorry we were not able to please this guest and we will double our efforts to try to ensure this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    6
    3
    9
See reviews for
20
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

This hotel was recommended to me and I was not disappointed. We were looking for something clean and relaxing to get away from the city and it fit the bill perfectly. It's family owned and run and they were super friendly and responsive to all our needs. I loved just relaxing by the river with a good book. Will definitely go back, probably in the summer to get away from the Florida heat!!

  • Liked — The gorgeous views.
  • Disliked — Nothing negative to add.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

This small hotel was perfect for a short visit to the Bryson City area. About 20 minutes from the mountain bike trails at Tsali, it was a nice 2 double bed room with back porch facing the river for about $45-- quite a bit less than other places nearby. The room had a small fridge and microwave as well as a 4 cup coffee maker. The owners stayed up pretty late waiting for our arrival and check in near 10 pm. Check in and reservations were convenient. Larry was a good resource for simple directions to the hotel, and when I accidentally left my cell phone charger in the room, he placed it in the mail at no charge. I recommend this hotel for those who want a riverside, simple, room with country decor.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence KY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2007

If you enjoy listening to a river run, you have to stay at Lloyds on the River. After the hustle & bustle in Myrtle Beach South Carolina, we stopped in Bryson City to visit my wifes uncle. It was so lovely & laid back to stay at this quaint & very inexpensive retreat. The beds were very comfortable & the rooms were very very clean & nicely decorated. It was so nice & quiet. Just close your eyes as you sit on your back porch facing the river & hear the river flow. I love this place & I will definitely stay there again on our next stop over in Bryson City. Debbie & Larry (the owners) were very very nice & they made sure our stay was enjoyable & enjoyable it was. Excellent excellent excellent. Do I love this place ? I sure do !!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, ga
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

Living just outside of Atlanta I wanted some quiet time. Getting away
from it all was the answer. My idea of a relaxing weekend. We spent my birthday in the North Carolina Hills and I couldnt have been more relaxed. It was peaceful and total relaxation. The new owners were extremely accomodating to direct us to nearby restaurants and the few
attractions that were open. We knew this was the off season but longed for the serenity. We hope they remain in business for a very long time as the weekend was a great way to recharge the old batteries.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, S.C.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at "Lloyds on the river". The price was reasonable and it was very clean and quiet. (Peaceful) We will recommend this place to all of our family and friends. We will also go back to stay. The owners were nice as they could be. They made us welcome and accommodated us with whatever we needed and made sure we were comfortable. Thank y'all so much for the hospitality.

Jody Winburn

  • Liked — I love coffee. I ran out in the room and they made sure I had some more right away. :) (everything actually)
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucker,Ga
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2007

This is a nice laid back rest stop that could become an addiction. The owners were very helpful on area sites and places to eat. The Inn itself is small, but very quant. I understand the owners are new and in the process of up-grading all the rooms. With rocking chairs in the front and back of each unit, people and traffic watching and watching the river pass by in the back is about as relaxing as you can get. The room we had was small, but neat as a pin. Coffee, fridge and microwave and cable T.V., what more can a budget minded traveler need. I'm just sorry I did'nt bring a fishing pole. Can't wait to get back up this spring.

Mike Howard, Tucker, Ga.

  • Liked — the serenity
  • Disliked — hav/ac
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lloyds on the River Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyds on the River Country Inn

Address: 5370 Ela Road, Bryson City, NC 28713
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Bryson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lloyds on the River Country Inn has 25 rooms, 15 are directly on the Oconaluftee River with back porches and rocking chairs. All rooms have a unique decor and most are furnished with real handmade beds, dressers and tables made of cherry wood. There are four kitchennettes with the rest having small refrigerators and microwaves. Wi-Fi, in-room coffee service and full cable are provided. An outdoor pool, grills, picnic tables and fishing from our river bank round out the guest experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lloyds on the River Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyds On The River Country Hotel Bryson City
Country Inn Bryson City
Bryson City Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyds on the River Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.