We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Private Log Cabins The HideAway Cabin, lake access

The Hidaway Cabin / very private
The Hidaway Cabin / very private
The Hidaway Cabin / very private
looking from kitchen towards living area
rustic decore
Second Bedroom
Your own private lake access area
Bryson City
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sc0tt013
Ball Ground, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very Private”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

As said in another review this is a rustic cabin in a very secluded location. Finding the cabin is not that difficult as long as you follow Jim’s directions, the cabin is located on the side of a very steep hill but the road is paved and easily handled by any car. While the Home Away cabin does not have a view it is private and quiet. This is a great location to get away from it all, while there is satellite TV we couldn’t get our cell phones to work which was fine with us. We sat and watched the fire and listed to the wind blow through the trees. A local grocery store is available just a few miles down the road. Our only complaint would be the cabin needs a good spring cleaning due to dust and cobwebs, however, for the most part the cabin was clean and well stocked.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
alleighka...
snow hill, nc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“We're looking forward to our next visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We spent a week at the Dogwood Cabin with our dogs and enjoyed every minute. Great location, near so much but also very private. Wonderful cabin with anything you could need. We hiked, did the tourist thing and just generally relaxed. Dogs enjoyed the huge porch and hiking in the area. We'd highly recommend to everyone!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jim R
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relax, you're here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
5
people found this review helpful

We spent a few days of my daughter's spring break at Sleeping Dog Cabins. We just wanted a place to relax, enjoy the mountains, some light hiking, and some family time. The cabin was rustic and very well decorated. There was wood in the fireplace ready for lighting, and more wood split and ready to use in the woodbasket and on the back porch. There were staples already stocked in the kitchen, and linens and towels were provided. There was a concrete walkway out to an outdoor firepit, and a large backporch with rocking chairs. There were lots of DVD's stocked, and even some toys provided for younger kids. The cabin was the perfect place for relaxing after our day trips, warming up in front of the fire, and enjoyin our time together. The owner came by to make sure we had everything we needed, and then made himself scarce to allow us to enjoy our stay. This is not a 5-star hotel, it is a quaint cabin, privately situated for those who enjoy the rustic beauty of the mountains and spending a relaxing time with the folks they care about. The owner goes out of his way to make sure you have everything you need ( he will even do your grocery shopping before you arrive) and then allows you to enjoy your stay. We will definitely visit again. Did I mention there is private Lake access in season, and that the cabins are pet friendly? If you are looking for mints on your pillow and a Concierge, look elsewhere. If you enjoy the mtns, the outdoors, and friendly service, check them out. Great times with the people you care about are priceless. Mints are over-rated.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Private, cozy, clean.
Liked least: Going home.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Michigan
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Rates have not been provided for this property. Please contact the owner/manager for total price.
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Jim c
Speaks English
Listed since : Apr 2014
Response Rate: 70 %
Calendar Updated: 112 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing